Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


107 of 110 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SO...REALLY...COOL!!!
If you love the original classic 80's 'Transformers' then this box-set is definitely for you! This is the largest box-set of anything that I have ever purchased in my whole life and it was well and truly worth every single penny.

This 'Complete Generation One Collection' is true to it's word and contains EVERY SINGLE EPISODE from the original classic...
Published on 25 Nov 2006 by M.F

versus
0 of 33 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish
The quality of animation on this series is poor, even by 1980s standards. There are also an awful lot of continuity errors - it's like they had to churn something out to sell the toys, but the quality didn't matter.

If you like OTT storylines, poor animation, plots that make no sense and dramatic music, you'll like this. Everyone else should spend their £70...
Published on 16 Jan 2009 by G. Slevin


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Transform and roll out!, 9 May 2009
By 
Sean Kelleher (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Transformers: The Complete Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
For those who watched the original Transformers cartoon back in the day, then this entire boxset is a must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun, no-nonsense entertainment, a bit baffling at times, 23 Feb 2009
By 
Michael Ward (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Transformers: The Complete Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Transformers G1, its the original full series!

I mostly enjoyed G1, particulary the first and first part of the second season. Its a no nonsense show promoting almost non stop action of some kind. Its a show when you can just sit back and watch and pretend your young again which is what I think it is best at.

I got a bit lost in the latter half of the second part of season two and the third series when lots amounts of new characters were introduced. My head exploded in season four.

However, having watched Transformers Beast Wars before this, I could not help notice plenty of flaws when the greater scheme is revealed. There are plenty of animation errors, paradoxes and general sillyness although some of them are amusing.

So in summary, it does what it says on the tin really, all out action but there is little else to be had from this classic peice of TV history. Those looking for a bit more from their cartoons should look at Beast Wars out of the Transformers series although it is not currently available in PAL format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great show. Shame about the packaging., 9 April 2009
By 
Mr. David Peyton (Dublin, Dublin Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Transformers: The Complete Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
As I look at this collection on my bookshelf now the only thing that bugs me about this item is the packaging. There's 12 DVDs in the set, but did it really necessitate having 12 FULL SIZE standard DVD boxes to hold them in?

By comparison I bought the X-Files complete series around the same time (I only mention because it sits beside this TF on my shelf). It takes up rougly the same area as TF and yet it managed to fit *61* discs into a package the same size. Likewise The Wire collection that I have which managed to fit 24 discs into a package the size of 5 standard DVD cases. You'd think the TF people could have used a little imagination when it came to putting this set together? Can't help feel that they could have made this package a quarter of the size with just a little bit of thought.

Great show anyway. Brings back a lot of good memories. Just a pity about the lazy packaging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Transformers cartoon, 21 Dec 2008
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Transformers: The Complete Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
I got this box set for my birthday and i have had no problems with it all the discs where there and they all played perfectly my only complaints are that the quality of episodes and the movie was not as good as i thort but if your a transformers fan of if you just like classic cartoons the is box set is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Oct 2014
This review is from: Transformers: The Complete Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 33 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish, 16 Jan 2009
By 
G. Slevin (Kent, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Transformers: The Complete Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
The quality of animation on this series is poor, even by 1980s standards. There are also an awful lot of continuity errors - it's like they had to churn something out to sell the toys, but the quality didn't matter.

If you like OTT storylines, poor animation, plots that make no sense and dramatic music, you'll like this. Everyone else should spend their £70 on something else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Transformers: The Complete Box Set [DVD]
Used & New from: £56.75
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews