Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great series
Never having heard the radio programme or read the books, this series stands well on its own. Tiniswood takes characters who we actually find irritating, but constructs stories and interactions which keep them entertaining instead of just thinking how flawed the personas are.

I liked the combination of Stephen Rhea/Anita Carey as Carter and Pat-- Rhea is such...
Published on 31 Jan. 2009 by J. Kelley

versus
25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Last of the summer wine" without the boredom
Although it is a bit dated and slow, and not half as good as the books that Tinniswood based it on, this is good mordant northern humour with the excellent Liz Smith and the late Robin Bailey as elder members of an extended family, and a clever script. For Tinniswood the sexes have more in common with themselves than each other, and we're never so happy as when we're...
Published on 16 May 2007 by barbicandy


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great series, 31 Jan. 2009
By 
J. Kelley "dahozho" (Mid-Atlantic coast) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Didn't Know You Cared: The Complete Series (Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
Never having heard the radio programme or read the books, this series stands well on its own. Tiniswood takes characters who we actually find irritating, but constructs stories and interactions which keep them entertaining instead of just thinking how flawed the personas are.

I liked the combination of Stephen Rhea/Anita Carey as Carter and Pat-- Rhea is such a fine character actor. I wasn't sure about the second pair as Carter and Pat, but the second Pat is good at showing a bit more temper, and Kevin (?) is a good physical comedian. I wish they'dve let him do a bit more on that line, but its not really that sort of series.

For Season 4, the actor replacing Bert Palmer as Uncle Stavely is just, well, awful. It was distracting-- I kept finding myself thinking, geez, is THIS the best replacement they could find? every time he opened his mouth. I'm all for actors making the role their own, but not in this case-- he should have been encouraged to use Palmer's approach, instead of smirking at all times and his timing was just not there. Thankfully, its only one season.

Another great northern comedy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "I 'eard that! Pardon?", 18 Nov. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Didn't Know You Cared: The Complete Series (Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
This was the battle cry of Uncle Stavely, one of the weird and wonderful Brandon family. It is a great watch if you like off beat, slightly morose sitcoms.
It showed the lives and trials of an extended Northern family. The central character has to be the utterly pessimistic Uncle Mort, played by the salubrious Robin Bailey. His sister Annie, played by The wonderful Liz Smith and her long suffering husband Les (John Comer - Sid of Sid's Cafe, Last Of The Summer Wine) argue to the last.

You groan whilst you laughing. They are fab.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia trip, 19 April 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Didn't Know You Cared: The Complete Series (Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
I remember when this was on TV and I saw the first 2 series. I did not miss much as, as after series 2, it seems to run out of steam a bit with all the cast changes etc but worth buying just for the first 2 series. Robin Bailey was a gem. I agree with a previous reviewer about the second Uncle Staveley - would have been better to have dispensed with the character
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Acquired taste?, 14 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Didn't Know You Cared: The Complete Series (Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
One of the few quality comedy series not to be subject to extensive repeats on TV - and more's the pity!
Perhaps it was not PC enough for modern tastes, but that makes it a classic.
Who can not identify with character Uncle Mort, who when asked what he wants for a meal responds "nowt that will mask the taste of brown sauce".
Tinniswood at his very best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I didn't khow you cared, 7 Feb. 2009
By 
C. F. Carron (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Didn't Know You Cared: The Complete Series (Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
This took me back to the time of the series,It is as fresh now as then, the acting was superb, and the humour although not of the belly aching variety certainly was sharp and thoroughly enjoyable, a really good buy if you are of the age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aye well mmm!, 23 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Didn't Know You Cared: The Complete Series (Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
Really funny to see this again after all these years - it is apparent that the comedy wasn't as fast / full on as it is now, you have to wait for the laughs. Some cracking one liners in there though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Last of the summer wine" without the boredom, 16 May 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Didn't Know You Cared: The Complete Series (Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
Although it is a bit dated and slow, and not half as good as the books that Tinniswood based it on, this is good mordant northern humour with the excellent Liz Smith and the late Robin Bailey as elder members of an extended family, and a clever script. For Tinniswood the sexes have more in common with themselves than each other, and we're never so happy as when we're really miserable. The young couple are Stephen Rea (later in "V for Vendetta") and Anita Carey (who did end up in "Last of the summer wine").
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love, 13 April 2014
By 
Patricia Blissett (USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Didn't Know You Cared: The Complete Series (Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
This a very funny series one about families with different ways of looking a life.
I love John Comer and Robin Bailey everyone in this series they carry their parts very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The First Two Series ARe Very Funny. Sadly the later ones are not., 3 Mar. 2015
By 
steve b (Dudley England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Didn't Know You Cared: The Complete Series (Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
IT is fair to say that if the whole series had been up to the standard of the first two then I would have given it five stars. Sadly it is not. That being said the first two series are some of the best comedy ever produced by the BBC. Very Northern, very seventies it concerns the Brandon household, father Les, mother Annie, son Carter, his wife/girlfriend Pat, various relations including the three great aunts from Glossop and above all Uncle Mort (Robin Bailey) one of the great English Comic creations. Uncle Mort is a confirmed man's man, sometimes even unable to remember his late wife's name. He likes nothing better to escape to his allotment where he has a railway carriage instead of a shed. Here he can drink tea out of a tin mug,listen to the shipping forecast and reminisce about how much better the world was in his youth. In this he is usually added by both Les and Carter, who is a younger version of his uncle. Daft it may be but it is also very funny. Recalling making love to an ugly woman and challenged why he did it Mort's reply is 'to see if it's the same as with a pretty women' He decides it is 'better than Whippet racing but not a good as bowls.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Underrated SitCom, 8 Feb. 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Didn't Know You Cared: The Complete Series (Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
'I Didn't Know You Cared' ran on BBC1 in the late 1970's, and was written bt Peter Tinneswood. It was a vastly underrated sitcom full of sharp lines and surreal northern humour akin to 'Brass'. IDKYC created the wonderful character of Uncle Mort, played by Robin Bailey. Look out for Liz Smith & John Comer as well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

I Didn't Know You Cared: The Complete Series (Box Set) [DVD]
£34.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews