Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


57 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A FANTASTIC LITTLE PORTABLE RADIO
I work outside daily, stonewalling, brickwork etc & having tested to destruction many portable radios over the years I can honestly say this is the best little radio I have ever had.
First off ignore the daft little light? the strange personal alarm button? & the winder (it works but not for long & only if you are desperate ie working in the hills with no batteries)...
Published on 14 Feb. 2010 by JB.

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A great disappointment.
I'm glad I didn't do this review soon after the purchase because it would undeservedly have been given a far higher rating.
At the beginning I was delighted with it, and gloatingly showed it off to friends. The only criticism at the time was of the awful distortion that comes in at anything above a low volume setting.
But it was a lovely little thing and it had...
Published 9 months ago by Michael Hart


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

57 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A FANTASTIC LITTLE PORTABLE RADIO, 14 Feb. 2010
By 
JB. (Manchester.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Roberts Radio R9957 Wanderer Multi Powered Wind Up Radio (Electronics)
I work outside daily, stonewalling, brickwork etc & having tested to destruction many portable radios over the years I can honestly say this is the best little radio I have ever had.
First off ignore the daft little light? the strange personal alarm button? & the winder (it works but not for long & only if you are desperate ie working in the hills with no batteries) just pop in 2 good quality AA batteries & they seem to last for ever,
This little radio has been left out in all weathers, fallen of walls, vans & scaffold, dropped in a bucket of water (honest), lost its battery cover, lost its tuning knob, lost its volume knob (both broke off in various falls) & generally abused over the last few years but its still going strong & I have tried replacing it with various modern radios but keep going back to this one bacause of the battery life & the clarity of the speaker.
I now have gaffer tape over the batteries & tune it with the end of a nail, adjust the volume by putting a cloth over the speaker & switch it of by switching it from battery to dynamo,
I have tried DAB but battery life is to short & other small portables but I cant find anything as good as this,
its a bit expensive to start with but if you look after it a bit better than mine it should last forever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best little portable radio, 20 Dec. 2012
By 
This review is from: Roberts Radio R9957 Wanderer Multi Powered Wind Up Radio (Electronics)
I used this radio nearly everyday for over 5 years until the volume knob got smashed off in a fall.

It's just a great little radio - 2 AA batteries last well over 100 hours so you only need the wind up facility in emergencies. The sound is just fine, not too tinny, not too bassy - easily useable as a daily kitchen radio.

There aren't many good quaility small analogue radios on the market anymore, this is one of the few remaining.

Roberts made some really bad modern dab radios (gemini 25 was rubbish) but with the basics they are quality and this radio proves it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sound and solid, 22 Aug. 2013
By 
J. Morton (Hartlepool, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roberts Radio R9957 Wanderer Multi Powered Wind Up Radio (Electronics)
This is a very good radio - although not cheap. Although it can use batteries I have only used so far by winding it up and using the dynamo option - it holds its charge quite well, and as long as you don't mind winding it up for around a minute every 40 minutes or so it does the job.
Good sound and reception - very well made and nicely compact - a good all-round product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 11 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roberts Radio R9957 Wanderer Multi Powered Wind Up Radio (Electronics)
Not particularly high tech - it has manual tuning- but picks up all the stations we need and has excellent sound quality. Its been used in the garden and has already been rained on, with no effect. It worked right out of the box and has been running on its internal battery, we haven't bothered putting in the extra batteries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars well built good quality, 6 Oct. 2013
This review is from: Roberts Radio R9957 Wanderer Multi Powered Wind Up Radio (Electronics)
I Have Had A Few Wind Up Radios And I Must Say The Build Quality Is What You Would Expect From Roberts , Great Sound For A Small Radio Only Thing Is Come On Roberts You Should Include The Mains Adaptor Which I PurchaseD Seperatley
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A great disappointment., 30 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roberts Radio R9957 Wanderer Multi Powered Wind Up Radio (Electronics)
I'm glad I didn't do this review soon after the purchase because it would undeservedly have been given a far higher rating.
At the beginning I was delighted with it, and gloatingly showed it off to friends. The only criticism at the time was of the awful distortion that comes in at anything above a low volume setting.
But it was a lovely little thing and it had a lot going for it - good tuning performance and reception, good sound quality - albeit at a low volume, nice and neat styling, compactness, and an apparently decent build quality.
BUT NOW, at exactly a month old, and infrequently used, the dynamo battery won’t hold a charge longer than four or five minutes, even after more than a minute's cranking.
As other reviewers have made the just the same negative comments about this radio I am sending it back to Amazon tomorrow for a refund, not for a replacement.
I will buy instead a small portable, most likely one that uses rechargeable batteries. It won’t be a Roberts, though. Over the years I had considered it to be a rather overrated brand and this experience has confirmed my suspicions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roberts Radio, 16 May 2013
By 
Isobel B. Wroblewski "baltimore" (fife , scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roberts Radio R9957 Wanderer Multi Powered Wind Up Radio (Electronics)
Brilliant radio, has space for a battery, runs on just windup, locks on to radio stations and doesn't drift, simply brilliant , and a nice shape
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars We were very pleased when we first received this item to the extent ..., 16 July 2014
By 
J. Holman (Dorset, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roberts Radio R9957 Wanderer Multi Powered Wind Up Radio (Electronics)
We were very pleased when we first received this item to the extent that we were telling all our friends what a great piece of kit it was. But alas, after a couple of months or so it would no longer hold it's charge. I have contacted Roberts to inform them of the problem, probably three weeks ago, but there has been no response. It's a shame when a company with a reputation for quality has no regard for its customers and yet trades on this reputation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars OK but... not for mobile outdoor work, 4 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roberts Radio R9957 Wanderer Multi Powered Wind Up Radio (Electronics)
Points awarded for fairly small size and good reception. NOT WATERPROOF - mine was trashed the first time it got properly rained on. Before that it survived getting a few drops on it now and then, and survived several dusty work sites. Also torch and buzzer/alarm are entirely pointless and serve only to LEAVE YOU WITH FLAT BATTERIES if the buttons get pushed by accident: if the radio is not kept in sterile conditions with a space around it, all it takes is a bacterium's flagella to gently stroke either button and Bingo! No radio when you get to site! However these features are easily disabled with a bit of epoxy dabbed around the buttons, which I recommend you do on day 1 out of the box. Finally, in reality, you would not get much work done if you kept winding it so wind-up is for emergency only if you listen to radio all day every day. Fine if you don't listen to radio very often I suppose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not the best, 11 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roberts Radio R9957 Wanderer Multi Powered Wind Up Radio (Electronics)
This is a good radio.Just one but... My previous radio was a Ranger which is a bit larger than the Roberts and unlike the latter had good reception at all volume levels. The Roberts becomes slightly distorted at higher volume settings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews