Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not at all as bad as some may remember!
I initially held off buying series 4 as memory recalled that it fell far short of the highs of the previous excellent 3 series.

Although they did adapt a slightly awkward special guest feature, if you give it a chance you will see that many of the sketches still manage to be brilliant and Steven Fry's hilarious play on words has rarely been better...
Published on 2 July 2007 by Dave

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't bother
Sorry chaps. I love you dearly, but this just doesn't cut the mustard. Series 2 and 3, though obviously a little dated, still have some great moments; but this was weak at the time and still is.
Published on 9 Sep 2008 by Artie Fufkin


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not at all as bad as some may remember!, 2 July 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Bit Of Fry & Laurie - Series 4 [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
I initially held off buying series 4 as memory recalled that it fell far short of the highs of the previous excellent 3 series.

Although they did adapt a slightly awkward special guest feature, if you give it a chance you will see that many of the sketches still manage to be brilliant and Steven Fry's hilarious play on words has rarely been better.

Although this series did get a lukewarm response when it originally aired, giving it a re-run shows that it is well worth having all 4 series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well worth a look..., 13 Jan 2008
By 
Big Twink (Swansea, Wales) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Bit Of Fry & Laurie - Series 4 [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
It's fair to say that this series wasn't well received by critics at he time, and I remember being underwhelmed too, especially after the superb third series.
However, after viewing the episodes several times they really began to grow on me, with many sketches being up there with their finest. Initially, I found the guest stars offputting and unnecessary, but Stephen and Hugh deserve credit for trying something new, and many sketches with the guests are hilarious.
So, don't listen to the detractors. This is classic Fry and Laurie and, whilst not being them at their peak, is still ten times better than most other comedy sketch shows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Their best season, 18 Jun 2008
This review is from: A Bit Of Fry & Laurie - Series 4 [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
Am I the only one who thinks season 4 is the best one? Although every season is worth watching if you like monty python-ish humour, this is my favourite. Some people put this particular season down because of the use of guests. In fact, the one episode where they didn't have any guests is the least good one here. Hadn't it been for that weak spot I might have given this DVD 5 stars instead of 4.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Bit Of Fry & Laurie, 27 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Bit Of Fry & Laurie - Series 4 [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
OMG!

Totally loved it from beginning to end. I recomend this to anyone who loves either Fry or Laurie and of those looking
for something to have a barrel of laughs with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Quality nutty sketches., 10 Dec 2012
This review is from: A Bit Of Fry & Laurie - Series 4 [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
I think series 4 is the most consistently funny of all the A bit of Fry and Laurie series. Almost all the sketches are proper crazy and I think the guest stars mostly add to even more insane sketch ideas. The guests certainly seem to enjoy themselves. There is 7 episodes and the DVD is good quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enlessly funny, 15 May 2009
By 
Peter Moss (Paris) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Bit Of Fry & Laurie - Series 4 [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
Fry and Laurie is intelligent, yet wacky humour that never fades as the years pass. From the surprising to the weird, surreal, verbal play and visual gag. Everything is here!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't bother, 9 Sep 2008
This review is from: A Bit Of Fry & Laurie - Series 4 [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
Sorry chaps. I love you dearly, but this just doesn't cut the mustard. Series 2 and 3, though obviously a little dated, still have some great moments; but this was weak at the time and still is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Weak, tepid, running on empty, will this do?, best we could come up when we weren't feeling particularly creative, comedy, 6 Nov 2007
This review is from: A Bit Of Fry & Laurie - Series 4 [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
You can see that they had run out of ideas. There are surprising few sketches (maybe only about five an episode), with the majority of the running time eaten up with "in the studio banter", which feels mostly like padding.

The new addition of celebrity guests are wasted as they perform very little, but they do raise a laugh from me because I've no idea who most of them are. I assume they all had successful, but now forgotten, TV shows in the mid 90's.

The second episode has a spark of life in it unlike the other six episodes.

The fact that all seven episodes start with a boring, unfunny pastiche of a perfume advert as its opening credits tells you more than enough at how weak the rest of it's going to be.

I would recommend only buying series four if you've already got the other three.

Series 1 was rough, creaky, cheap looking and very inconsistent but fitfully funny (2 stars).
Series 2 was good, solid entertainment (5 stars).
Series 3 was the best and consistently funny (5 stars).
Series 4 is a dud. Not dreadful but far from top quality (2 stars).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Bit Of Fry & Laurie - Series 4 [DVD] [1989]
£14.74
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews