Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Carry on with the laughter - I defy you not to!
Series III is the final series I have ever seen and I always thought was the last one made. However it appears from others that this is not the case and that there is also a Series 4!.

Nonethless for me Series III is going out on a high note. It is every bit as good and as funny as Series II. Real highlights on this one are DC of Love, On Thin Ice and...
Published on 9 Nov 2006 by Ms. E. J. Baker

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Maybe a bit dated...
Still funny, but not actually as funny as I remember!
It may be a little dated. Not as satirical as stuff these days.
Published 11 months ago by Jimothy Hardlines


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Carry on with the laughter - I defy you not to!, 9 Nov 2006
By 
Ms. E. J. Baker "Elle" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Detectives - The Complete Third Series [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
Series III is the final series I have ever seen and I always thought was the last one made. However it appears from others that this is not the case and that there is also a Series 4!.

Nonethless for me Series III is going out on a high note. It is every bit as good and as funny as Series II. Real highlights on this one are DC of Love, On Thin Ice and Twitchers, the former revolving around a ladykiller called the Black Widow and a lobster called Brigsy...!. Twitchers with Bill Oddie and Pat Roach is quite simply hilarious and shows that it really is the class acting that makes this series. Ornithology has never been so funny. On Thin Ice has a slighly more serious overtone but is still an episode which never fails to amuse, including new hair accessories for Louis and an iceskating performance to rival anything seen previously anywhere.

None of the episodes however are a let down or "fillers". All of them are pure class that amuse, delight and entertain.

This whole series (well I to III anyway) have been the best thing in years and I urge anyone with a sense of humour to invest in them all. Its money VERY well spent and humour almost everyone will relate to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Laugh till you pee, 23 Sep 2008
This review is from: Detectives - The Complete Third Series [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
I recently got all five series shipped to me in Australia and they are still as funny as ever. Series 3 contained the best episodes i think. DC of Love, Flash and the peeing your pants funniest episode of all Between a Rock and a Hard Place.

Highly Recommended. If you havent seen The Detectives, its worth the chance to buy it. Unbelievably funny.

If you love British comedies like Red Dwarf, The Brittas Empire, Fawlty Towers and so on, you will love the Detectives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Description amendment, 27 Oct 2006
By 
D. J. Adams - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Detectives - The Complete Third Series [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
I just wanted to let people know that there is only one DVD in this title, not two as per the description.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delectives 3rd series, 28 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Detectives - The Complete Third Series [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
Excellent and very funny - watched this years ago on TV and it was good to watch them again when there was nothing worth watching on the 80 odd channels on TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Detectives - The Complete Third Series [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
FIRST CLASS CLASIC COMEDY IT WILL STILL BE FUNNY IN 20 YEARS TIME.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Detectives - The Complete Third Series [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
can be watched and enjoyed time and time again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Detectives - The Complete Third Series [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
I previous reviewed it ! !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Detectives and Uniross 1-2 Hour Charger., 13 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Detectives - The Complete Third Series [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
I watched the series when on TV several years ago, and they still make me laugh compared to todays Comedians, they are far superior,

The Charger is very compact and works well in the car, very good value for money, would certainly recommend to my Friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars hubby loves it, 26 Mar 2014
By 
janice (lancashire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Detectives - The Complete Third Series [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
bought as one of several other series for my hubby - he loves them -& for once I don't mind watching his choice of dvd with him-funny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best series yet, 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Detectives - The Complete Third Series [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
As good as the first two series of 'The Detectives' were, this third series is even better. It's an excellent set of episodes and what I like is that the relationship between Briggs and Louis and their boss Superintendent Cottam has developed over time; for most of the first two series Cottam couldn't stand Briggs and Louis, but here he seems to have warmed to them considerably. In 'DC of Love' he had been instructed to sack them but can't bring himself to do it.

The best episode of the series is the superb 'Art Attack', which is a parody of modern art. It's a hilarious episode. 'Between a Rock and a Hard Place' features some lovely location filming in Gibraltar and a great guest performance from Mike Reid. 'Flash' is also great fun, the whole episode is predicated on a mix up between a flasher and a marquess, and it's very amusing. Series opener 'DC of Love' is very good and it features a very amusing joke at the beginning in which Louis misreads 'S&M gear' as 'M&S gear'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Detectives - The Complete Third Series [DVD] [1993]
6.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews