Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Track to sucess
Played on Windows XP SP3.

My PC is in the shop, so i cracked open this game from my collection. I didnt really have patience or understand the game fully when it was released, so it wasnt on my PC for long. But having been replaying it over the past week, i have learned how to enjoy the game.

The game is based around building up your own train...
Published on 15 Feb. 2010 by Jules

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun diversion
This is a surprisingly fun and addictive little game.

The premise is to build and run a railroad, with the ancillary functions of buying industry and dealing in your company shares. The game itself is a number of scenarios based around this premise each with its own goals and objectives. So a good early one is to build a railroad over the Rocky mountains to...
Published on 4 Feb. 2011 by Dancer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Track to sucess, 15 Feb. 2010
By 
Jules (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Railroad Tycoon 3 (PC CD) (Video Game)
Played on Windows XP SP3.

My PC is in the shop, so i cracked open this game from my collection. I didnt really have patience or understand the game fully when it was released, so it wasnt on my PC for long. But having been replaying it over the past week, i have learned how to enjoy the game.

The game is based around building up your own train company between the 1800's-current day. Like other Tycoon games, as you would expect, you start with a small money budget and you have to then lay train track, and place stations between towns that you can make profit out of. you can build support buisneses to boost\profit from trade, like Hotels, or you can buy/build industrial buildings like Brewerys. Depending on the era, There are different types of trains to buy, also depending on your budget, and all with theyre own pros and cons. Then you can setup routes for your trains, on your tracks, and competition company tracks(which you have to pay them to use).

Every Town has its own needs, and with dozens of commodities, you can make huge profits if you supply the higher/price demand. But while goods are in transit, some perishable commodities will lower in price if it takes your train a long time to haul from point A to point B. But this is just the main part of the game, there is also the financial side, with stocks/shares and bank loans etc.

Your character, as company owner, can buy and sell shares in your, and competatives companies. The prices fluctuate depending on random events or historical events. Using this side of the game, when your company does well you can issue shares for cash, and pump it into your companies coffers to exrend your tracks/locations or invest in industry. Then where shares drop, buy them up, sell high, buy low, you know. Its a very interesting diversion from track matters.

In conclusion, visually it is nice for a Tycoon game, with detailed trains, terrain and buildings etc. The sound is nice, and the chap doing the voice acting is very good. I'm playing this on an old laptop, so the game specs arent demanding, and its enjoyable enough to pass the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun diversion, 4 Feb. 2011
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Railroad Tycoon 3 (PC CD) (Video Game)
This is a surprisingly fun and addictive little game.

The premise is to build and run a railroad, with the ancillary functions of buying industry and dealing in your company shares. The game itself is a number of scenarios based around this premise each with its own goals and objectives. So a good early one is to build a railroad over the Rocky mountains to connect up the two coasts of America - you have to run a profitable business, but the real obstacle is surmounting the tough terrain.

Later harder scenarios have conflicting objectives - generate a ton of electricity and have $25m in industry profits - I lost money on the electricity, so it was damn hard to do both.

By following the tutorial you can be in the thick of the game in minutes, but the instruction manual could give you a better idea how things work in detail for the nitty gritty of later games. Still it's a real giggle, and very satisfying to sit there playing with your choo choo's. There's a ton of scenarios too, and with bronze, silver & gold medals available for completion there's the push to really get the most out of each set of circumstances.

What is in effect a management game won't appeal to everyone, but if that kind of thing floats your boat RT3 is well worth a few quid. As it's an old game with undemanding spec's, it'd be particularly good to stick on a laptop for some casual mucking about on the train into work - see if you can do better!

UPDATE: FYI there's also a free expansion available online called 'Coast to Coast', well worth getting. Just google "RT3 Coast to Coast", download the files, and then copy the contents of the downloaded folders into the folders of the same name in the game on your hard drive. This will give you a number of new (tough) scenarios, extra train types and fixes a few bugs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than the faint praise elsewhere..., 14 July 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Railroad Tycoon 3 (PC CD) (Video Game)
First any review of now (July 2012) or later must take into account that Railway Tycoon 3 is a 2003 game - and nine years is an epoch in computer games.

A word of warning - several different companies have franchises running under the "Tycoon" name - and some have produced very poor games.

Not so Top Pop whose other most famous release is the "Tropico" series.

An opening mention - currently I am playing on a laptop running Windows 7 - and Railway Tycoon 3 runs like a dream on my system.

No reviewer so far has mentioned the introductory movie which is brilliant with a very professional sounding theme song. This really gets you in the mood to play.

Once into the game there's a campaign featuring seventeen scenarios each playable in about one to three hours. There are also about a dozen more scenario games - one offs. There's also a "sandbox" option where you can just build trains and track to your heart's content.

For a nine year old game the graphics are not bad. It's a 3D world and you can either zoom in to appreciate one of your locomotives or zoom out to plan strategically your railway network. There are water features, night and day with dawn and dusk. Graphically other than the train, track, stations, and maintenance buildings there are towns and cities, industrial or farming buildings, and trees. And that's about it. The trees are simple flat foliage intersecting at 90 degree angles but they look realistic enough from a distance. The trains look great though and at the beginning of each scenario where money is limited and you only have one or two trains it's fun just to lock the camera on a locomotive and watch it go about its business.

At first your main concern is connecting two places of a reasonable size by the flattest (and thus cheapest) route available and setting up trains to run between the stations. Where two trains "collide" the train with the lower cargo value "fades out" and returns after the other train has passed. Since train acceleration, particularly in the beginning levels, is very slow congestion can soon hit profits. A huge short term boost in efficiency can be made by "doubling" the track thus allowing, for example, north and south band trains to pass each other without slowing. Your trains default to carrying the most expensive cargo from one station to the next but this can be altered in the menus. Primary choices at the start of the game are where next to add into your network, which trains to buy, and how many wagons on each train. More wagons mean more cargo but slower trains - particularly on steep inclines.

Later you realise that you can check each station to see whether it has an accumulation of passengers heading towards a specific destination requiring a further train. Then you begin to realise where specific cargos can be taken for the greatest profit. Next you work out that if there is an abudance of a raw material in a city you can earn more money by buting or building an industry that uses that commodity. Later scenarios can also involve buying and selling shares and trying to drive your competitors out of business.

At the under £5.00 for which the game is currently selling it's a bargain. Atmospheric and charming, younger children will love building their own railway networks in sandbox, whilst strategy gamers will enjoy the challenges of getting gold medals in the campaign and the scenarios.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars With a fair bit of luck and chance it worked on windows 7 :), 25 Nov. 2013
By 
Mr. M. Baldock (Northern England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Railroad Tycoon 3 (PC CD) (Video Game)
Well,i decided to buy the game knowing it states that the game doesnt work on windows 7(i was prepared to buy an old games laptop just to play this game)
I turned out i didnt have to buy an old laptop after all... :)

This copy of rrt3 is a 2 disc edition,play and install discs...

Firstly i tried to install using the install disc but i was getting knowhere as it just said i didnt have the correct adobe flash and no matter what i did i couldnt get anywhere...

So after feeling rather dissapointed i just for the sake of it put in the play disc.
Turns out it has a mini game called loco-comotion which uses the same graphics as the actual game. The mini game installed 1st time no problem and played fine.
Since the mini game had installed fine i put the install disc back in and went through the folders and just pressed on the setup icon as you do with older games.
I then managed not believing my luck to install the game without any problems and i now play the game happily using the install disc.

Played several scenarios so far and thoroughly enjoying the game :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointment compared with RRT2, 3 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Railroad Tycoon 3 (PC CD) (Video Game)
I bought this on a whim having thought I'd enjoy a few hours playing Railroad Tycoon 2 again, but found I couldn't make it (RRT2) work on Windows 7. Getting RRT3 running on Windows 7 was fine, but the game itself was a disappointment, mainly driven by the 3D interface. The 3D display was less informative than the older version, and finding lucrative industries outside town to connect was harder. Overall, I just didn't get enough satisfaction from playing the game in the first few hours to make me persist with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars RAILROAD TYCOON 3 (PC CD), 29 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Railroad Tycoon 3 (PC CD) (Video Game)
I DO LIKE PLAYING THESE RAILROAD GAMES...
I INSTALLED THIS ONE AND HAD TROUBLE PLAYING WITH IT..
PROBABLY A WINDOWS 7 PROBLEM...SO NOW I WAIT FOR A SOLUTION???
I DID ENJOY THE ORIGINAL RAILROAD TYCOON WHICH RAN PERFECTLY ON WINDOWS XP
EXCELLENT SERVICE AND PROMPT DELIVERY
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very Disappointing, 23 Feb. 2008
By 
Frankums "WildInThePantry" (St Ives, Cambridgeshire, England) - See all my reviews
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Railroad Tycoon 3 (PC CD) (Video Game)
Having played an older, limited scenario version of Railroad Tycoon I was looking forward to upgrading to a full version, with enhanced features. What I found however, was that the good features of the orginal have been heavily diluted, and the additions are all "gimicky" add-ons, like "better" graphics, which are fine for 8 year old kids, but don't do anything for me.

The game is however much easier to get going, and has more automated features (like auto-selection of carriages and wagons) and probably much more suitable for younger train drivers, but if you're an old hack like me, prepare to be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars trains, 11 Dec. 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Railroad Tycoon 3 (PC CD) (Video Game)
Excellent game for those who love trains like my son! When you get with it you feel as if you were driving a train. Beautiful images and very amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars choo choo, 24 Oct. 2012
By 
glover lover (Yeovil England) - See all my reviews
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Railroad Tycoon 3 (PC CD) (Video Game)
An excelent value for money title.I'm surprised the game is fairly old now put still a pleasant enough way to spend a few hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 7 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Railroad Tycoon 3 (PC CD) (Video Game)
love it, addictive mindnumbing fun. still working thru it and i look forward to getting to the rest of the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Railroad Tycoon 3 (PC CD)
Railroad Tycoon 3 (PC CD) by Mastertronic Ltd (Windows 2000 / 98 / Me / XP)
Used & New from: £10.85
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews