Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Only Cleese could have made this film
The more I watch this film, usually once every couple of months, the more I am convinced that no other actor could have been the lead in this piece of beautifully crafted farce. John Cleese was outstanding from his first line to his last, dominating the whole film, even those scenes where he was not actually in vision, but everything that was happening was ABOUT him and...
Published on 26 July 2002

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth a watch, with a better script it could have been a classic
Clockwise gives John Cleese the opportunity to repeat his Basil Fawlty persona, albeit in the more competent character of a successful headmaster.

Like a lot of British comedies of the time (eg Restless Natives, Gregory's Girl) Clockwise has a relentlessly low budget feel, bit like a TV special given a cinema release. But this wouldn't have mattered if the...
Published 15 days ago by bayman15


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Only Cleese could have made this film, 26 July 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Clockwise [VHS] (VHS Tape)
The more I watch this film, usually once every couple of months, the more I am convinced that no other actor could have been the lead in this piece of beautifully crafted farce. John Cleese was outstanding from his first line to his last, dominating the whole film, even those scenes where he was not actually in vision, but everything that was happening was ABOUT him and his predicament. You just kept wondering what he would do to recover the situation, and what would happen next to delay that recovery. Every contributing support artist did exactly that.. and supported the Cleese character of Stimpson the Headmaster on his quest. Classic films combine certain elements, like DECREASING TIMESCALE, SEXUAL CONNECTION, and CHASE SCENES, and believe it or not , this film has the lot. Well put together and certainly one for the collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars John Cleese's best movie!, 9 Dec 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Clockwise [DVD] (DVD)
This may be a low-budget film, but it is in my view John Cleese's funniest and most underrated movie. It was not written for an American audience as his later movies were, so the humour is much the same as that of Faulty Towers.
I would go as far as saying that it is almost as funny as that classic series, and has you laughing out loud from start to finish! The dialog is fast and there are so many stories being told at the same time, and so many gags, so in succeeds in re-creating the same manic humour as Fawlty Towers.
You won't be dissappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic 80's Comedy, 8 Jun 2008
By 
J. Whitworth (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Clockwise [DVD] (DVD)
Pitch perfect mid 1980's comedy, with Cleese keeping his manic side in check - just - as he tries to get to a conference.

One of the oddest things about watching the films now is how old it seems. We still tend to think of the 1980s as recent history, but when you watch this you realise how much has changed. The cars, the trains, the lack of traffic, no mobile phones. Who would have thought it - 1986 is suddenly starting to look like the good old days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspired Cleese, 24 April 2008
By 
KN (Lancs. UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Clockwise [DVD] (DVD)
Top movie from the 80s.

Secondary school head John Cleese is off to give an important speech at the Headmasters conference. He is normally very, very punctual but things go wrong when he misses his train. He then proceeds to get lost in the middle of the English countryside, loses his clothes and almost his mind. But he keeps it going to the end and makes his speech.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth a watch, with a better script it could have been a classic, 14 Dec 2014
By 
bayman15 (Milton Keynes, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Clockwise [DVD] (DVD)
Clockwise gives John Cleese the opportunity to repeat his Basil Fawlty persona, albeit in the more competent character of a successful headmaster.

Like a lot of British comedies of the time (eg Restless Natives, Gregory's Girl) Clockwise has a relentlessly low budget feel, bit like a TV special given a cinema release. But this wouldn't have mattered if the script had been top-notch (as it was with Gregory's Girl). Alas the script isn't top notch and doesn't allow his Cleese's comic genius free reign. Perhaps if he had helped to write it the result would have been funnier.

Having said that there are some genuinely funny moments and it's good to see Penelope Wilton, Alison Steadman, Geoffrey Palmer and a host of support actors/actresses of the time filling the minor roles. As others have commented the 1980s now look surprisingly quaint. For those of us who grew up in that era the whole thing is a bit of nostalgia fest (without - I'm glad to say - a grating soundtrack of '80s hits). Younger viewers might marvel at life before the mobile phone.

Worth a watch, with a better script it could have been a classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I could watch it everyday, 7 Jan 2008
This review is from: Clockwise [DVD] (DVD)
This is the funniest film I have ever seen. As I have said, I could watch it everyday !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars John Cleese as his best !!, 19 Mar 2011
By 
J. A. Kershaw "shimauma" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clockwise [DVD] (DVD)
If you didn't catch this on Video, watch it now - it is absolutely hilarious - excellent performances from just about everyone. Brilliant. John Cleese is masterful as ever !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Cleese, 11 Sep 2008
By 
Irish Critic (Leopardstown, Republic of Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Clockwise [DVD] (DVD)
This film makes me laugh as much today as it did in 1986! It's good old light-hearted farce from beginning to end.

Mr. Stimpson (Cleese) is Head Teacher of a comprehensive school and a stickler for time-keeping. When he's invited to address the annual Head Teachers' Conference in Norwich, he times his journey to the millisecond - then everything that can go wrong goes wrong! He boards the wrong train, loses the transcript of his speech, and even ends up having a bath in a monastery! In many ways, Stimpson resembles the notoriously accident prone Basil Faulty of the 1970s.

It's just a fun movie from start to finish!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars it gets funnier, 20 July 2009
This review is from: Clockwise [DVD] (DVD)
I've seen this excellent comedy many times and there are still jokes and funny details that I didn't notice before.I think if it had been made today they would have had a spin-off series; there are too many wonderful characters and you can't do justice to them all in 90 minutes. It's also funny to see the 1970's cars and fashions etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic John Cleese...my favourite of all his films, 7 May 2014
By 
Mr. DAVID Geer "Korngold Fan" (Sydney Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clockwise [DVD] (DVD)
We originally stumbled across the video of this film and played it to death. The videos and player are long gone but I missed seeing it so I ordered the DVD. Need less to say it's still as funny as ever, and had me laughing loudly more than once. Even on the second showing I am still roaring with delight. I'd rate this above the zoo one which is superior to a Fish Called Wander. The supporting roles are familiar British actors and play their parts magnificently. A real 10:10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Clockwise [DVD]
Clockwise [DVD] by Christopher Morahan (DVD - 2006)
£4.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews