Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic comedy
It`s a shame that this wonderfully-written series seems to have gone unnoticed by many people. "The Smoking Room" is one of my favourite comedy series of recent years and I make a point of lending my DVDs to as many people as possible (hoping that they`ll buy themselves a copy as a result).

From Barry`s crosswords to Len`s swearing this show always makes me...
Published on 31 Dec 2008 by Mr. A. D. Trowbridge

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
I have frequented smoking rooms in the past and this series is nothing like the real thing.
I found the comedy weak and the acting even worse.
The subject had potential to produce a very funny series, but this didn't quite make it.
Would not recommend.
Published 4 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic comedy, 31 Dec 2008
By 
Mr. A. D. Trowbridge (Dorset, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Smoking Room - Series 1 & 2 Box Set [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
It`s a shame that this wonderfully-written series seems to have gone unnoticed by many people. "The Smoking Room" is one of my favourite comedy series of recent years and I make a point of lending my DVDs to as many people as possible (hoping that they`ll buy themselves a copy as a result).

From Barry`s crosswords to Len`s swearing this show always makes me laugh like a drain (which is an odd sort of expression, I must admit!)...

Anyone who likes quirky British humour with a touch of verbal misunderstanding should do themselves a favour and order the complete set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 11 Sep 2008
By 
M. Ward (Newark, Nottinghamshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Smoking Room - Series 1 & 2 Box Set [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
I watched this on UKGOLD a couple of years ago and was suprised to see Robert Webb (of Mitchell and Webb and Peep Show fame) in it and decided I wanted to buy the DVD's. I wasn't disappointed.

The show is deliciously dark and dead pan. All the chracters seem very real and although none of them have anything in common, spend most of there day together, just to smoke.

It's a shame, thanks to the smoking ban, a third series will probably never happen.

The extras are a bit "all filler, no killer" but it does contain a Christmas special and some behind the scenes stuff which is interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RICKY GERVAIS,EAT YOUR HEART OUT!!!, 17 Aug 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Smoking Room - Series 1 & 2 Box Set [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Terrific sitcom that has more warmth,wit and humour than the vastly overrated 'Office'.A superb cast ensure that every character is funny and interacts perfectly and Brian Dooleys observation of office personalities are spot on (as i've worked in offices for 33 years,i can vouch for their accuracy!)

It's a shame that a 3rd series wasn't made but quality beats quantity every time.It's also wonderful to see my dream girl from Man About The House,Paula Wilcox,back on tv,lovely as ever, doing a great turn as Lillian,an endearingly eccentric 50 something Mancunian divorcee.

Buy this,you'll love it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Understated brilliance, 21 July 2008
This review is from: The Smoking Room - Series 1 & 2 Box Set [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
This series is great - very funny and clever. Shame they only made 2 series. Very well written and all characters are very real.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Witty and well observed..., 31 Oct 2007
By 
pacem et amorem (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Smoking Room - Series 1 & 2 Box Set [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
This is a bit like The Royle Family where you think "How is sitting watching other people sitting around going to be funny?"

Believe me - when the writing and cast are as good as this then it's hilarious. These are people you recognise from everyday life and that you may have even worked with. The spot-on observations of people, their idiosyncrasies, their irritating habits and the way people think about their lives and work are fantastic.

Based entirely in one, dingy smoking room, with a core of characters (sometimes visited by non-smokers and other non-regulars who add a little spice and variety e.g. the boss!) this is a comedy that relies on the quality of its writing and on the brilliant performances of the actors.

This is another example of British comedy at its best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The thinking man's 'Office', 16 Jun 2011
By 
This review is from: The Smoking Room - Series 1 & 2 Box Set [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
If Harold Pinter was ever to write a sit-com, The Smoking Room would be it.

Superbly observed, beautifully written and faultlessly acted. There's not much of what you might term as a plot or a theme to any episode, the subtle and occasionally dark humour arising instead out of the everyday banter that you could hear in any office environment amongst ordinary folk. No single character is funnier, more sympathetic, less without fault than any other. Everyone is a victim, a hero or a prisoner of their own situation, of their own making. There's no clown character to single out, no self-deluded individual to make one squirm and feel embarassed for. All one feels instead is compassion and understanding for each and every character. Laughs are there by the bucketful, but you laugh not at the character, but because you can visualise yourself in that same situation. Quite the best comedy to come out of the Beeb since Rab C Nesbitt, and there can be no higher praise!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This deserves a channel of its own!, 2 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Smoking Room - Series 1 & 2 Box Set [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Come to the Smoking Room - where inhaling is positively good for you! This is superbly put together; it's understated yet hilarious at the same time. Every character is so well drawn and every line so well written and performed. You'll recognise people you know in the real world and probably hope that some of those were as amusing as these wonderful people. You may even wish you smoked - at least back in the days when it was allowed! If the two series of The Smoking Room were on a continuous loop, it would make far better viewing than most of the UK digital channels on air now. Addictive - but in the very best way! Ten stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Gettin' on, 28 Jan 2011
By 
This review is from: The Smoking Room - Series 1 & 2 Box Set [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Amazing. The weather maybe depressing but your TV is wonderful. I found one episode of this show on a sharing site that has since shut down. I was hooked, due to the nature of this show it would never have made it onto BBC America which by the way only pretty much only airs Couplings, Torchwood & Little Britian (How horrid). Now next to Peep Show my favorite shows. From death,paintball,the battle of Verdun and pasta sauce mixture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gettin' it on, gettin' it on, mm - mm...., 21 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Smoking Room - Series 1 & 2 Box Set [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Brian Dooley at his very best. A simply superb series, with astoundingly sharp observations and hugely accomplished management of dialogue. Pure class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent series, wonderful cast:, 24 April 2010
By 
Koncorde (St. Helens, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Smoking Room - Series 1 & 2 Box Set [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
The series has a feel of Alan Bennett about it, and similar low budget BBC products, filmed entirely on location in a similar room and covering in most cases just a single 30 minutes of events during no particular day. On such a flimsy premise you need to be utterly convinced of the product you're pushing, and you more importantly need the support of the source material and cast.

Along with The Green Wing and Teachers I can't recall seeing a series with a cast so perfect for the roles that they are given, and a script that works so well.

The jokes are sharp, and (more importantly) very true to life - I think we've all seen, or will see, characters like these in our lives or will recognise parts of ourselves amongst them. True they are comically exaggerated, but that doesn't detract at all from the show.

The show seemed to have the potential to carry on for longer, but was instead cut down in its prime and instead just leaves 2 series of exceptionally crafted entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Smoking Room - Series 1 & 2 Box Set [DVD] [2004]
6.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews