Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rag and Bone Heaven
These films compliment the TV series. They are in true tradition pure classic genius. We shall not see the likes of them again for a long time.The films are on two seperate DVDs and unfortunately do NOT have subtitles in English, which is a pity as they would be priceless to have. Having said this, well worth the purchase price as they will only be hard to find later,...
Published on 3 Sept. 2011 by A Customer

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Only just worthwhile
Hi,

These two films typify the problem of making a sitcom into a movie - length.

A sitcom, and "Steptoe & son" was a superlative sitcom, relies on well-defined characters in a well-defined situation facing little problems that seem big (or vice-versa). In a movie you expect something bigger - and in these you don't really get it.

I still...
Published on 8 Feb. 2009 by Phil Aypee


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 23 Sept. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steptoe & Son - Double Bill [DVD] (DVD)
The DVDs are great but i had to wait i think a bit longer than normal to have the product with me took about 2-3 weeks, but the films are great classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So funny and timeless, 11 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steptoe & Son - Double Bill [DVD] (DVD)
Two classic movies with two comedy megastars. Good picture, but poor volume on the first movie. The movies were not spoilt by this small flaw, and are hysterically funny. It's such a shame though, that the BBC couldn't have taken more care with the series' episodes! This dvd, along with the 'best of' dvds represent a great snapshot of this timeless classic without having to endure unacceptable poor picture quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars She really enjoyed the show so I ordered the dvd of Steptoe ..., 21 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steptoe & Son - Double Bill [DVD] (DVD)
My teenage Grandaughter and I went to see a show which contained comic sketches along with music tributes.After seeing a sketch of Steptoe and son she asked me who they were I told her Rag and Bone Men.She really enjoyed the show so I ordered the dvd of Steptoe and Son for her to watch.She loves it and have lent it to her friends to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 25 Nov. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steptoe & Son - Double Bill [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent entertainment. No matter how many times I watch this I still enjoy watching these films again. Grand kids love them.
Timeless comedy that puts most of the modern stuff to shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a pair of old timers, 17 Jan. 2014
By 
A. Power "thelocal" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steptoe & Son - Double Bill [DVD] (DVD)
one great programme these two clown's were a great match and a joy to watch why do we always have to change life this way might have been hard but it was great and happy way to live
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars steptoe & son, 21 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steptoe & Son - Double Bill [DVD] (DVD)
Most tv spin-offs are not that good(george and mildred(major dissapointment) but the first of the 2 movies steptoe did was great!!!!2nd not so great but still worth getting!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The item is brilliant it was delivered early I was very pleased with ..., 29 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steptoe & Son - Double Bill [DVD] (DVD)
The item is brilliant it was delivered early I was very pleased with it. This is why I gave it five stars. it was totally worth the money and would consider buying more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars classic, 17 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steptoe & Son - Double Bill [DVD] (DVD)
British comedy at its brilliant best a class act
The story is typically corn but its the way the two actors compliment each other which makes the movie hilarious
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun, 28 Jun. 2012
By 
B. Ferrie (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steptoe & Son - Double Bill [DVD] (DVD)
Very pleased with DVD and agree with other comments that the second DVD is by far the best, but as a lover of Steptoe and Son i would watch anything they have done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "Brilliant Classic Comedy", 29 May 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steptoe & Son - Double Bill [DVD] (DVD)
I just love some of the old classic comedy and sitcoms and this DVD was a gem.You get two films for a great price,good value indeed!Thank you amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Steptoe & Son - Double Bill [DVD]
Steptoe & Son - Double Bill [DVD] by Wilfrid Brambell (DVD - 2006)
£4.03
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews