Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Takes only a couple of listens to love it......
I have to say based on some of the reviews I was a bit apprehensive about shelling out for Mr B's latest effort. Out of the Cradle is one of my favourite albums and I was afraid the near 15 year wait might be a real anti-climax. However being a bit of a Mac/Buckingham completist and a lover of soulful Lindsey as opposed to guitar haze Lindsey it took me no more than...
Published on 24 Mar. 2007 by Mrs Mac

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Under the Skin
Have to agree with Liam Keen about this offering from Lindsey.

Lindsey is such a great songwriter but always seems to give his best stuff to Fleetwood Mac although 'Out of the Cradle' was a fine solo album.

This album never seems to get going and although i really like the Rolling Stones cover of 'I am Waiting' the rest is ok but not great...
Published on 9 Oct. 2006 by T. Hall


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Takes only a couple of listens to love it......, 24 Mar. 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Under The Skin (Audio CD)
I have to say based on some of the reviews I was a bit apprehensive about shelling out for Mr B's latest effort. Out of the Cradle is one of my favourite albums and I was afraid the near 15 year wait might be a real anti-climax. However being a bit of a Mac/Buckingham completist and a lover of soulful Lindsey as opposed to guitar haze Lindsey it took me no more than about two plays to fall in love with several tracks on this album. More than that there isn't one track I don't like. Just as OOTC had moved on from Go Insane this is a further matured Lindsey and none the worse for it. Glad you are back LB - just don't make it another 15 years next time!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Patience is a virtue with this CD!, 17 Oct. 2006
By 
A. Mills (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Under The Skin (Audio CD)
I can understand some of the reviews of this album, when I first listened I felt it was something of an anti-climax, given its mellow and often quite dark sound, together with the greatness of Out of the Cradle and the 14 years of waiting. However since I am a massive fan of Fleetwood Mac I persisted with it and now I think overall its brilliant. Its certainly different, not that Im saying this always equals quality, but the creative genius that is Lindsey Buckingham has been on a constant mission to stand out from the crowd even if it ultimately works against him. For this reason I think this CD deserves a chance and with a little patience I can almost guarantee it will grow on you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Visionary, 14 Oct. 2006
By 
This review is from: Under The Skin (Audio CD)
I ordered this album and revieved it yestrday and before i recieved it i read alot of reviews about the album. All the reviews i read were very negative. Im here to prove everybody wrong. This album is amazing and its great to see lindsey Buckingham back again with some more of his own work. The songs on this album are very different from his last album 'Out of the Cradle' in that they are all done on an acoustic guitar. The songs are very powerful and inspirational and anybody who loves out of the cradle as much as i do will appreciate and enjoy this album. Im looking forward to hearing alot more from Lindsey Buckingham in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gets Under Your Skin, 12 Oct. 2006
By 
Neil C (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Under The Skin (Audio CD)
This is a great CD. It's beautiful, understated, acoustic and dreamy with some wonderful catchy songs and some excellent vocals, guitar work and production - my favourite tracks are the cover of the Stones 'I Am Waiting', and his own 'Cast Away Dreams' and 'Someone's Gotta Change Your Mind', but really there are no weak tracks here. And it certainly rewards repeated listenings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 20 May 2007
By 
Ian Tandy - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Under The Skin (Audio CD)
Unfortunately whenever a member of a much loved band makes a solo record there are always going to be negative reviews from those who buy the cd expecting to hear the same sound as their beloved band. Of course the reason why artists such as Mr. Buckingham make solo records is so that they can express themselves outside the confines of the band. This release is full of beautifully crafted songs delivered with interesting use of reverb and layoring of sound to create a warm and lush environment. The album is critically acclaimed for good reason. Give it a try and make your own minds up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's good, very good. But not without fault...., 17 Oct. 2006
By 
Dm Blackwell "Dazmb" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Under The Skin (Audio CD)
It's not an acoustic album like a typical singer/songwriter's album with 10 + songs of slow paced droning and depressing dirge! It's a 'produced' acoustic album, saying that it has multi-layered vocals and guitars with studio effects added to give depth. Their is a bit of percussion on 4 or 5 of the tracks too. All the songs have energy and are strong except 'Shut Us Down' which is a filler IMHO.

All the songs have LB's trademark awesome finger picking guitar playing on them - he's one of the worlds great guitarist's. The songs are more eclectic than you would hear on a Mac album. But Lindsay's solo stuff is always more experimental, and solo he puts out the music he can't with Mac.

So, to sum up it's a must for any LB/Mac fan and any lover of well crafted songs. For a more casual listener possibly not. For these people I would say if you have £10 to spend on a Lindsey Buckingham item then get the TRULY AWESOME 'Soundstage DVD'.

In fact my biggest complaint about the album is that he has changed the arrangements and production for the album - sadly to the detrement IMO as the DVD versions are all better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super Return of Mr Buckingham, 5 Aug. 2007
This review is from: Under The Skin (Audio CD)
So Lindsey finally managed to get his follow up to 1992's Out Of The Cradle recorded after being sidelined by two Fleetwood Mac projects (The Dance & Say You Will). And what a great album it is, so out of left field for Lindsey to record a predominately acoustic album, there are some priceless gems on this album from "Castaway Dreams" to "Under The Skin" and "Down On Rodeo". Can't wait for the rumoured rock influenced follow-up in 2007/08. Now all Lindsey needs to do is too extend the the magnificent solo tour to promote Under The Skin over to Europe and the UK. Overall a fantastic progression from Law and Order to Go Insane to Out Of The Cradle and now Under The Skin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Under the Skin, 9 Oct. 2006
By 
T. Hall "Tel" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Under The Skin (Audio CD)
Have to agree with Liam Keen about this offering from Lindsey.

Lindsey is such a great songwriter but always seems to give his best stuff to Fleetwood Mac although 'Out of the Cradle' was a fine solo album.

This album never seems to get going and although i really like the Rolling Stones cover of 'I am Waiting' the rest is ok but not great.

When you know what Buckingham is capable of doing you feel slightly let down after hearing this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 19 Oct. 2006
This review is from: Under The Skin (Audio CD)
Every track is unique and brilliantly crafted. Down on Rodeo takes you on a journey, and is certainly my favourite. It is simply a brilliant album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars First solo album in 15 years from LB, 10 Oct. 2006
By 
Mr. C. R. Demetrius (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Under The Skin (Audio CD)
I have to disagree with the last review. This is exactly what I expected from Lindsey, as this has been billed as an acousrtic album. If it's a rock album you want, you only have to wait until next year and he is releasing an album of electic songs with solos etc. Under The Skin is a captivating album and rather minimalist for Lindsey. If you like the acoustic Big Love and Go Insane Lindsey, then this is for you. The new single Show You How is as catchy as anything from the halcyon days of Mac. The title track and Say You Will outtake Down on Rodeo are both standout songs on this captivating album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Under The Skin
Under The Skin by Lindsey Buckingham (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews