Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great follow up to Long Way Round
I bought this as soon as it came out on the strength of enjoying Long Way Round and wasn't disappointed. It follows Charley Boorman and crew on his preparation and participation of the world renowned Dakar rally and shows the struggles and high points of the most dangerous rally in the world. I was impressed by the strength of the whole team especially Simon Pavey and...
Published on 25 Dec. 2006 by redredpoppy

versus
26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as 'Long Way Round' but still an interesting insight to Dakar
I ordered this as soon as it became available on the strength of the fantastic Long Way Round and to learn more about the mysterious Dakar race.

It follows a similar format to LWR with pre-training, on board cameras, daily diaries and some familiar support team faces. The new chaps supporting Charley provide a fresh perspective and some existing Dakar...
Published on 13 Nov. 2006 by C. Timberlake


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting video documentary, 17 Mar. 2013
By 
G. Wilkinson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Race To Dakar [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I love watching adventure videos and this was no exception.
Top action and a good insight into the whole Dakar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The toughest race in the world...., 20 April 2012
By 
P. F. Yardley "Paul" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Race To Dakar [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
If you're going to set yourself a 'biking' challenge then this is it. To compete in thousands of miles of off road desert racing through Africa, on a motorcycle, persued by a hoard of manic racing cars and trucks must rank right at the top of the list. All credit to LWRs Charlie Boorman for being good to his word and taking on this mammoth task.
This seven episode series takes you through from the conception of entering the rally, preparation, departure to the race itself all the way to the finishing line in Dakar.
It's a brilliant tribute and insight into the bravery and madness of everybody concerned with the race as a whole and with some excellent camera work really submerges you into the power and adenaline of the event. The use of helmet cameras with live comentry from the riders, aerial photography, stage end interviews and footage of the support team is all balanced and edited together very well.
In fact one of the most enjoyable parts of the production is the even coverage of all the people involved, from Charlie and his two fellow racing team mates to the crew, camermen etc.
Make no mistake this is as much a motorcycle adventure as LWR and LWD, it differs only as it's an actual race instead a time scheduled trip. The characters of all the participents is brought to the fore, their pain, discomfort, exhaustion and ultimately their total support for each other make this a really authentic study of loyalty, strength and companionship.
For anybody interested in motorsport, especially bikes, this is an excellent behind the scenes documentry of a very dangerous sport and what it is that sets these racers apart. Brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well worth watching, 31 Dec. 2007
This review is from: Race To Dakar [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I bought this having watched Long Way Round and wasn't disappointed, even though the adventure Charley Boorman undertakes here is a lot different.

A really tense, exciting documentary. And you don't even have to be into bikes to enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ouch, that training had to hurt..., 7 Jan. 2008
By 
J. L. Carter - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Race To Dakar [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
The lovable Charlie takes to the wilds once again having opening his mouth during a LWR interview. So you see the man grow into a credible challenger against the wilderness as his skills improve and his mood swings continue.

It can be hard to always have empathy with him when he appears to be a spoilt child, but he does make good in the end, proving that it is definitely the taking part that counts.

I enjoyed this one, it was light weight easy fun in a way that LWR was not. This is a race, not an expedition and it shows the harsh challenges that they face. Yes they are brave, but was Charlie mad to attempt it? You decide at the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the Long Way Round, 26 Mar. 2007
This review is from: Race To Dakar [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Most people will have bought this dvd after watching and enjoying the earlier series with Charley Boorman & Ewan McGregor. This effort is decent, but the charisma wattage of the central character has dimmed considerably in the absence of McGregor. Instead we get to watch Charley Boorman whinge his way around what admittedly comes across as a race which is not for the faint-hearted. It's good, just not as good as its' predecessor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars WELL WORTH A WATCH., 2 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Race To Dakar [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I bought this after watching 'LONG WAY ROUND' of which i really enjoyed. This one is all about CHARLIE BOORMAN and his attempt to do THE DAKAR RALLY. This is i would say the hardest race in the world, where bikes, cars, trucks all compete in a RACE TO DAKAR. It's great to watch and i'm sure if your a biker as i am, you'll love it, but didn't seem to have the same impact as LONG WAY ROUND did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 28 Feb. 2008
This review is from: Race To Dakar [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I really enjoyed this DVD.I love the excitement of dakar.It looked very hard race,but they looked like they had a lot of fun.I like the extras (dakar crashes)And how good looking is nick plumb (yum a licious )If the men in walse look that good I am moving.My heart gos out to andy faimly.Well done charley,And thankyou for making an excellent dakar dvd.I loved it so much I am buying the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good follow on, 18 Jan. 2009
This review is from: Race To Dakar [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
This was a very good follow up to the "long way round" , his style of riding never falters it's a pleasure to see any of his DVDs but this one is quite exceptional,my advice for him is to keep churning them out and rock on.
There's just one criticism could we have a little less of the "f" word please,other than that it was perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent DVD would recommend it to family and friends, 16 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Race To Dakar [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Have wanted to watch this for quite some time and finally managed to get this threw Amazon this is a brilliant program thoroughly enjoyed every second of watching it and I would recommend this to anybody who is a big fan of Charley Boorman
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, but quite familiar style, 10 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Race To Dakar [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
It is filmed in a very similar style to Long Way Round, but isn't quite as good. However, it still is entertaining, and I was glad to know more about what happens in the background of the Dakar, even if it was made out to be bit more dramatic than I would guess it was in reality.

For me the order of quality (from the three I have watched) is as follows :
1) Long Way Round
2) Long Way Down
3) Race To Dakar

If I had known this before buying it, I still would have bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Race To Dakar [DVD] [2006]
Race To Dakar [DVD] [2006] by Various Artists (DVD - 2006)
£16.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews