Customer Reviews


104 Reviews
5 star:
 (61)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
I already own both the Region 1 and Region 2 boxsets of the NOES series. So naturally, I was a little apprehensive about getting a third copy of this film on DVD. But it's a 2 disc special edition, and one of my favourite films of all time, so why not?

It was worth it. Not only are the picture quality and sound the best they have ever been, but the bonus...
Published on 19 Dec. 2006 by mxd10

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars GOOD BUT CENSORED CLASSIC SLASHER.
SYNOPSIS

When child murderer Fred Krueger (Robert Englund) is acquitted due to a technicality and set free the neighboring parents set his house on fire. Fred Krueger burns to death.
Decades later he - badly burnt and wearing a glove with razors - haunts their teenage kids in their dreams, but when they die in their dreams, they die in reality.
Nancy...
Published on 4 Oct. 2008 by Caligula II.


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 19 Dec. 2006
This review is from: A Nightmare On Elm Street [DVD] (DVD)
I already own both the Region 1 and Region 2 boxsets of the NOES series. So naturally, I was a little apprehensive about getting a third copy of this film on DVD. But it's a 2 disc special edition, and one of my favourite films of all time, so why not?

It was worth it. Not only are the picture quality and sound the best they have ever been, but the bonus features are amazing. There are a whole bunch of new interesting interviews and documentaries, featuring much of the cast and crew. There are lots of wonderfully insightful alternate scenes, including some nicely polished alternate endings. These are much better than the shabby black and white alternate endings from the Region 1 boxset. There are also some cool bloopers and behind the scenes shots.

There's also a nice new commentary track, FINALLY featuring Robert Englund. However, it's not a "real" commentary track, it's a bunch of interviews spliced over the top of the film. Sadly, this doesn't allow for any rapport between the various voices, they're not always talking about what is specifically happening, and it can be rather boring at times. Luckily, the original commentary is also included, so it redeems itself there.

There are some things missing, so this is not quite the "definitive" release. The deleted scenes from the trailer that didn't make it into the film, for one. But all in all, it's a very good release, and well worth getting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Classic, Early Eighties Horror Pic, 1 Mar. 2015
By 
William Mason (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This is an extremely famous, early eighties horror movie.
Robert Englund plays Freddy Krueger, a horribly disfigured serial killer of children, who's startling weapon of choice is an old leather glove adorned with long knives attached to the fingers. Freddy was killed by the parents of his teenage victims, but he comes back to haunt the dreams of other children. If he kills you in your sleep, you die.
A group of teenage friends, Tina and Rod, Glen and Nancy, become Freddy's latest targets. Johnny Depp, in a very early role in his career, plays Glen, whilst Heather Langenkamp plays his girlfriend Nancy. After the death of the first child, Tina, suspicion immediately falls upon her boyfriend Rod.
John Saxon plays Nancy's father, a police lieutenant who leads the resulting hunt for the killer. As the teens figure out what's happening to them, they fight to stay awake in order to avoid meeting Freddy in their dreams...
This is a very well crafted and hugely successful horror movie. The film score is brilliant, one of the best ever for a horror flick. The teenage cast give excellent performances. Freddie Krueger is a stand out maniac, campy and creepy, vile, sadistic, and physically loathsome, he's a killer who really gets off on what he does. The first death scene is chilling, very imaginative and skilfully executed. The film isn't overburdened with special effects, but when they're used its done judiciously and effectively. Although the film isn't particularly scary, it has a healthy level of tension from start to finish, and it's very well paced.
The very wide influence of this horror movie, and it's concept of linking the unconscious mind to acts of terror, can been seen in many other films, including The Cell (Jennifer Lopez), which is a first rate chiller - Cell [Blu-ray] [2000] [Region A] [US Import], and the wonderful Inception - Inception [Blu-ray] [2010] [Region Free].
Another very good eighties film, which similarly harnesses the idea that if you're killed in your sleep, you die, is Dreamscape (Dennis Quaid) - Dreamscape [Blu-ray] [1984] [US Import]. Dreamscape and A Nightmare On Elm Street actually make for a very enjoyable double bill of dream filled terrors.
Thank you for taking the time to read this review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A genre landing movie, 10 Oct. 2004
Nightmare on Elm Street - a true horror movie. Not only is this film a masterpiece but it introduces the infamous horror icon Freddy Kreuger. Freddy is a vile, disgusting, horrible, nasty, piece of work, which Craven has simply hit the nail on the head with. Freddy is a child murderer who was killed by the parents of Elm street but has came back to terrorise the children in the form of their dreams - or in this case, nightmares. The film scares the audience but leaves them wanting more, something which horror movies to date fail to achieve. Scences such as the tounge phone call and the bottomless bathtub have chilled audiences world wide. And the film has also probably one of the most best death scenes in horror to date. I'll let you find out that yourself. However, when it gets to something like Nightmare on Elm Street 37 the film becomes a pardoy of itself. And when you have got Freddy Kreuger rapping with three enormously obese black guys it becomes slightly less effective. However, Craven only directed the first and the last so he gets clear recognition for this work of horror art that has been terrorising our minds for years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably Craven's best!!!, 17 Mar. 2005
By A Customer
Ok, so this is never going to be recognised as one of the greatest films of all time but it certainly is probably one of the best and original horror films of the last 20 years. With Freddy Krueger, Wes Craven created the most famous film "Boogeyman" of modern times, with the infamous red and green sweater, the hat and of course, not forgetting THAT glove! The film itself centres around a group of teens who all begin to have the same nightmare about being stalked by a horrificaly burned man, with a glove with long sharp razors on the end. Then, in real life, dead bodies begin piling up. Before long, one of the teens realises she must confront this night demon before she ends up the next victim! Very, very dark, genuinly scary and very gory and violent, this is probably Craven's finest hour and while the acting isn't always first rate(apart from Robert Englund who is excellent as the demonic Freddy Krueger), the film is fast paced and really exciting. Watch out for the film debut role of Johnny Depp, as one of the nightmare plagued teens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Blu-Ray review - N.B. also available in Europe!, 20 May 2010
Strange that this has no UK release, but you can get it from Amazon.de if you don't mind German text on the case, and the large blue 16-certficate warning label. Only 16? Yes, because this is not the uncut version, and having seen the uncut version countless times in a mis-spent youth, I must say that it is clear at times. Worst is the Tina death scene which has been clearly sanitised for the big "blood-splash" shot.

That aside, this was a euphoric reunion with Freddy. The star of this BD release is the full-blooded, guts and glory 7.1 DTS HD Master Audio soundtrack. Having been disappointed by "Halloween" which is not that much older, it was a revelation to hear the intense soundtrack, the excellent surround effects (above all, for the boiler-room sequences) and the general increase in the sense of threat and terror that an HD soundtrack provides.

The picture quality is much better than I had expected. Images are usually very sharp, not just in close-ups but also in mid-long range shots. And the close-ups offer very good depth and plasticity for a film from the early 80's! I was concerned that HD would make this film (not the most expensive production ever) look cheap and expose effects as rubbish, but that is not really the case. I suppose the worst you could say is that the dummy that gets pulled through a window at the end has never looked more like a dummy before!

Extras are not bad, with commentaries and alternate endings. Although the alternate endings are all very similar, it is largely a case of nuance rather than whole new revelatory possibilities. And watching the ending over and over does hammer home just how terrible the acting can occasionally be. But for horror films standards of the time, "Elm Street" is not that bad. It is only really Nancy and her mother who commit great crimes against thespianism.

Two technical notes are that (1) the disc, despite a simple menu, takes AGES to load and the disc seems to make the drive sound very noisy. Don't panic, the film does work and your player is not breaking down. (2) There are some scenes that seem a little bit out of sync: notably Nancy talking to Rod in the bushes, and the same two again in jail. Funnily enough, I always thought that my old VHS copy seemed out of sync in those spots too. So this is either auto-hypnosis or the preservation of an original error. If anyone has anything to contribute on this, I would be most grateful if you could leave it as a comment on this review.

All in all, a great BD release of a classic slasher which belongs in the collection of every horror fan. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Nightmare on Elm Street blu ray review, 8 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A Nightmare on Elm Street blu ray review. 08.05.10

Distributor : New line cinema, US

The original and best Nightmare on Elm Street movie finally makes it's way to US blu ray. Probably released to tie in with the remake I had forgotten just how good this original film was.

I have seen this film over the years on virtually every home media version available, from video tape, to laser disc, to DVD and now finally on blu ray.

New Line have given us a 1080p transfer which looks excellent in quality. This transfer really drew me back into the film and I noticed things I had not seen previously, despite the number of earlier viewings. The atmosphere throughout the film and sheer nastiness of Fred Krueger himself is amplified ten fold and it's great to see Freddy back to his creepy and terrifying original horror icon status, unlike the wise cracking anti-hero he became in the original sequels.

Lately there seems to be a selection of blu ray releases which by providing an excellent transfer or audio soundtrack actually appear to improve or enhance the film itself and this is certainly another release in that category.

Considering how many times I have seen the film and after just recently watching the remake, I had expected to perhaps become a little distracted while viewing this film again, but that was not the case and I am positive this was all down to the presentation.

Anyway moving on, as previously stated the transfer is excellent and the audio is also strong throughout.

Extras wise there appears to be a lot on offer. We have two commentaries one with the director and various cast members which includes John Saxon (although once he introduces himself, then seems to disappear from the commentary.) Unless I somehow missed his contribution I can't remember him having a great deal to say at all and appears to be more in the background. The second commentary features the director again along with Robert Englund, and other cast and crew members. Aside from commentaries, we also have alternate endings which are unfortunately all too similar with just one or two small changes between them, plus some featurettes that include the making of the film. There is also an interactive trivia track if you like that sort of thing.

The only minor complaint I can really make with this release, is that again we are given the R rated theatrical cut of the film, which unlike the early video or laser releases, cuts the seen of the blood splash when one of Freddy's victims drops onto the bed. This is not really surprising as it was the same in all worldwide DVD releases and the cut is probably only one or two seconds anyway so although not enough to spoil an otherwise great presentation, may concern some completeists.

Summing up, the blu ray is an altogether excellent release. The film was previously released on blu ray in Canada but this US release puts the Canadian transfer to shame. Also unlike the Canadian release this blu ray is not region locked, so is therefore suitable for all blu ray players worldwide.

For long time fans of the film who have not seen it in a while, you are in for a real treat

Go and seek out Freddy Krueger as he was meant to be seen.......

and remember whatever you do, don't fall asleep!

BLU REVIEW OBSCURA - find us on Facebook
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars GOOD BUT CENSORED CLASSIC SLASHER., 4 Oct. 2008
By 
SYNOPSIS

When child murderer Fred Krueger (Robert Englund) is acquitted due to a technicality and set free the neighboring parents set his house on fire. Fred Krueger burns to death.
Decades later he - badly burnt and wearing a glove with razors - haunts their teenage kids in their dreams, but when they die in their dreams, they die in reality.
Nancy Thompson (Heather Langenkamp) is the next to be haunted by the dream killer and decides to fight back.

THE MOVIE

Yet another 80s classic, A NIGHTMARE ON ELM STREET is a very clever and inventive slasher flick that spawned 6 average and terrible sequels and an abysmal remake in 2010.
The original A NIGHTMARE ON ELM STREET is a good movie, probably writer/director Wes Craven's best movie, which created one of the cult villains, Freddy Krueger and made Robert Englund a star.
Good acting, especially by John Saxon and the female lead Heather Langenkamp. Robert Englund does a tremendous job as the diabolical Krueger, who in later movies becomes more of a joker. In the original movie Krueger has only about 7 mins. of total screen time. Watch out for Johnny Depp in his movie debut.
This Blu-ray only contains the R-rated print of the movie, while the VHS contained the Unrated version. The difference only makes out about 10 seconds, but releasing the movie on Blu-Ray only in a cut form is a sin, therefore I am giving this release only a 6 out of 10, instead of a 7.

RATING: 6 / 10

THE BLU-RAY

Reviewed version: 2010 Warner Bros. UK Blu-ray
Feature running time: 91 mins. (MPAA cuts)
Rating: R (MPAA) / 18 (BBFC)
Aspect Ratio: 1.78:1 / 16:9
Audio: English HDTS-HD 7.1, Engish 1.0, French 1.0, German 1.0, Italian 1.0
Subtitles: English, English HoH, Chinese (Traditional), Dutch, French, German, Greek, Italian
Extras: 2 Audio commentaries, "Focus Points" picture-in-picture feature, "Never Sleep Again" documentary (49:55), "The House That Freddy Built" featurette (22:47), "Night Terrors" Featurette (15:58), 3 Alternate Endings (5 mins.)
Region: A, B, C (region free)

Picture quality: B
Audio quality: B
Extras: A-
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Freddy Krueger rules in one of the best horrors of the 80's, 16 Mar. 2000
What can I say? Everyone knows Freddy Krueger and he is my personal horror fave. He was a child killer who was burnt to death in a factory, but 10 years later comes back in the dreams of the kids whose parents were responsible for his death. If he gets you in dreamland, you're dead for real. Freddy is remembered by his horribly burnt face, red 'n' green sweater, fedora hat and his glove with steel knife attachments. BRILLIANT FILM!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A decidedly average slasher flick, 2 Aug. 2013
By 
C. Moffatt "moffty" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For some reason I missed out on this one the first time round, so I decided to add to my horror collection with this classic.

On viewing, to be honest I was a little disappointed. Perhaps I've been spoilt by the quality of more recent films such as the Scream trilogy, but even in comparison to the Halloween films, Elm Street falls short.

All the elements are there - horny, unwitting teenagers; an evil, demented killer; oblivious parents; spooky urban scenery. But it just doesn't capitalise on its premise. Freddy is more funny than scary, the special effects are woeful, and some of the acting wouldn't look out of place in a school pantomime.

Also the quality of the sound on this DVD transfer is appaling, and clearly that's to the detriment of the film. I can't help thinking a digital remastering of the film is in order, together with a clean up of the soundtrack and an improvement in the synching. But even then I don't think it would be enough to make this a great film.

I suspect many people are reminiscing about watching this film as a child, and remembering it to be better than it actually is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what a great film, 3 Sept. 2000
i found this film great it had a very good storyline. It makes freddy look scary, by making the lighting dark around him, seeing he only comes in dreams and in the dark he is somone you whould not like to meet. The deaths are very cool and have a fair bit of blood. All of wes cravens films that i have seen are great. Tip by this movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Nightmare On Elm Street [DVD]
A Nightmare On Elm Street [DVD] by Wes Craven (DVD - 2006)
£6.92
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews