Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Compelling Case
In the first 'Prime Suspect' the motif was gender politics; in the second it was race; here the motif is children, and society's failure of them. Tennison starts her new job with the Vice Squad only to become embroiled in a murder inquiry and potential Police cover-up. Ignoring warnings from the sinister Commander Chiswick and his dupe, Halliday, Tennison continues to...
Published on 27 Dec. 2003 by scribeoflight

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Did I miss something ?
We watched this recently hoping for great drama but found it claustrophobic and frankly boring. Maybe, it has dated as the woman boss thing is no longer such a big deal. Maybe, it is simply that it looks like it was made on a shoestring with hardly any decent outside locations. It is also pretty clear what actually happened so there are no great surprises in the plot...
Published on 27 Oct. 2011 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Compelling Case, 27 Dec. 2003
In the first 'Prime Suspect' the motif was gender politics; in the second it was race; here the motif is children, and society's failure of them. Tennison starts her new job with the Vice Squad only to become embroiled in a murder inquiry and potential Police cover-up. Ignoring warnings from the sinister Commander Chiswick and his dupe, Halliday, Tennison continues to probe, ably supported by her team (an excellent ensemble cast), and, in particular, by the "old school" DS Otley (the astoundingly good Tom Bell), a former thorn in her side who proves to be hardworking, invidious or otherwise. Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tennison's Finest Hour, 24 Sept. 2001
This is probably the best of the Prime Suspect series. The script is strong, Helen Mirren is at the top of her game, and she's supported by some of the best character actors around--Ciaran Hinds, David Thewlis and Tom Bell, especially. The confrontation between Mirren and Hinds at the end is an acting tour de force. The two of them together are just magic. This is a very, very dark story, but it's not cynical and hopeless like Prime Suspect 5. Tennison does win in the end, if only on points, and the message seems to be that Good can triumph, if only a hero is willing to sacrifice enough. In this case, Tennison's sacrifice might have been her very soul.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Keeping up the high standard, 29 Nov. 2011
By 
This review is from: Prime Suspect: 3 [DVD] (DVD)
I'm running out of superlatives for the Prime Suspect series. Series 3 is another gripping crime drama, this time set against the background of the world of London rent boys. Despite it's lengthy we were tempted to watch in one sitting, though we didn't quite manage it!

The highlights this time are long scenes showing DCI Tennison interviews witnesses and suspects. This shows Helen Mirren at her finest, portraying an intelligent police detective who knows exactly how to structure an interview to get the truth from people.

The theme of police corruption also looms large right from the very start. Glimpses of Tennison's rather sad personal life are also shown.

She's still off the ciggies though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant !, 22 Feb. 2012
By 
Alison Rose "Alison R" (West Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Prime Suspect: 3 [DVD] (DVD)
She is just excellent and what a good story, I've bought the whole series. I think La Plante is a wonderful story teller and she entertains me every time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, 2 Sept. 2003
By 
E. A. Redfearn "eredfearn2" (Middlesbrough) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Good to see all the existing Prime Suspects series released on DVD for make no mistake, they are superb. This one, over 3 hours long is gripping. Jayne Tennison (played by the wonderful Helen Mirren) becomes involved in the death of a rent boy found in a burnt out flat. As she investigates his death, she finds a lot more than she bargained for. I wont give too much away for it is very involving. A friendly word of warning though, the storyline is disturbing. If you have a home cinema set up be prepared for a viewing and listening experience for the soundtrack, encoded in dolby surround is superb. If you buy this, I am sure you will buy the others too, for they can be bought at a great price. Do not miss them by any circumstances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars RENT BOYS IN HIGH PLACES. SOUND FAMILIAR.?, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prime Suspect: 3 [DVD] (DVD)
I ENJOYED WATCHING THIS AGAIN AFTER MANY YEARS.WITH THE CURRENT CLIMATE IN GOVERNMENT ETC IN 1980S ONE WONDERS IF LYNDA LA PLANT MIXED WITH THESE PEOPLE .SURELY MANY OF THE RENT BOYS MUST STILL BE ALIVE OR DID THEY DISAPPEAR IN MYSTERIOUS CIRCUMSTANCES.? WITH MANY FILES MISSING AT HOME OFFICE REPGARDING THIS.THE RENT BOYS MUST NOW BE 50+ WHERE ARE THEY NOW AND WHAT DO THEY KNOW?! A VG DVD.VERA IS EX
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best, 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prime Suspect: 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Now working in the vice squad, DCI Tennison's investigation takes her into a child prostitution and pornography ring following the death of a rent boy. Helen Mirren, supported by an excellent cast, makes this one of the best in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Did I miss something ?, 27 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prime Suspect: 3 [DVD] (DVD)
We watched this recently hoping for great drama but found it claustrophobic and frankly boring. Maybe, it has dated as the woman boss thing is no longer such a big deal. Maybe, it is simply that it looks like it was made on a shoestring with hardly any decent outside locations. It is also pretty clear what actually happened so there are no great surprises in the plot. Obviously it isn't bad exactly, but nowhere near as good as the later Lynda La Plante series Trial and Retribution which had far less publicity. I would recommend that series in place of this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Danny Dyer hits the big time, 24 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prime Suspect: 3 [DVD] (DVD)
I brought this as danny dyer was in this and i am a big fan. He is very young in this and was a great little part. I would recommend this for your collection if you are a fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars prime suspect 3, 15 Jun. 2003
By 
debbie sheridan-wood (preston, lancs United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
prime suspect 3 is the third in the series and yet again a gripping twisting storyline. Helen Mirren is her best as Tennyson and there is excellent acting. Its compulsive viewing for all prime suspect viewers, if like myself you liked it on tv, it is a must to own on dvd, because you could watch them and enjoy each and everytime. This storyline involves corruption on the police front and transexual and child abuse, the children in this also play excellent parts. Prime suspect also follows tennyson's private life if you watch from the first one you get to see how her own life shapes aswell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Prime Suspect: 3 [DVD]
Prime Suspect: 3 [DVD] by David Drury (DVD - 2006)
£1.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews