Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Almost like being there ....
Unlike most of the other reviewers, I first saw Nic about 40 years ago, and managed to catch him live quite a few times in the following 12 years, getting all his recorded output along the way. So why would I want to buy this when I have most tracks already? Simple - every time you saw Nic, he would have changed his accompaniment to some songs, or sung them differently,...
Published on 28 Oct 2010 by Wes Williams

versus
0 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good service
If I could have previewed this cd I wouldn't have bought it. If you like Leonard Cohen you will love this. Sadly depressing and monotonous.
Published 22 months ago by ROBERT


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Almost like being there ...., 28 Oct 2010
This review is from: Game Set Match (Audio CD)
Unlike most of the other reviewers, I first saw Nic about 40 years ago, and managed to catch him live quite a few times in the following 12 years, getting all his recorded output along the way. So why would I want to buy this when I have most tracks already? Simple - every time you saw Nic, he would have changed his accompaniment to some songs, or sung them differently, as well as a few new ones he was testing out, and each performance was full of freshness - a kind of "one man folk process" in his own right. This recording captures that freshness - the only thing that's missing is Nic's humorous introductions and anecdotes, and his grin when he realised that he'd caught out some of the audience with a slight change in a song's chorus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Robert Brown, 23 Dec 2006
By 
This review is from: Game Set Match (Audio CD)
Im a new convert to Nics music after being told by a musician friend that I should check this fella out. The Album is Mastered down from live perfomances from end of Nics playing career & The more you play this album the more you get drawn in. Im not a die hard folkie but there is something beautifully understated about the guitar playing & vocals on this album.

A close listen confirms that this guy was at the top of his game and breaking new ground in the folk music field. While contempory, his sound is quite unique and the ambiance of the live shows captured here shine through.

The songs gathered on the album are quite eclectic ranging from quite traditional finger in the ear stuff to Nics own brilliant arrangements and exceptional guitar playing. For a new listener It is an album that is a very good introduction to Nic Jones. This album is a grower! and they are always the best.

In Short Quality from a master Craftsman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best, 30 Jan 2013
By 
Iain Scott (Houston, Renfrewshire, GB) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Game Set Match (Audio CD)
A highly original interpreter of folk songs, both in his fine singing and skilled guitar. I could never quite work out what he was playing by watching him, even in the close proximity of a folk club. Wonderful reminder!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'I took off my hat and it fell to the ground' Masterly folk music at its best, 2 May 2010
By 
A. Kahl - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Game Set Match (MP3 Download)
Game Set Match is the third, and perhaps strongest, set of songs to be released since Nic's last studio album Penguin Eggs. For those unfamiliar with Nic's style the cd starts strongly with `Bonny Light Horseman' serving as an ample introduction to his melodic guitar and singing style. Next up is a version of `Seven Yellow Gypsies' which is similar to the one featured on the In Search of...release, minus the applause. At this point anyone familiar with Penguin Eggs will notice the similarity between the propulsive opening guitar passage and the one featured on the aforementioned albums opening song `Canadee I-O'.
In fact it is two songs from Penguin Eggs that prove to be early highlights of Game Set Match. While the lament of the `Flander's Shore' protagonist who will never see England no more is broadly similar to Penguin Eggs `The Flandyke Shore' the same cannot be said of the reinterpretation of `The Drowned Lovers' as `Clyde Water'. On Game Set Match Nic strips the tune of all the jauntiness of the Penguin Eggs version and, while the melodeon playing of Tony Hall is missed, this guitar and vocal version of `Clyde Water' has an urgency that really brings the tune into its own.
Other highlights for me include `Ploughman Lads', `Billy Don't You Weep For Me' and the other tune about drowned lovers the `Lakes of Shillin' both versions of songs that can be found on Nics, sadly unavailable, 1978 album From the Devil To A Stranger album. However the albums absolute highlight, and if you still need a reason to purchase the album this is it, is the rendition of `Master Kilby'. It is testament to Nic's singing that he can impart such melancholy to lines like `Oh where are you bound' and `in every part', and why does a song that on the surface seem like it should be about the celebratory reuniting of two lovers sound so sad?
Although there has been some comments about the sound quality, the performances stem from live recordings, credit must go the producers David Suff and Tony Engle for the excellent production and uniformly excellent sound.
The one minor criticism I can level at Game Set Match is the decision to include the acapella songs `Jolly Bold Robber' and `Demon Lover'. Although an established part of the folk scene, and testament to the singers ability to carry a tune unaided, on cd they can be a little grating and tend to disrupt the unity of the cd as a whole.
Ultimately this is a personal preference, and overall the album is an exceptional example of British folk music at its best. If you like Nic Jones you will love this and if you do not, you soon will.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A young genius at work, 25 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Game Set Match (MP3 Download)
It has been amazing to revisit Nick Jones' artistry, fantastic open tunings, voice and arrangements of traditional songs and tunes. The big tracks of Canadeeio and Little Pot stove are still sensational after all these years.It's wonderful that Nick and his son are able to conjure the same magic as of of old when Nick was able to accompany himself on guitar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Music legacy, 11 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Game Set Match (MP3 Download)
Nic Jones accident and subsequent loss of playing ability is one of musics greatest losses. Fortunately his back catologue is still alive and well allowing us to continue to enjoy his incredible talent. A must have to any music collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good cd, 4 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Game Set Match (Audio CD)
Nick Jones was new to me but it was not bad. Guitar stuff interesting and his voice is unusual ,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a good collection, 7 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Game Set Match (Audio CD)
Being a collection of live recordings the sound quality is variable. However it good to be remined of Nic's live performances
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Connsumate Classic, 24 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Game Set Match (Audio CD)
This cd was bought along with Ballads and Songs to provide me with a wide choice of Nic's recordings of favourites I remember listening to, live, in folk clubs. It doesn't have the same impact as the jaw dropping first album - because the brain has settled in to receiving the Nic Jones imitable style of singing and guitar work. It's still a quality set of recordings important to have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A True Gem And Influence, 4 Feb 2007
By 
M. Olyett "Folk boy" (Watford, Herts) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Game Set Match (Audio CD)
As a late newcomer to the work of Nic Jones, I am heartily impressed by him. Tracks such as Clyde Water and Isle Of France are for me, what folk music is all about. My admiration for him is tempered by the tragedy of his car crash and the fact that this brilliant musician and singer may never perform again. Still at least we have the music - and what a feast that is
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Game Set Match
Game Set Match by Nic Jones (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews