Customer Reviews


84 Reviews
5 star:
 (62)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


91 of 94 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superbly Entertaining Series - A Must Buy!
Great to see this series released on DVD. The tiny village of Lochdubh (pronounced Loch-Doo) and its quirky inhabitants keep pot-smoking policeman Hamish Macbeth (Robert Carlyle) busy, frustrated and, occasionally, baffled. He loves the place and will do anything to stay, even giving credit for solved cases to more ambitious Police visitors so that his low profile is...
Published on 16 Mar 2007 by David Lusher

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good fun
If a bit dated, I read all the books and loved em, the series is based very loosely on the books (not as good) but still worth watching
Published 21 months ago by Ken Swain


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

91 of 94 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superbly Entertaining Series - A Must Buy!, 16 Mar 2007
By 
David Lusher (London England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hamish MacBeth : Series 1-3 (6 Disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
Great to see this series released on DVD. The tiny village of Lochdubh (pronounced Loch-Doo) and its quirky inhabitants keep pot-smoking policeman Hamish Macbeth (Robert Carlyle) busy, frustrated and, occasionally, baffled. He loves the place and will do anything to stay, even giving credit for solved cases to more ambitious Police visitors so that his low profile is maintained.

The casting of this series is really great and it stands as good entertainment on its own merits (despite the "not as good as the books" whingeing from another reviewer). The Scottish landscape is breathtaking and the quirkiness of the locals (reminiscent of 'Whisky Galore') is really funny. This is a series to watch again and again - it contains some shocks and surprises (no bad thing) but these serve to whet the appetite for more. I highly recommend this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent rainy day viewing, 9 Nov 2010
By 
E. Penny "kudrauk" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hamish MacBeth : Series 1-3 (6 Disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
Very enjoyable drama elevated from usual BBC tea time fare by a great performance from the lead - Robert Carlyle. I enjoyed it when it aired in the 90's and it's aged pretty well. I'd actually forgotten that it can be quite a dark show in places but only to be expected in episodes dealing with murder or character death and the lighter stuff is never far away. It kept me happily entertained over a cold, rainy weekend anyway. I knocked off a star due to lack of extras plus lack of a booklet listing the episodes and a missing episode from the first series. The picture quality isn't HD but looked & sounded fine on my TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highland hi-jinks, 8 Jan 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hamish MacBeth : Series 1-3 (6 Disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
Asked what I wanted as a xmas pressie this year, I picked Hamish MacBeth, the complete series 1-3.
I have always likes Robert Carlyle as an actor, and I remember some of the stories from the original BBC broadcasts.
Although the Highland accents are somewhat mixed, that is a small detail to an English viewer, as the acting of the varied cast more than makes up for it.
The main star of the show is the village of Lochdubh, in reality Plockton, and the scenery. Second only to the scenery is the central character of Hamish MacBeth, a city policeman who prefers the slower pace of the countryside and will do anything to preserve his quiet life and stop interference from the "city boys".
Add to this the kind of eccentrics found in small communities (on TV anyway), a low level of actual policework, and Hamish's on/off love life, and you have perfect sunday night or afternoon viewing.
There is very little extreme in language, violence etc. and the pace is comfortable.
Robert Carlyle was once quoted as saying that filming this show was one of the most relaxed times in his career, and I think most viewers would agree on the results.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I wish they'd made more, 6 Nov 2011
This review is from: Hamish MacBeth : Series 1-3 (6 Disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
I missed this programme first time round but read a couple of the books recently and loved them. Its a wonderful programme, full of eccentric characters and clever storylines and the underlying sense of mysticism. TV John is a joy, the scenery is fabulous (Plockton and Kye of Lochalsh), the humour gentle and the characterisation is great. One or two bits are a little shocking and it can get a wee bit emotional at times but all in all a lovely programme that should appeal to just about everyone. The main upshot of it was that I now want to live in Lochdubh! Tissue alert: one of the episodes is a real tear jerker.....................
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hamish Macbeth - reviewed in 2011, 3 Aug 2011
This review is from: Hamish MacBeth : Series 1-3 (6 Disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
What a pity that there were so few episodes produced of this surreal programme. It's still as funny and as touching as when first broadcast. But it's not all sweetness and light - bad things do happen to good people, but fortunately worse things happen to the baddies. For me the funniest moment in the whole 3 series was when in series 3 the mobster had to tell TV John that he was "torry" - if you've seen it, you'll understand!

It's a DVD set that's worth watching more than once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun in the Highlands and some flights of fancy!, 6 Feb 2010
This review is from: Hamish MacBeth : Series 1-3 (6 Disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
First, let me say, that I live just a few miles from Plockton in Wester-Ross in the Highlands of Scotland where this series was filmed in the mid 1990s. I well remember the excitement the filming created - with the added bonus of some of the locals being used as extras in many of the scenes.

I thought I'd seen all the episodes when it was first aired on the tele but after watching all 3 series over a period of about 10 days, I realise that I actually only saw a handful.

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed all the episodes. OK, a lot of our enjoyment came from excitedly pointing out the various people we knew (up here it's hard not to know just about everyone, anyway - if only by sight) and certainly, seeing our gorgeous scenery up there on screen was breathtaking. It seems always to be raining in 'real life' but many of the episodes showed glorious sunshine, outdoor ceilidhs, concerts and picnics with not a midgie in sight! I now realise why the series did so much for our tourist trade.

But aside from the excitement of people spotting we found all (except one) of the episodes thoroughly entertaining. Yes, the scripts were a little OTT and far-fetched sometimes but so what? It's entertainment not an historical portrayal of true life. After all, millions enjoyed Braveheart and what was that but a complete fabrication!

Robert Carlyle - native of Glasgow - has proved himself to be a fine and versatile actor in the years since Macbeth and he does get to show us some of his talent when, in one episode, he pretends to be a model policeman - spruced, shiny-buttoned uniform, slicked back hair and a briar pipe - and a superb Edinburgh accent.

If you love the Scottish Highlands and all it's beauty; if you can appreciate fun characters with tongue-in-cheek gentle humour, then I guarantee you'll enjoy Hamish MacBeth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Series 1 and 2 best. DVD transfer bad in places., 13 April 2008
By 
L. Sinclair - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hamish MacBeth : Series 1-3 (6 Disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
First things first - Episode 4 of the first series, West Coast Story, is not included in this release. Rips off West Side Story a little too much to risk a worldwide release obviously. Also, the transfer to DVD of the first series is downright shocking in places, some scenes look like 3rd generation VHS copies. Not exactly what I was expecting for £26.

But on the whole I was still absolutely delighted with the content. As others have mentioned, the third series is the noticeably weaker than the first two, too many new characters introduced and storylines which stretch the believability factor a bit too much. But still a worthwhile purchase, though as mentioned above, i'd say try and track it down a little cheaper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Quiet Man of Mystery, 4 Jan 2008
By 
J. Alec West (Vader, WA, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hamish MacBeth : Series 1-3 (6 Disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
I am so very very glad that this series was finally released on DVD.

The Hamish Macbeth series is not about a law enforcement officer in a small Scottish town. Rather, it's a series about a person who lives in a small Scottish town who "happens" to be a law enforcement officer. In short, the series endeavors to explore Macbeth as a man who lives in a small town and wants to continue living there ... with the ever-present knowledge that his accomplishments as a law enforcement officer, if noticed by "upper" authorities, could lead to a transfer elsewhere.

The series, therefore, does not dwell so much on the mysteries he has to solve (though he does solve them) as much as it does on the eccentricities of small town living and the effect of these eccentricities on the man assigned to keep order there (as well as those he calls his friends and neighbors). It is a rare police-related series that is highly character driven ... with one of the characters being the fictional village, Lochdubh, where the action takes place.

Sadly, it only lasted for 3 seasons ... and even then, encompassed only 20 episodes total. But they are 20 episodes worth seeing over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good fun, 7 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hamish MacBeth : Series 1-3 (6 Disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
If a bit dated, I read all the books and loved em, the series is based very loosely on the books (not as good) but still worth watching
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hamish MacBeth - Perfect Feelgood Viewing, 16 Jun 2010
By 
This review is from: Hamish MacBeth : Series 1-3 (6 Disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
If you want an antidote to football (or any other sport) fever, then this is for you. Sunday evening viewing for any day of the week.

Lovely scenery, well written and well acted. Multi-faceted characters - and a sweet Westie too !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hamish MacBeth : Series 1-3 (6 Disc Box Set) [DVD]
£17.14
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews