Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the wait
Well, after the mass protest, we finally see the release of the last series of "JB", focussing a little more on Kate's personal life and the pressures of being a woman in authority on one hand and trying to break the obstacles to advancement in a male dominated workforce. Each episode takes place along a chronological continuum and manages to stay varied. Threads include...
Published on 18 Nov 2008 by Ladybird

versus
4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Juliet, Juliet, Wherefore art thou Juliet?
What's going on here? Why is it taking so long to release the final series, of this fantastic 1980s police drama?
Like so many fans of 'Juliet Bravo', I already have the first five series, and they are fantastic. Great little stories set in and around Bacup (lancashire). There is never any major crime in the fictitious little town of Hartley, but that's what makes it...
Published on 7 Oct 2007 by Hickers


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the wait, 18 Nov 2008
By 
Ladybird (Queanbeyan, NSW Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Juliet Bravo - Series 6 [DVD] [1980] (DVD)
Well, after the mass protest, we finally see the release of the last series of "JB", focussing a little more on Kate's personal life and the pressures of being a woman in authority on one hand and trying to break the obstacles to advancement in a male dominated workforce. Each episode takes place along a chronological continuum and manages to stay varied. Threads include personal tragedy in PC Kelleher's family and ( the only negative) the personal relationship between Kate and DCI Perrin, in which he seems to lose his authority and is portrayed as a sort of lonesome puppydog, waiting around, always asking her out, The rest of the characters are as usual- good value. I knew something bad was to happen in the final episode but as I was only 11 when it was first aired I couldn't remember what it was. What a shock it was when it finally came...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 16 Jun 2011
By 
This review is from: Juliet Bravo - Series 6 [DVD] [1980] (DVD)
I just wanted to redress the balance because it doesn't seem fair that this series has got so many one star reviews from people who were just frustrated that it hadn't been released. It is just as good as all the other series - great camaraderie among the characters, and a very dramatic ending, which I remember from the first time round, aged 10, and had to psych myself up to watch again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excllent Drama, excellent scripts, excellent acting., 25 Dec 2012
By 
S. Morris (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Juliet Bravo - Series 6 [DVD] [1980] (DVD)
Ignore the ludicrous low overall rating this set has been given. That's been caused by a few spiteful and selfish children (who don't seem to know what the review section is actually for) giving one star ratings solely because - at the time they posted their reviews - the 6th series wasn't actually available. And these people call themselves fans.

The series continues with well drawn characters and a wide variety of stories. The last episode is rather shocking.

The Series 6 DVD seemed to be produced in far less quantities than the others, and seems hard to get hold of now. Even when I bought mine, it wasn't very widely available.

If you can get a copy at a reasonable price (the ones on Amazon as I write this are going for ridiculously high prices), I recommend you purchase. The series is a nice portrayal of policing in a small Northern town, and a window on a world that has pretty much sadly gone.

And ignore the one star ratings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Juliet, Juliet, Wherefore art thou Juliet?, 7 Oct 2007
This review is from: Juliet Bravo - Series 6 [DVD] [1980] (DVD)
What's going on here? Why is it taking so long to release the final series, of this fantastic 1980s police drama?
Like so many fans of 'Juliet Bravo', I already have the first five series, and they are fantastic. Great little stories set in and around Bacup (lancashire). There is never any major crime in the fictitious little town of Hartley, but that's what makes it appealing. It's a great escape from nowadays, it takes you back to when in my opinion, people had much more respect for the law, and the police were allowed to get on with their job, instead of all this paperwork of today.
If you ever do appear (juliet) you will be well worthy of 5 stars, but if you are going to keep us forever waiting! You will be stuck with just the one. So come on girl 'move yer bloomin arse'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Also hoping for this!, 22 Sep 2007
By 
J. W. Kay (Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Juliet Bravo - Series 6 [DVD] [1980] (DVD)
I, too, am hoping for an eventual release of Series 6. I had an email from 2entertain in May (after the cancellation was announced) saying they were reviewing the release schedule in light of comments received. However, I've never been able to get an update on whether the cancellation remained in force or not. It's a shame not to finish off the set; I remember (just!) the dramatic ending to series 6 and do hope to see the whole series again at some point!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where is series 6, 7 Oct 2007
This review is from: Juliet Bravo - Series 6 [DVD] [1980] (DVD)
I too bought the other dvds in this series in good faith expecting to buy the complete set. Does anybody actually know what has happened and why is hasnt been released? I am just old enough to remember this series and lucky to have some epiodes on video. however I would like to be able to complete the set on dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Juliet Bravo - Series 6 [1985], 21 Sep 2007
By 
Ms. Sk Coomber "Sue" (Basingstoke, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Juliet Bravo - Series 6 [DVD] [1980] (DVD)
Has anyone yet managed to get a copy of this series yet.

I have series 1 to 5 and have been unable to get series 6 (anywhere). I am really diasappointed that they (the pulishers) done this as I am sure like me there are others who really enjoyed this series bought in good faith the other series assuming that they would publish all series and not decide to stop at series 5.

When I wrote this review I think Amazon had promised release date of this box set kept being delayed and then was put as not being available at all, thus it was orignally given only 1 *, they eventually did release it (i think it was at least 3 years after the the previous 5 box set had been released). I have since obtain the box set and really enjoyed it in fact it was the best one of the set of 6 box sets and does deserve 5 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars More stars if it existed!!!!, 20 April 2008
By 
M. Milton (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Juliet Bravo - Series 6 [DVD] [1980] (DVD)
Disappointed that after the release of the first 5 series the 6th and final one is not available. Let's start a Facebook campaign!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Juliet Bravo - Series 6 [DVD] [1980]
Juliet Bravo - Series 6 [DVD] [1980] by Ron Jones (DVD - 2008)
Used & New from: 100.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews