Customer Reviews


121 Reviews
5 star:
 (97)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "I s'pose you fink that's funny do ya?"
Any series that can use the line "Do you mind! That is NOT your pickled onion... It happens to be the knot in my pyjama cord!!!" has got to be worth revisiting in my book! They're all here... Stan, Jack, Arthur, Olive and of course Blakey.
Having been reduced to hysterics by the sight of Blakey, stuck inside Arthur's side car, his nose pressed up against the...
Published on 21 Oct 2004 by Purple Ferret

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dated but mildly amusing.
Very much of the Carry On... and Confessions... era but fun on a wet Sunday afternoon. As long as you're just looking for a giggle and nothing too intelectually stimulating this'll do fine. Also my sister bears more than a passing resemblence for Olive so On The Buses will always have a place in my heart for providing such great teasing material.
Published on 25 Jan 2001


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "I s'pose you fink that's funny do ya?", 21 Oct 2004
By 
Purple Ferret "TPW" (Harrogate UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Any series that can use the line "Do you mind! That is NOT your pickled onion... It happens to be the knot in my pyjama cord!!!" has got to be worth revisiting in my book! They're all here... Stan, Jack, Arthur, Olive and of course Blakey.
Having been reduced to hysterics by the sight of Blakey, stuck inside Arthur's side car, his nose pressed up against the windscreen ("Don't worry Blakey... this saw'll cut through anything!!!"... "I KNOW, that's what I'm worried about!!!") I took these up to bedroom to watch. Needless to say it wasn't long before Olive appeared in a baby doll nightie... I looked from Olive... to my wife snoring next to me... and back to Olive again... Hmmmm!
Look, you know what you're getting here. It hasn't lost it's sparkle, it's still as cheap, tacky, politically incorrect and brilliant as ever! At this price BUY IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A retro look at Britain as it was, 22 Feb 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On The Buses [DVD] (DVD)
Instead of watching the rubbish that's broadcast today, I thought I'd buy these classic feature films of the 70's.

Starting with 'On The Buses', this is 70's Britain, when women were starting to take on normal jobs...a far cry from the housewife of the 60's. Luxton & District take on women drivers and calamity ensues. Quite un-PC but very very funny, in a 'Carry On' style.

Next is 'Mutiny On The Buses. This follows the story from the previous film, and visits Windsor Safari park in the process.

The third of the trilogy is 'Holiday On The Buses', filmed at Pontins in Prestatyn, North Wales. An absolute hoot from start to finish, with lots of scrapes throughout.

The whole idea of a family being bonded together as such is now quite dated, and the high street scenes of the first two films prove how far we have come with the advent of out-of-town shopping centres, although I'm not sure this is a good thing. The film quality and sound quality is great on these disks but there are no extra features. Obviously in the 70's extra features weren't deemed neccessary so these weren't made. I don't have a problem with this. Extra info can be found on Google and various fan sites. The big attraction for me is the fantastic capture of life in the year I was born, with gorgeous footage in all 3 films of the early 70's. References made to non-PC topics are refreshing, and an indication of where we've ended up following years of political correctness.

Long live Blakey, Butler and Harper. The acting was great, the script was pretty good and the quality was good too. Instead of 'paying-per-view', buy this 3 film set and have a good laugh!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny is'nt even the word !, 8 Sep 2009
A Kid's Review
This review is from: On The Buses [DVD] (DVD)
This is my favourat film comady EVER ! All three films are funny, Holiday on the Buses being the BEST ! This is a MUST SEE BRITISH comady....Buy it , with NO regrets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars God, I love On the Buses! God, I love the 1970's! God, I hate political correctness!, 25 Dec 2010
This review is from: On The Buses [DVD] (DVD)
I loved the 1970's and thought the world would always be like that. Holiday on the Buses particularly is utter perfection. The opening scene with the tits and the crash, that had my friends and I whooping and punching the air as children, Blakey and Butler's banter upon meeting each other at Pontin's gate, the scenes with Arthur Mullard, the disco scenes at Pontins, the 70's theme music, the clothes, the wallpaper, the carpets, the attitudes. This for me, is the greatest film ever made. Has me howling with joyous laughter, but also with sadness that those days have gone forever. I advocate the death penalty for anyone who attempts to remake this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


68 of 75 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars These Spin-off Films Are Better Than The Television Series Itself, 17 Mar 2007
By 
Amazon Customer "A Likely Lad" (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: On The Buses [DVD] (DVD)
The On The Buses TV series is one that I have always looked upon with nostalgia and fondness but recently having bought the boxset of the entire series I find that my memories are playing tricks, the show is not as good as I remember, it is still very funny and entertaining but it feels a little outdated.
The three movies on the other hand are perhaps the only spin-off adaptations to a comedy show that are better than the parent series itself.

The films manage to come up with three nicely contrasting storylines that admittedly do use various elements of plots from the tv shows, such as Stan messing up a radio control system and Olive being given a job in the bus canteen and so on, but unless you know the history of the show this doesn't really matter.

The first film 'On The Buses' deals with the idea of female bus drivers threatening the jobs of their male counterparts and Stan and the team dreaming up all kinds of plans to get rid of them, this is probably the most faithful film in regards to the format of the tv series in that it does feel like an extension to the show.

'Mutiny On The Buses' is by contrast a film comprised of set pieces or smaller plotlines, such as Stan's engagement, Olive's pregnancy, Arthur losing his job and being trained by Stan to be a bus driver, a new horrible manager taking over at the depot and even a trip to windsor safari park and many more. Most of these plots could have be used as a basis for a film in their own right but the fact that they are all in there and that they do form a coherent story is amazing. It is because of the fragmented approach to the film that it is most likely the weakest of the three but it is still very enjoyable.

'Holiday On The Buses' is generally regarded as the best of the three by the fans and the viewing public and that assessment is just about right.
It seems as though this was a case of "What can we do now to avoid repetition?" The answer! Have Stan, Jack and Blakey fired from the bus service and then have them wind up in new jobs at the same Butlins type holiday camp, and it works, there is a freshness and originality that seperates this movie from the rest of the franchise and yet at the same time anchors the situation into the ongoing threads of the previous films and series. Throw in Wilfrid Brambel, Arthur Mullard and a good cast of strong comedy actors and you have the funniest film of the three.

The three films were a financial and critical success for Hammer Pictures, better known for horror movies and a fourth film entitled 'Fun On The Buses' was planned, why it wasn't made I don't know, but these films are historic because they were the first big screen adaptations based on a popular comedy tv show and their success inspired a rush for other comedy shows of the era to be given the movie treatment and a whole new sub culture of films was born.

Very enjoyable indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Reviled - why?, 19 Sep 2003
By A Customer
Apparently regarded by some as one of the three worst sitcoms of all time, the others being Mind your Langauge and Love thy Neighbour, On the Buses is actually a gem. Miss it through ignorance and you're missing a great example of the British sitcom. And I suspect ignorance of the series is to blame for it's bad press because On the Buses is one of the very best ITV comedies. Perhaps it's felt that leering at clippies is in some way awfully sexist, but as many of the clippies are strong willed and sexually liberated I can't see the problem personally, and besides most of the humour actually derives from Stan's home life, and the lechery is only a small part of the series appeal. And appeal it does. There are some genuinely amusing scenes between the four family characters, and here the actors are clearly enjoying themselves. Liking this series is not down to nostalgia, nor is it really the freedom it has due to its being made in an era predating political correctness (though admittedly it's a selling point for me), the fact is that if something is funny it will always shine through despite it's not being flavour of the month.
Those used to the On the Buses films might be expecting something bawdier, but here the series makes the most of the characters individual foibals and is a lot gentler (relatively). The studio audience react well to the jokes and this adds to the fun. This was often the case when innuendo in humour was at it's height, a slow realisation that what was beig suggested was a lot saucier than it might first appear. In an age of sexual liberation for men and women On the Buses captures the feelings of the time with more fun than more recent post-feminist comedies have - which are all a little too pompous in their 'superior' post modern outlook. There's a lot to enjoy in watching On the Buses, Doris Hare in particular so don't believe what a few befuddled and politicised critics tell you, make your own mind up you might be pleasantly surprised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When can we have more?, 30 April 2005
By A Customer
I absolutely love "on the buses". I was a bit too young when it was first shown but have really enjoyed this DVD set. The cosy meals round the dining room table - seeing the streets as they were in the early 70's before everyone "customised" their victorian terraces. This is a brilliant series, but why can't we have all the episodes so that we can choose "the best of". There were 7 series altogether so when are we going to get the next ones?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Laugh a Minute, 28 Jan 2005
I've only given this video 4 stars because, although the content is classic, the quality is not quite so good. A poor 'print' to be sure. I believe there's plenty of 'On the Buses' stuff now on DVD and I would recommend you buy that instead of this video.
Otherwise, the material is brilliant. There are four epsiodes on the tape:
1. GOING STEADY, in which Stan takes a fancy to Blakey's niece Sally (with hilarious consequences).
2. THE NEW UNIFORMS - in which Stan and Jack are mistaken for airline 'peelots' by two Swedish girls.
3. BREW IT YOURSELF - After drinking some of Stan's home-made beer Arthur actually finds Olive attractive.
4. THE CISTERN - Toilet troubles for Stan when the old cistern packs up and a new one has to be fitted PDQ. A DIY disaster if ever there was one.
All in all a fine example of late 1960s British comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious spin-off!, 3 Nov 2007
By 
FAMOUS NAME (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This was the first in the three massive box office successes that became the 'On The Buses' trilogy! More movies were made of this highly successful TV comedy than any other! Over three years, three major Hammer films were made to compliment the TV sitcom.

Here, Stan and Jack fight against 'Blakey's' idea to employ women bus drivers as a means to decrease their overtime and power struggle against the company. Stan and Jack are both up to their usual tricks of seducing 'clippies' and failing to pick up passengers! Arthur and Olive are up to some new tricks when Olive becomes pregnant!

Great hilarious comedy in the classic vintage style we no longer see... These were definitely 'the good old days'!

Also stars; Pat Coombs, David Lodge and Pat Ashton.

Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good, 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On The Buses [DVD] (DVD)
Classic old comedy films boughts as gifts! Good old fashioned comedy and good quality recording. geeat if you like old comedy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

On The Buses [DVD]
On The Buses [DVD] by Bryan Izzard (DVD - 2006)
£5.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews