Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smarter Than Mario
What an amazing game. As a Megadrive owner as a kid, I never had the pleasure of playing the original on the SNES, and I now see what I was missing out on.

The game looks fantastic, plays wonderfully and offers a more intelligent challenge compared with the brilliant New Super Mario Bros.

It's so good that I even missed my train because I was so...
Published on 2 Dec. 2006 by harrison hawk

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Yoshi's Island DS (Nintendo DS)
I struggled to fully enjoy this game as the game world was split onto both the top and bottom screens of the Nintendo DS. This lead to obvious disjointed gameplay. If the game was played just using one screen however, I would give it a 4 out of 5 stars. Worth a rent, or finding the original game on the platform of which it was designed for.
Published on 7 May 2013 by Mr S. Anthony


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smarter Than Mario, 2 Dec. 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Yoshi's Island DS (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
What an amazing game. As a Megadrive owner as a kid, I never had the pleasure of playing the original on the SNES, and I now see what I was missing out on.

The game looks fantastic, plays wonderfully and offers a more intelligent challenge compared with the brilliant New Super Mario Bros.

It's so good that I even missed my train because I was so engrossed in playing it, and didn't notice the train pull in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Yoshi to the rescue, 29 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yoshi's Island DS (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Having owned this years ago when I had super nintendo console I loved this game and so decided to buy it on this format.The aim is to take baby mario on the different yoshi's for each level and rescue the other missing babies along the way there is plenty of extras for you to find like the flowers, and mini stars etc which all give you bonuses when you've collected enough, through each level you are introduced to different enemies and the backgrounds may not be to everyone's standards compared to the graphics nowadays on games but if like me you got this because of how you enjoyed playing it then that won;t matter anyhow so when you get to the end of each level you come up against a boss type character once defeated you move onto the next world and so forth then when reaching the end you come up against the ultimate boss and of course if completed then the babies are reunited.Anybody interested in buying this will have endless fun playing it I guarantee that.Bye.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A sequal to a great snes game, 25 Nov. 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Yoshi's Island DS (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Over a decade ago, Yoshi's Island on the Super Nintendo was a blast that at the time took the gaming world by storm. It didn't quite have the same impact when it was released for the GBA in 2003, but it still managed to sport some of its originality. We finally get a sequel, and its actually pretty good. It keeps all the good stuff from the previous game and adds in some new quirks. So it isn't exactly the same game. There are indeed some key differences.

In the first Yoshi's Island, Kamek kidnapped Baby Luigi while Baby Mario fell to Yoshi's Island. The Yoshi's rallied together to reunite Mario with his brother. The adventure was long, satisfying and quite a challenge. In the sequel on DS, Kamek is up to his dirty tricks again, but the key difference is that now the Yoshi's are taking care of more than one baby.

A lot of gameplay mechanics from the first one return. As you go through levels Yoshi does pretty much all that he did in the first one. That is to say you can jump and hover briefly, ground pound, make enemies into eggs and throw those eggs, as well as spitting your enemies back out at others. In this aspect Yoshi's Island has not changed at all. In addition to all this, keeping track of the baby on your back is also the same. If Yoshi ever touches an enemy he'll lose the baby off his back and a timer starts to countdown. You have to recover the baby before the timer runs out or else you lose a life. Also like in the first one, stars refill the counter.

There's more that returns. The completion of the game is a spot on match to the first one. As you go through levels you'll see flowers, red coins among the normal ones, and stars that need collecting. Upon completing a level you'll be given a score out of 100. The only way to get 100 is if you collect all the flowers, red coins, and manage to keep your counter completely full by collecting stars. There are always 100 points, and if you manage to score 100 points in every level of a world, you'll unlock a bonus stage... just like in the original.

There is one difference in the gameplay in particular that separates Yoshi's Island DS from the original Super Nintendo version. The fact that there is more than one baby that Yoshi can carry on his back. At first this doesn't sound like much, but it makes a difference in some of Yoshi's abilities. You'll begin the game with Baby Mario and Baby Peach. As you progress however, you'll get more babies--DK, Wario and Boswer. They each allow you to do something different. Bowser, for example, can spit fire while DK can swing on vines and ropes. In the end, if you actually want to do everything Yoshi's Island has to offer, you'll have to use all the babies. Some levels cannot be completed unless you've got the right baby to do it. So if you're having trouble getting some items, or you can't access a certain part of the level, it might be because you're not using the right baby.

The best part about Yoshi's Island is that the game as a whole is a challenge. More so than the original. The mechanic of having to switch babies to progress through levels adds a lot of variety to the levels. Having to score 100 points on every level also adds a lot of variety and challenge. Yoshi's Island DS is also fun to play because it doesn't do away with the mechanics that made the first one so good. The boss fights are just as memorable here as they were in the SNES installment.

Its the graphics where Yoshi's Island DS misses a little bit. In all honesty, it doesn't look all that different from the first one on the Super Nintendo. This isn't bad seeing as how the art style is still unique, but it doesn't look that much better than the game we got over ten years ago. It's pretty and all, but if you played the first one to death, you're not really seeing anything new. Most of the enemies look the same as they did before. Most of the backgrounds and platform look the same. Some of them are given more detail, but for the most part, most of the graphics are all the same.

The game also doesn't use the touch screen. All the top screen is used for is so that you can see more of the level. So if you were expecting it to take full advantage of the DS's capabilities, you'll be disappointed. This in no way detracts from the game's value, though.

In the end, Yoshi's Island DS isn't so bad. The game keeps all the aspects of the original game in tact while adding in some new features that make it unique. It's a satisfying game experience overall, even if it does bring back a little too much from the original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Eggscellent, 20 Jun. 2007
By 
B. BERWICK "Sothis" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Yoshi's Island DS (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Yoshi's Island on the Super NES all those years ago was a challenging but addictive game that was utterly fantastic. Yoshi's Island DS is very similar in terms of levels bur with new features, new characters and the advantage of dual screens.

This game doesn't make use of the stylus and you find you can get through the first few levels with ease. Egg-throwing is the same as it was before, the stars = seconds and red coins and flowers are all still here, but you also have the option of changing the baby- to Peach, who can help Yoshi float on air currents, or Donkey Kong, who can climb vines and ropes. Wario and Bowser also appear- the former has a magnet that can clear metal blocks for you, the latter can spit flames to melt ice.

To be honest, I found that you can play the majority of the game with Mario, with the others needed sparingly.

Good game play is appreciated and this game has it in abundance, but the later levels can be very frustrating. The difficulty seems to spike sharply in the final few levels of the game, which can lead to immense annoyance.

That said, the game is a fun remake of an old classic which I'm sure will entertain for many eggs to come!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect airplane toy, 2 July 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Yoshi's Island DS (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Bought the game to entertain a little 4-year old on a longhaul flight. He loved Super Mario Brothers, so was hoping this would also be a hit. It was! The graphics are probably a little dated, but he never noticed. He mastered the controls easily and especially adores being able to eat enemies and lay eggs.

Can thoroughly recommend it for younger players.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Yoshi's Island DS (Nintendo DS), 7 May 2013
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Yoshi's Island DS (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
I struggled to fully enjoy this game as the game world was split onto both the top and bottom screens of the Nintendo DS. This lead to obvious disjointed gameplay. If the game was played just using one screen however, I would give it a 4 out of 5 stars. Worth a rent, or finding the original game on the platform of which it was designed for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Yoshi's Island, 26 Oct. 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Yoshi's Island DS (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Yoshi's Island is the longed for birthday present for my 12 year old grandson. He is so very excited to have it now, and he spends as long as he is allowed playing with it and laughing. . All the more satisfying for me because he is autistic and I love to hear him laugh.. Plenty of play value and overall a very satifactory game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yoshi goes wild!, 3 July 2007
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Yoshi's Island DS (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
I think this game is AWSOME! sometimes though it is a bit hard. I thought it look colourful and fun so i got it for christmas! i was really right! it's a really good game and i would probably recomend it to 10-11+ 'cause it is quite hard, i even find it hard but then again i'm not very good at platform games! (but i still enjoy them!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More of the same, just tougher., 4 Dec. 2006
By 
RK "RK" (Brighton United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Yoshi's Island DS (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
The original Yoshi's Island on the SNES amazed gamers with its odd crayon-drawn feel and amazing gameplay. The on-cartridge Super FX chip created huge bosses, stretchy enemies and many other gameplay innovations. The second installment has little new to offer apart from being able to swap between different babies.

Both screens are used simultaneously to show tall section of each level. Unfortunately there us a blind spot between the screens where enemies can lurk in waiting and valuable flowers or coins can be missed. The levels are generally pretty huge and the emphasis is more on exploration to find flowers, red coins and the new big character coins than just getting to the goal.

Most of the enemies are from the original game and the few new ones, like the crocodile creatures that climb down vines, are not as well drawn or animated and wouldn't look out of place on an old 8-bit game machine.

The sound effects are spot-on, using the additional Shy-guy and Yoshi voices from the GBA version of YI (these were not in the SNES game). The music is a major disappointment. The first game was packed with great catchy tunes, but this version's music is average at best.

This game is a lot tougher then the original. It also lacks the item store from the first game (where you could win stars, eggs and other items in the minigames and keep them until needed). So you can't use these items to top up your star count just before the goal to get that all-important score of 100. If you can get to the goal with 30 stars in the later levels you're a much better gamer than I am.

The first YI is my all-time favourite 2D platform game. And the sequel, while still a great game, just doesn't have the same wow-factor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Yoshi has a good thing going here....just requires a little patience, 1 May 2014
This review is from: Yoshi's Island DS (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Despite starring (Baby) Mario, it plays differently than to the Super Mario series. Whereas the Super Mario series was a perfect example of a platform game designed for quick runs with a few exploratory elements rewarded for those who took the time to explore levels; the focus of this game is a little different. The opposite applies here, the game (once you get past the opening levels) opens out with fantastic exploratory levels and varying abilities which allow further exploration and various bonuses rewarded to those who do. It plays much slower than Mario. There is no time limit, and the health bar is based on a hit and recover system (if you get hit, you have to catch baby mario before he floats away). The speed and pace of the game, arguably, isn't really helpful in breaking into the game.Its a slog basically. Once you get past this though, the game becomes more enjoyable. I'll be truthful when I say that all this considering, makes for a simple game to play in terms of difficulty. For those who do love difficult games won't find the challenge they relish here. The game itself feels very casual to play and isn't demanding.
The Yoshis have the ability to ground pound, swallow enemies (and turn them to eggs), do a 'floating run' mid-air and throw eggs. Further abilities are gathered by rescuing the other babies (Baby Mario allows for a dash ability, Baby Peach allows the ability to float and etc). It helps the game a lot because these can be used to complete small puzzles, to further explore a level or even just to get through a level more easily. The game becomes less of a chore because of this. Controls are fairly easy to get a grip of (and in-game tutorial signs are a help too) and you won't find yourself mis-hitting a button often. The game doesn't really make full use of the DS' dual screens (it might as well have been just one screen). Graphically, the game is nice to look at. Not brilliant compared to what a DS can normally do (it feels straight from the GBA days) and the graphics are similar to those who have played the DS Mario and Luigi games and Super Princess Peach. It feels very cartoony.
Now considering this is a game with an exploratory twist, there wouldn't be much point if there was little reward. The game offers a score for collecting various items (usually coins) throughout the levels and you can pick up a reward depending on how you did. There's even mini-games that can be unlocked in the game (of varying quality).
Who would this game be for? Its tricky to say, its not for hardcore gamers, its too simple. Its not for young children, the pace of the game doesn't allow for that pick up and play factor. It doesn't satiate the easily bored. So who would play this? Platform gaming fans would love this as an alternative to Mario (without straying to far from Mario) and nintendo fans in general would too. Fans of the original might like to see how the game has been updated. I do recommend this game, but don't expect it to open out to you instantly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Yoshi's Island DS (Nintendo DS)
Yoshi's Island DS (Nintendo DS) by Nintendo (Nintendo DS)
Used & New from: £8.85
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews