Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hancock at his funniest (as usual)
This is a worthy addition to anyone's Hancock collection. Two mostly-forgotten movies by one of Britain's greatest comedic geniuses. While much of film and TV comedy by others may age poorly anything by Hancock has lost none of its edge, being just as relevant as ever and putting it among a very small elite at the absolute top of British comedy.
Intending purchasers...
Published on 24 Jan. 2008 by Bill

versus
42 of 45 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Wrong format and cuts!
Two stars is for the very poor presentation of these films which I feel I must alert potential buyers to. Basically, although both films were originally made in widescreen (and have been shown on TV in such before now) they are presented here in scanned and cropped 4:3 versions. Why this is so in this day and age is beyond me. I guess they just put some old 4:3 prints...
Published on 7 Nov. 2008 by O. R. Peake


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Really made us laugh, 1 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tony Hancock Collection: The Punch And Judy Man / The Rebel [DVD] (DVD)
Another birthday present for my dad that really made the whole family laugh. Made you realise how good films used to be!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars British gems, 27 Sept. 2011
By 
PeeGee (Norwich, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tony Hancock Collection: The Punch And Judy Man / The Rebel [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this twofer to replace an old VHS of The Punch and Judy Man. I had taped it from TV because my Uncle Arthur and Auntie Kitty appear in it, being pestered by Mario Fabrizi while sitting in deckchairs on the beach. Other than the family connection, I am not a great fan of the film, but I do love The Rebel.

When I was an art student, his reply to 'how do you mix your colours' (in a bucket with a stick) became a standard response in the studio. The juxtaposition of Hancock's singularly dour, black-and-white personality with this gaudy world of French glamour, paint and technicolour is the main point of the film for me. Doomed to failure, as predictably as are any of Homer Simpson's schemes, Hancock actually manages to gain the sympathy of the audience, something he didn't often do in his television shows.

Highly recommended (and take The Punch and Judy Man as a bonus).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four stars only because I've not seen 'The Punch and Judy Man....and it may not be so good...., 27 Oct. 2008
This review is from: Tony Hancock Collection: The Punch And Judy Man / The Rebel [DVD] (DVD)
Frustraited office clerk Antony Hancock gives it all up and moves to Paris to follow his dream of becoming an artist. Here he hobnobs with the local art fraturnity who mistakes his total artisic inability and nievety for artistic genius. Off this reputation his name becomes known in the big money art world....who turn up mistaking his flat mates (who returned to england leaving all his work to him) work for his. The plot thickens as he blags his way to the top, only to come down to earth when being found out....A very funny film that highlights the pretentious world of the artist and those who claim to know about it. Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent item as described well packaged and prompt arrival, 25 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tony Hancock Collection: The Punch And Judy Man / The Rebel [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent item as described well packaged and prompt arrival
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Vintage Hancock, 4 Nov. 2014
By 
Mr. Louis Des Preaux "Louis des Preaux" (South-West France.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tony Hancock Collection: The Punch And Judy Man / The Rebel [DVD] (DVD)
Vintage Hancock. A different and amusing film. Watch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Needed Simpson and Galton, 23 Nov. 2013
By 
Boulanger (Great Britain) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tony Hancock Collection: The Punch And Judy Man / The Rebel [DVD] (DVD)
Not Hancock at his best, a few vintage Hancock moments. On the whole a little disappointing. Punch and Judy was the better of the two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tony Hancock Collection: The Punch And Judy Man / The Rebel [DVD] (DVD)
Great Movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Oct. 2014
By 
Mrs. M. A. Etherington (Dorset, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tony Hancock Collection: The Punch And Judy Man / The Rebel [DVD] (DVD)
Love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hancock's one and a half hours, 27 Sept. 2008
By 
G. E. Harrison (Cheltenham, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tony Hancock Collection: The Punch And Judy Man / The Rebel [DVD] (DVD)
The quote from the Observer on the front of the box says "Hancock is by far the most talented and original telly comedian" which is a slightly back-handed compliment to advertise this collection of his two feature films. He was definitely a genius on television but I'm not convinced either of these films completely works.

'The Rebel' from 1961 is by far the best, with it's sharp script by Galton and Simpson and an excellent supporting cast featuring George Sanders, Irene Handl, John Le Mesurier and a very young Oliver Reed. The script is a comment on the art world and Bohemia that many will still find relevant today. Hancock plays a character similar to his self-deluded TV role in the shape of a clerk who dreams of being an artist and moves to Paris to realise his dream.

'The Punch and Judy Man' was written by Hancock and Phillip Oakes and the story is very slight - it is similar to Jacques Tati's "Monsieur Hulot's Holiday" in many ways but Hancock isn't able to hold the centre of the film like Tati can. It's all a bit run-of-the-mill and sadly Hancock can't rely on the Galton and Simpson script or the supporting cast to bale him out. If 'The Rebel' was a auspicious start that earned Hancock a BAFTA nomination for "Most promising newcomer to a leading film role" then 'The Punch and Judy Man' was a real step backward that probably signalled the start of a decline in his career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tony Hancock Collection: The Punch And Judy Man / The Rebel [DVD] (DVD)
great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tony Hancock Collection: The Punch And Judy Man / The Rebel [DVD]
£14.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews