Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great follow up to Long Way Round
I bought this as soon as it came out on the strength of enjoying Long Way Round and wasn't disappointed. It follows Charley Boorman and crew on his preparation and participation of the world renowned Dakar rally and shows the struggles and high points of the most dangerous rally in the world. I was impressed by the strength of the whole team especially Simon Pavey and...
Published on 25 Dec 2006 by redredpoppy

versus
26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as 'Long Way Round' but still an interesting insight to Dakar
I ordered this as soon as it became available on the strength of the fantastic Long Way Round and to learn more about the mysterious Dakar race.

It follows a similar format to LWR with pre-training, on board cameras, daily diaries and some familiar support team faces. The new chaps supporting Charley provide a fresh perspective and some existing Dakar...
Published on 13 Nov 2006 by C. Timberlake


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great follow up to Long Way Round, 25 Dec 2006
By 
redredpoppy (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Race To Dakar [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I bought this as soon as it came out on the strength of enjoying Long Way Round and wasn't disappointed. It follows Charley Boorman and crew on his preparation and participation of the world renowned Dakar rally and shows the struggles and high points of the most dangerous rally in the world. I was impressed by the strength of the whole team especially Simon Pavey and Patsy Quick who had great mental strength. Even though it lacks the Ewan McGregor element it proves that Charlie can do a great series without him and he is highly entertaining. It also made me realise that this wasn't simply a silver spoon actor following a whim but a serious challenge and as they reach the final stages it almost brough a tear to my eye.

The only down side to this DVD is that I've watched it and have to wait for the next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good honest TV., 28 Nov 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Race To Dakar [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Highly watchable and fascinating. Far less jokey and fun than LWR, but properly so; this is a seriously punishing race, and the series conveys astonishingly well the anguish and hurt involved, and we glimpse the irrational but intoxicating spirit that drives these people on day after day.. Boorman carries the series well, and to his immense credit doesn't dominate; his support team are all given their fair dues, we share their journey as well. A worthy piece of viewing; unfortunately it probably falls too far in the shadow of LWR, but then again so will the recently announced Ewan and Charlie "Long Way Down".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as 'Long Way Round' but still an interesting insight to Dakar, 13 Nov 2006
By 
C. Timberlake (Bristol) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Race To Dakar [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I ordered this as soon as it became available on the strength of the fantastic Long Way Round and to learn more about the mysterious Dakar race.

It follows a similar format to LWR with pre-training, on board cameras, daily diaries and some familiar support team faces. The new chaps supporting Charley provide a fresh perspective and some existing Dakar experience.

What's good is the insight into the prep needed; the landscapes they tear through; the relationships between all the players - trucks, cars and bikes (beware the feared 'beep' 'beep') and the general hardship endured. There are a few surprises / nasties along the way adding to the gritty drama.

As Charleys' story unfolds you get to see perhaps another side of the man and the viewer will need to decide themselves whether this adds or not to the experience...

Definately worth a view in you are into your bikes or adventure but similarly definately not LWR.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good adventure story, 5 Jan 2007
This review is from: Race To Dakar [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
knowing how this ended (I won't spoil it for you!) before watching and being a big fan of long way round I had low expectations of this video, but having just finished it - I thoroughly enjoyed it. I had to keep reminding myself that Charlie is an actor, and you have to question how much is actually staged. Eg the camera is running in the production office exactly when the phone rings from Africa ? Maybee? The other slight irritation was Ewan MacGregor poping up to keep kissing Charlie although he didn't seem to have any role other than star power. The main story though portrays how much preparation (and cost) needs to go into something like this, and how incredibly hard and brutal the rally is. Like bikes and adventure - recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow - What An Adventure, 2 Jan 2007
By 
S. Finlay (Birmingham, West Midlands United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Race To Dakar [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
An account of how dreams become a reality. It shows that you really can try and do something significantly outside of your comfort zone. It shows all the preparations and the Lisbon-Dakar journey itself through the eyes of Charley and his two other partner riders, as well as their back up team. You get the a true sense that you are with them - going through their highs and their lows. You see just how dangerous this event is. I know nothing about motorbikes, but found the DVD just as rivetting as Long Way Round. Whilst Charley and all the other contestants might all be crazy, they all deserve our utmost respect!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 22 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Race To Dakar [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Considering I am not a bike or car person I really enjoyed this..... Bought it for Christmas for my Fiance and he adored it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The side of Dakar they don't want you to see, 21 Oct 2007
This review is from: Race To Dakar [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
This DVD will be judged against Long Way Down and in many ways unfairly so. It's the same production team, same cameraman, one of the 'cast', same music etc... On the other hand it's a very different subject (a 16 day race instead of a 4 month adventure). To wrap up the comparisons, Long Way Round is for anyone who longs for epic adventures, Motorbike fan or no. Race To Dakar is for the off road fanatic.

I had seen parts of the Dakar rally on TV numerous times, but there's nothing like this on a sports channel. Charlie Boorman attempts the hardest race in the world with two other riders and a support team. Throughout the show you realise how this race is a living hell and my opinion of the rally is now extremely low.

The DVD shows you how the rally has no respect for the life or wealthfare of the participants or the lives of the people who live on the course. Riders are killed or left without money and transport in foriegn countries and spectators killed.

This is a huge eye opening DVD and though the participants who make it have acheived something huge I think there are far better ways to get your kicks. I would be very disappointed if Charley were to attempt it again now he's seen it and shown us it first hand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but lacking some charisma, 25 July 2007
By 
J. Reeve (Bristol, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Race To Dakar [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
This is an worthwhile follow up to Long Way Round. Even as a non-motorcyclist this keeps me interested, but it is lacking the energy and entertainment value of LWR. Partly this is due to the fact that it is not as 'matey' an adventure, and also the lack of music compared to LWR leaves the programme feeling flat. A soundtrack of great tunes would certainly have helped.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting video documentary, 17 Mar 2013
By 
G. Wilkinson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Race To Dakar [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I love watching adventure videos and this was no exception.
Top action and a good insight into the whole Dakar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The toughest race in the world...., 20 April 2012
By 
P. F. Yardley "Paul" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Race To Dakar [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
If you're going to set yourself a 'biking' challenge then this is it. To compete in thousands of miles of off road desert racing through Africa, on a motorcycle, persued by a hoard of manic racing cars and trucks must rank right at the top of the list. All credit to LWRs Charlie Boorman for being good to his word and taking on this mammoth task.
This seven episode series takes you through from the conception of entering the rally, preparation, departure to the race itself all the way to the finishing line in Dakar.
It's a brilliant tribute and insight into the bravery and madness of everybody concerned with the race as a whole and with some excellent camera work really submerges you into the power and adenaline of the event. The use of helmet cameras with live comentry from the riders, aerial photography, stage end interviews and footage of the support team is all balanced and edited together very well.
In fact one of the most enjoyable parts of the production is the even coverage of all the people involved, from Charlie and his two fellow racing team mates to the crew, camermen etc.
Make no mistake this is as much a motorcycle adventure as LWR and LWD, it differs only as it's an actual race instead a time scheduled trip. The characters of all the participents is brought to the fore, their pain, discomfort, exhaustion and ultimately their total support for each other make this a really authentic study of loyalty, strength and companionship.
For anybody interested in motorsport, especially bikes, this is an excellent behind the scenes documentry of a very dangerous sport and what it is that sets these racers apart. Brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Race To Dakar [DVD] [2006]
Race To Dakar [DVD] [2006] by Various Artists (DVD - 2006)
14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews