Customer Reviews


187 Reviews
5 star:
 (131)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


81 of 83 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent package
I won't bother reviewing the film itself, as I'm sure most of you reading this are already fans, so I'll just stick to describing this new 3-disc release.

As many of you probably know, the film was considered too long for a commercial release by the typically clueless studio execs of the time, and was summarily hacked-down by about 15 minutes. In a depressing...
Published on 7 Oct 2006 by pattic

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Washed out additional footage that could be better.
This rating is for the 3 disc BD package, the film itself is always an easy 5 stars!

This BluRay looks great for the most part but, the additional scenes, like the opener at the church and the "Gently Johnny" segment are washed out and flat. They might well have be painstakingly restored and de-speckled, as one of the bonus features demonstrates, but what was...
Published 4 months ago by 52ofa1000


‹ Previous | 116 17 18 19 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Review of Wicker man, 31 Jan 2003
By 
Mr Stephen Crayston (Sheffield, South Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This film is an example to most of the new breed of horror movies about how they should be done. Sure it isn't scary really at all but it has a great story (and twist that is very clever) and some great acting, especially from Christopher Lee who shows that he can do more than fight Yoda or Gandalf. A good film worthy of a spot in anyone's DVD collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slightly Wooden Film Fails To Ignite, 26 Sep 2007
I remember seeing this film at a special film festival when it first came out with my school. Our teacher had decided to take all of the class to see the film as he was a practising wiccan. An odd fellow, my old teacher, a Mr Cunningham. He was seven foot two, had a white wispy moustache and had the tendency to rest his hands on your shoulders while you were writing. As luck would have it, I had to sit next to him in the theatre. This would have been bearable, but the man had an insistence on wearing home made fragrances. His blend of sea bass and lavender still resonates to this very day.

My memories of the film have since faded, so I shall go off what I remember. The main thing that sticks in my head is the location. The film was shot entirely in a remote island off the north coast of England. This might give the film an isolated feel, but I couldn't help thinking a more centralised location like Birmingham would have given it more depth.

The plot then. World weary policeman Wilbur Vehrmont ventures to this island to investigate the murder of a young girl. Edward Woodworm is totally unexcitable in the role and every moment he is onscreen is a laboured affair. Thank heavens then for the flamboyancy of Christopher Lee as Lord Summersmythe, a handsome and charming rogue. Lee has some wonderful lines and moments. One image which stays firmly in my head is where he dances nude around his bedroom in a bizarre pagan ritual. This image stays with me to this day and occasionally I imagine myself as Lord Summersmythe and write around my own room naked, pressing myself up against walls while surrounding myself with corn dollies and candles.

The pace of the film is incredibly slow and it's fair to say that absolutely nothing happens until the pivotal end scene. I shan't spoil it, but the ending did little for me, lacking any impact on a physical or emotional level. I think what let this scene down was Woodworm's non plussed attitude to what was about to happen to him. His decision to play the the scene in such a casual way remains controversial to this day.

One final footnote, the title is hideously misleading, as the so called Wicker Man is actually made out of ply wood and I therefore think this really should have been the title of the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Britt Ekland naked, 6 Nov 2003
By 
Mr. S. G. Brown "stevegregbrown" (Horsham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
There are two great things about "The Wicker Man": an incredible ending and Britt Ekland naked. The latter alone would justify the price of the set.
Out of the two versions the shorter one is better. The extra footage in the "Director's Cut" adds nothing to the story, which makes total sense in its shorter, "butchered" cut. Film's are a visual medium: I don't need Howie's character explained to me, and neither does anyone else.
The commentary is interesting but unfortunately Christopher Lee is too in love with the sound of his own voice sometimes to let others contribute. He seems to think the job of the film was to explain pagan ritual to people or, more precisely, to provide him with a podium to explain it to the audience in long dull speeches, most of which have been cut. A bit pompous, really, but nobody seems brave enough to want to challenge him on the issue. I would have liked to hear a lot more from Edward Woodward, who comes across as a nice bloke who hasn't taken the whole thing too seriously.
So. Britt Ekland naked. Enough said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's about time they cleaned up the footage - Yuk!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great spooker of a film, 10 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This film highlights eerily the narrowminded ways in which some quite of-the-beaten track villagers think about religion and human rights. Having made up their own rules for centurys the people of the village as savage as they may seem think that their behaviour is quite normal. A great film to spent hours disecting after you have watched!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic horror, 2 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wicker Man [DVD] (DVD)
Although the acting is a bit over the top it is appropriate to this thriller which is great fun. An excellent buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars less is more money, 18 Nov 2013
You have to ask yourself, why is the 2-disc Limited Edition blu-ray package five pounds dearer than the 3-disc Anniversary blu-ray package of the same film released at the same time. Because it comes in a tin? Let's hope Studio Canal don't go into the baked beans business.
But I think I'd rather let Heinz handle the blu-rays from now on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Wicker God, 19 Sep 2004
This is the best role christopher lee has played ever!Being huge fan watching his hammer films, this film is truly a master piece.Beauitfuly filmed and photgraphed one of my favorite films of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting take on christian views on alternative religions, 22 Mar 2003
This movie lays out the cultural differences that occur, when a good christian is confronted with an alternative way of life. Through the entire movie this is empathised by that fact that everything seems wrong and confusing for the viewer at first, but makes since after the would've-been climax. This, however should not let the viewer dismiss the movie on the first viewing - every time the main character thinks there's peril, it turns out to be some harmless gag. He is, however drawn from the beginning towards this new way of life - and the question remains if he will give into his deepest desires or deny them and meet his fate.
I can't believe the terrible sound on the restored, lost footage version - it really is distorted and hard to make out what is being said - subtitles would have aided this, alas - they are nowhere to be found.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A DIFFERENT SCENARIO, 12 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wicker Man (2 DVD + CD Collector's Edition) (DVD)
Edward Woodward is baffled! Britt Eklund provides it! The carousel of the Summer Isle and of nature mysteries are subtly revealed to those who have eyes to see. The earthy singing roustabouts leave something to be desired as far as folk songs go and won't harm anyone! Enjoy the phantasia!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 116 17 18 19 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Wicker Man (2 DVD + CD Collector's Edition)
£19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews