Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A definate must see....
I remember this when it was broadcast on channel 4 over several weeks, and it was as hard hitting then, as now. This is not by any means, your average 'feel good' movie, instead shows the journey of two women, who were exploited and trafficked into the sex trade by various people.

A definate must see, this film ought to have 'based on a true story' all over...
Published on 15 Mar 2007 by Tia Reynolds

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars John simm held the story together.
The reason I am giving this 3 stars, this is not my favorite genre. However, the fact I was able to stay with the story and watch to conclusion I believe is because of John Simm. (I could be wrong)
Published 10 months ago by nichole


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A definate must see...., 15 Mar 2007
This review is from: Sex Traffic [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
I remember this when it was broadcast on channel 4 over several weeks, and it was as hard hitting then, as now. This is not by any means, your average 'feel good' movie, instead shows the journey of two women, who were exploited and trafficked into the sex trade by various people.

A definate must see, this film ought to have 'based on a true story' all over it, for all the women who have taken that road from their own countries with little hope of ever going back. This is a near real account of what happend to two of them..........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Realisitic drama of 21st century sex slavery, 21 Jun 2007
By 
Amazon Customer (Bournemouth UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sex Traffic [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
Winner of sixteen awards (including eight BAFTAs) and sixteen nominations this TV mini series does not disappoint.

The human drama is totally convincing amidst an almost documentary style as we follow sisters Elena (Anamaria Marinca) and Vera Visinescu (Maria Popistasu) betrayed by a supposed fiancée into a life of sex slavery in the Balkans.

All aspects of the trafficking are dramatised, the corruption of the police and the private American security forces supplied by respected American security company CEO Tom Harlsburgh (Chris Potter). Far more shocking is the ruthless and callous treatment of the girls by the men buying selling and exploiting them.

Depth is added with the investigation by Daniel Appleton (fine performance by John Simm) into the dismissal of Callum Tate (Luke Kirby) for allegedly buying girls for trafficking, and as Daniel pursues his investigation we delve deeper into big business involvement and indifference.

A wincingly realisitic portrayal of human behaviour at its very worst.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is true reality tv!, 19 Feb 2007
This review is from: Sex Traffic [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
Having seen this originally on Channel 4 TV and not normally being a person to buy these "TV DVDS" I remembered roughly the story behind this film.The 2 main players, the Moldovian sisters are conned into venturing abroad to find jobs and where the grass is apparently greener-isn't it always? Inevitably they do not reach their true destination and are sold by various people, abused by all and sundry and generally lead horrific lives - far from what they were promised.John Simm who fits his part perfectly as the reporter/nosey parker is lucky not to get killed having naievly got himself in various "situations". The acting really is superb, the tale frightening, and one that is undoubtedly and very sadly true of the total corruption involved in cross border policing. A good film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Harrowing but outstanding, 23 Dec 2008
This review is from: Sex Traffic [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
This is probably the most harrowing and moving film i've ever seen; and i've seen a lot of films. The filming style is incredibly realistic which makes the film even harder to watch. John Simm is, as always, outstanding, but the two girls who play the sisters are beyond words.

This is a must see film but be prepared - this is not easy to watch. I have never cried so many times in one film and I don't normally cry at films at all. On many occasions I had to avert my eyes temporarily because it is so hard to see the graphic detail of the horrific acts which are forced upon these women. A true account of what these poor girls go through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scary and disturbing, 19 Aug 2008
This review is from: Sex Traffic [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
This is one of the best mini series Ive ever seen, not that its in any way fun to watch. This makes you feel sick and angry at the world and you wish you could watch it and say "yeah but this never happens in real life" which is so far from the truth. Worse so called people in it is the officers that are suppose to work against traffecking but uses the girls more than anyone else. Worth five stars alone is Anamaria Marinca.

Ps: You should also watch Lilja 4-Ever if you want an even more tragic story of traffecking...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE DARK MURKY REALITY OF TRAFFICKING, A MUST SEE, 17 Aug 2009
By 
Ms. M. Neal (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sex Traffic [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
When I watched this it made me realise how lucky I am to be in a place where I feel safe. This drama is so hard hitting that everyone should watch it to see the harsh reality of what really happens when young girls are promised the earth but end up dead for money, greed and political gain. It reminded me of the spine chilling novel 'VIRGIN HUNTER' by Colin Turner also based on human trafficking that some people will stop at nothing to get what they want. I highly recommend both to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Riveting, gripping drama, 19 Dec 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sex Traffic [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
We just watched this and got so pulled in by the story that we just played both parts back to back for the full 3 hours. I dare you to NOT do the same.

The story is a simple one: 2 sisters think their friend is taking them out of Moldova to London to find good jobs so they can better provide for their families. But he's actually selling them into sex slavery. The standout performance is by older sister Elena, who makes the whole experience so REAL, and so harrowing, that you find yourself feeling her panic and her desperation.

This is great TV, and it deserves every single award it's won. Brilliant stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A frighteningly realistic dramatisation., 8 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sex Traffic [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
Like some of the others reviewers, I too remember this being aired on Channel 4 a few years ago. I have to admit to being slightly hesitant at watching it again, remembering the abject horror I felt at watching the story unfold. It probably hit even harder this time, especially as the global issue with trafficking has escalated. It's very difficult to detach yourself from the women here as being fictional characters, knowing that right now there are women, and children going through this level of abuse, and worse. This shows all too clearly a situation that allows the most vulnerable, and most cruel of people to collide, and how even those supposed to be helping can become part of the problem.

This is a fantastic film, and the acting is outstanding, but Anamaria Marinca deserves the biggest praise, as she plays the part of Elena beautifully. It's difficult to convey how it can be so good, when it is three hours of absolute misery, with hardly any scenes that could be thought of as anything of joy. There are some scenes that show an unprecedented level of depravity. But I think it's a hugely important film that should absolutely be seen, to highlight what is going on. It made me feel sick, and upset, and weeks later I still feel disturbed by it. It has made me start donating to charities that are trying to fight this trade, and help the victims. People who think the slave trade ended centuries ago could not be further from the truth. This is probably the most horrific crime that is occurring in the today, and this is one of the best portrayals of it I have seen.

A definite must see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Drama at its best, 17 July 2009
This review is from: Sex Traffic [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
Compelling crime drama. You really care about the characters & what happens to them. Not always comfortable watching because of the subject matter but exceedingly well done. If you like political & conspiracy thrillers you'll love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars outstanding, 7 Jan 2011
By 
Markus Ronald "Ronnie" (Israel) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sex Traffic [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
No wonder this drama got so many Bafta's.The story is of 2 Moldovian sisters who are conned into venturing abroad to find jobs. Not easy to watch how women are used and abused, but this is a definate "must see" drama. John Simm is superb as the nosey reporter, who is determined to get to the people who deal in the awful sex trafficking of innocent women.
Highly recommended !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sex Traffic [2006] [DVD]
Sex Traffic [2006] [DVD] by David Yates (DVD - 2006)
4.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews