Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Laugh til you cry - I do
I have never found any comedy as funny as this series and am SO glad that its now at last coming out on DVD. I think this is my favourite of all the series, the real creme de la creme being Never Without Protection, with Rula Lenska which always have me falling off the sofa it is quite simply hysterical!! - especially the ending. However that is not to suggest the other...
Published on 6 Nov. 2006 by Ms. E. J. Baker

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars FUNNY
So funny to see these shows agaiin.
Started of as a sketch in Jasper Carrots show
and ended up a series it was that popular at the
time. Still daft and funny, made me smile.
Published 18 months ago by Keith Powell


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Laugh til you cry - I do, 6 Nov. 2006
By 
Ms. E. J. Baker "Elle" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Detectives - Series 2 [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
I have never found any comedy as funny as this series and am SO glad that its now at last coming out on DVD. I think this is my favourite of all the series, the real creme de la creme being Never Without Protection, with Rula Lenska which always have me falling off the sofa it is quite simply hysterical!! - especially the ending. However that is not to suggest the other episodes are not as funny, they are, including monks in a silent order and bulls pituitary glands and the boxing board. You will laugh until you cry from start to finish and if you have never seen this series I urge you to buy it as you won't regret it. Utterly priceless, worth every penny and the long wait for DVD format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly excellent, 18 Nov. 2006
By 
Ian (Walsall, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Detectives - Series 2 [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
After having seen the first couple of episodes on the Series 1 DVD, I wondered whether my memories of this show were rose-tinted. After those first few - and throughout this second series - I'm reassured that my favourable memories were accurate. This is excellent. The performances of the leads are sublime, and the writing of Steve Knight and Mike Whitehill works really well for these characters.

Plus, there are a few episodes I'd forgotten all about. To jog your memory, this contains:
* The one where Briggs and Louis get suspended and meet the blind pool player
* The one in the monastery
* The one in the boxing gym
* The one containing the pilchards lorry and the trip to Amsterdam
* The one with Rula Lenska
* The one where the Jasper Carrott character watches a domestic from his window.

Hopefully that's got you thinking "Ah, I half remember that one."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More hilarity, 5 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Detectives - Series 2 [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
The second series of 'The Detectives' is, while not quite as good as the first series, consistently hilarious and boasts very good performances.

The best episode is 'Never Without Protection' which features an excellent guest appearance from Rula Lenska as a Duchess. Louis and Briggs are assigned the task of protecting her, with predictable consequences.

Another fabulous episode is 'Witness' in which the two hopeless detectives go undercover in a monastery to protect a witness to a gangland killing. Christopher Ellison makes a memorable guest appearance as a corrupt police officer. Jasper Carrott and Robert Powell are dressed up in monk's attire which is amusing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Comedy is still alive!, 8 Feb. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Detectives - Series 2 [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
Jasper Carrott and Robert Powell are a perfect pairing, and play off each other in a very gentle yet hilarious way. You can often see a very definite twinkle in Powell's eyes as he does his utmost to keep a straight face. This is a pair of innocents let loose on an unsuspecting public to try to solve crime; in fact it's mostly by accident that the crimes get solved!Good clean yet original fun, safe (usually!) for most of the family to watch. My favourite in this series is the one in the pilchards lorry that takes them to Amsterdam; the first time I watched this, the tears (of laughter) were streaming down my face.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent series, never get tired of watching, 22 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Detectives - Series 2 [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
excellent series, never get tired of watching, who would of thought Robert powell and jasper carrot would make such a great team, why this is not out on blu ray yet is a mystery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the detectives, 25 Oct. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Detectives - Series 2 [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
a+ would recommend to others. Brought back some great memories of years go past. I had already watched it on tv but it is good to actually have it so I can watch it at anytime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun, 23 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Detectives - Series 2 [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
I enjoyed the series first time round and it hasn't lost anything. Nice to see Robert Powell doing comedy so well - his facial expressions are a master class in subtlety.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Dectectives series 2, 28 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Detectives - Series 2 [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
Excellent and very funny - watched this years ago on TV and it was good to watch them again when there was nothing worth watching on the 80 odd channels on TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DVD, 16 April 2013
By 
Mr. Bernard E. Mcguire "Bold Bear" (Berkshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Detectives - Series 2 [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
A good series to watch whilst relaxing and having a sherry. Bought the complete series so hope I dont become addicted; not to the sherry!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Detectives-Series 2, 28 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Detectives - Series 2 [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
The Detectives Series two is made up of six stories that give our two bumbling crime busting heroes opportunities to show their stuff. This is a comedy series that is actually funny with stories full of twists and susprises. Each is done before you
are ready for it to end. It really is a laugh a minute with Briggs and Louis doing their best to solve each case they are assigned to. Always in over their heads they manage to pull off the impossible and get the job done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Detectives - Series 2 [DVD] [1993]
The Detectives - Series 2 [DVD] [1993] by Jasper Carrott (DVD - 2006)
£4.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews