Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Family film is more radical than it seems
In "Hoot", a new kid arrives to Florida from Montana. He first faces the usual problems of blending in and dealing with the local bully. Soon, though, he becomes aware of a bigger problem: a franchise restaurant chain is trying to build a site in the town, right where a number of burrowing owls live. This movie has the look of a family film, but it is pretty more radical...
Published on 10 Aug 2008 by Andres C. Salama

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Should have been better, but it IS for the kids...........
Being a fan of Carl Hiaasien, who wrote the original book, and of Jimmy Buffett, who produced, scored and cameo'd in it, I was looking forward to this. I must admit, it disappointed me a little,but then I was watching it with adult eyes.

At its heart this is a film aimed squarely at children, and its central enviromental protection theme should be applauded...
Published on 29 Dec 2006 by Dino Amore'


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Should have been better, but it IS for the kids..........., 29 Dec 2006
This review is from: Hoot [DVD] (DVD)
Being a fan of Carl Hiaasien, who wrote the original book, and of Jimmy Buffett, who produced, scored and cameo'd in it, I was looking forward to this. I must admit, it disappointed me a little,but then I was watching it with adult eyes.

At its heart this is a film aimed squarely at children, and its central enviromental protection theme should be applauded. Yes, it is simplistic, but the animals are cute, the young leads all fill the roles well, and the real star of the film is the Florida scenery which is stunning.

The owls do only appear a couple of times, but the extras on the dvd are excellent, and include several features on the burrowing owls, efforts to protect them, the work of rescue centres, and so on.

A good family film, who's heart is definitely in the right place. If it makes one person interested in enviromental affairs, its done its job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Family film is more radical than it seems, 10 Aug 2008
By 
Andres C. Salama (Buenos Aires, Argentina) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hoot [DVD] (DVD)
In "Hoot", a new kid arrives to Florida from Montana. He first faces the usual problems of blending in and dealing with the local bully. Soon, though, he becomes aware of a bigger problem: a franchise restaurant chain is trying to build a site in the town, right where a number of burrowing owls live. This movie has the look of a family film, but it is pretty more radical than it seems, as it shows sympathetically how Roy and a couple of friends do not shy away from lawbreaking (including vandalism of private property and briefly kidnapping the manager of the chain of restaurants) in the name of environmentalism (to save owls, no less). Now, one might agree or not with those actions, but at least the movie has the courage from not shying away from its convictions. A good, solid film, all in all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Good Family Movie, 11 Nov 2008
By 
Su (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hoot [DVD] (DVD)
Firstly I must admit I purchased this (along with the book) to help with my godson's study report. I didn't expect much from it, especially considering the size and quality of the book. I thought it would be the usual trash that companies kick out for students to watch in class. I was so wrong.

It's a nicely done family movie predominately about two young boys: Mullet Fingers (played by Cody Linley) and new-kid-in-town Roy Eberhardt (Logan Lerman).

Roy is being beaten up on the school bus by bully Dana (Eric Phillips) when he sees a bare footed boy running next to the bus. He gets away from the bully (by breaking his nose) and decides to follow the boy.

Over the first part of the film we watch Roy trying to make friends with the misfit Mullet Fingers, who turns out to be a runaway. Then the second part of the film shows the attempts to save these cute little burrowing owls.

It's a film about family, friendship and the environment. On the plus side the film manages not shove the environmental issues of development and loss of habitat in the viewers face, like some other films do. It's subtlety may well be lost on some, but it is nice not to feel preached at.

It is a film that we will be watching again, on those afternoons when there is nothing on tv.

Unexpectedly, this film is significantly better then the book.

The film manages to pad out the 39 page, large print, children's book, to make the story much more convincing and enjoyable; and the actors (even though they are so young) bring a believeability and depth to the characters that is missing in the book. Together this makes the whole story much more fulfilling than the book.

For once we have a plethera of extras, including commentary, subtitles and several "making of" documentary shorts.

In my opinion this is a good film, and well worth the time, school study or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hoot Hoot!, 7 May 2014
By 
Newt Beaumont - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hoot [DVD] (DVD)
Up until a few weeks ago I had never heard of this film or book before. But after watching Percy Jackson a few weeks ago & noticing how good an actor Logan Lerman is I decided to buy another of his films and Hoot was the one I picked.

It might sound a boring film when you think about it "3 kids trying to save owls" but please trust me, it is really a great film. Logan's acting is amazing as always & I really would recommend this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Basically a kids film, 4 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hoot [DVD] (DVD)
But viewable by all the family. It has a strong environmentalalist theme and Clark Gregg portrays the baddie really well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really funny film, 4 Jan 2012
This review is from: Hoot [DVD] (DVD)
It was very funny and had lots of cute owls, it has been watched over and over. Well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST MOVIE OF 2006 DO NOT SAY IS CRAP BECAUSE IT IS NOT, 31 Dec 2007
By 
D. J. Collins "musicmad" (wolverhampton , uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hoot [DVD] (DVD)
Hey excuse me people but this is a great film i read the book first for a english school project the book was rubbish, i dident like it has much as the film becuase the book was plain.

the fil well the film was good i enjoed it better than reading the stupid book we did a 6-8 week prject on this one paticular thing. it was a fun project at the end of the topic we watched the film at school it was awesome i enjoed the last 2 lessons on it.

its a awesome film,
and stupid people cant see it,
the actors are grea
LOGANN LERMAN IS HOT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars One of the worst films of 2006 - almost unwatchable., 18 Aug 2006
This review is from: Hoot [DVD] (DVD)
If viewers rent this movie to see the cute, adorable burrowing owls, they are in for a real disappointment, as the owls only appear briefly in two scenes. The rest of the film is a bland mish-mash of environmental consciousness and silly plot points. And there's not much that rings true, especially when the central conceit of the movie is the implausible idea of building a pancake house in the middle of a tropical forest.

Pretending to skewer the greed of land developers and big corporations, Hoot centers in Roy Eberhardt (Logan Lerman) who is wrenched from Montana ranch country when his dad is transferred once again, this time to small-town Florida. Roy has a bit of a hard time fitting in to the local scene; relentlessly bullied by the class idiot he's rescued by the tough Beatrice (Brie Larsen), star of the girl's soccer team.

Roy soon discovers that Beatrice has a connection to a mysterious sprinting nature-boy known as Mullet Fingers (Cody Linley), whose mission, should Roy choose to accept his part in it, is to sabotage the pancake house construction site, the future home of Mother Paula's All-American Pancake House, which is actually the refuge of a collection of burrowing owls.

The dopey contractor Curly (Tim Blake Nelson) can't get ahead on construction because vandals keep pulling up his surveying stakes and the even stupider Officer Dan Delinko (Luke Wilson) is assigned to catch the vandal or vandals who step up their opposition to Mother Paula's by putting alligators in the site's portable toilets.

It doesn't take much imagination to figure out that the kids are going to triumph over the nasty pancake developer (Clark Gregg) and what looked good on paper - the movie is based on Carl Hiaasen's book - doesn't necessarily transfer well to the screen. Wilson's character is the funniest and most interesting and the only scene of real interest is when he falls asleep in his squad car only waking to find all the windows spray-painted black and has to get around in a vehicle that looks like a golf cart.

The film as a whole is insipid and sloppily directed, the actors - particularly the teenagers are unmemorable and the action is just too precious for words. We never really find out why characters do what they do and their dialogue is dreadfully artificial, and their back-stories are too absurd for words. The errant subplots go nowhere and the movie has an episodic TV quality that is so pronounced, it's almost embarrassing to watch.

Admittedly the owls are cute, but if you blink you'll miss them. I really had to struggle to get through this film and if the burrowing owls and other susceptible species in southern Florida have to depend on movies like this to raise public compassion and understanding, they really are in trouble. Give this one a big miss. Mike Leonard August 06.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Watchable, 22 Feb 2007
This review is from: Hoot [DVD] (DVD)
I read Carl Hiaasen's book before i watched the film. The book was 10 times better. I suppose this film is OK. The kids' acting is not spectacular and their cuteness and American accents annoyed me. For me, it was too much 'cute little kids, with cute accents, living in a cute town, going on a cute little adventure to save the cute little baby owls.' The book wasn't like that at all. Otherwise it was quite good.

Luke Wilson was fairly entertaining, and the message was a good one.

Harmless entertainment for kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hoot [DVD]
Hoot [DVD] by Wil Shriner (DVD - 2006)
4.88
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews