Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


107 of 111 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Drama as it should be
I saw this when it first came out and remembered it as being outstanding so in the absence of any decent modern TV I bought it. I watched it yesterday and felt compelled to write this review. Films & TV appear to have gone backwards in terms of quality. Whilst watching this I kept imagining how the same drama would be presented today and was saddened to realize how awful...
Published on 8 Sep 2007 by Richard the CRUX

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Prime Suspect 1
A great fan of crime thrillers, like Waking the Dead, Bones act Prime Suspect1 is still one of the very best I've watched, Honest.
Published on 20 Oct 2012 by sweetpea12


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

107 of 111 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Drama as it should be, 8 Sep 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prime Suspect: 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I saw this when it first came out and remembered it as being outstanding so in the absence of any decent modern TV I bought it. I watched it yesterday and felt compelled to write this review. Films & TV appear to have gone backwards in terms of quality. Whilst watching this I kept imagining how the same drama would be presented today and was saddened to realize how awful modern film techniques have become. It was a joy to follow the plot with no time-zone jumping, without endless over-complicated, fast frame-rate shots and without that annoyingly loud continuous sound track of pointless music that producers seem bent on inflicting on the viewer. This drama dates back to a time when viewers had longer attention spans and the need to constantly bombard the audiences brains with visual and audio information in order to prevent them from switching off was not an issue, thus allowing the actors to act and the plot to develop in a natural and chronological order, wonderful. Most modern dramas leave me with the impression that hoards of adolescent technicians have been endlessly tinkering with camera shots, lighting, sound effects and sound editing to such an extent as to render the actual production unwatchable by all but the most inattentive schoolchild. Prime Suspect requires none of this modern superficiality to hold your attention, it does it by employing careful execution of plot line and wonderfully realistic acting. It is like all good dramas should be, nitty-gritty and very realistic with believable characterization and thought provoking, twisting plot line. Very Hitchcockian. I will most certainly be investing in more episodes and I am sure that anyone who buys this will be doing the same. I cannot understand why modern film makers praise films of this nature and hold directors like Hitchcock in such high regard and yet go out and totally ignore what they should have learned and churn out the same old cliched garbage that everyone else is producing. When will they come to their senses and return to creating compelling dramas such as this which people can watch and be engulfed in without having to endure the bombardment of distractions of what has become modern film production techniques. Give yourself a treat, buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb police drama, 24 Nov 2011
By 
This review is from: Prime Suspect: 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I bought the box set of all the Prime suspect shows and started with Series 1 (obviously).

This really is top quality police drama. At 3 hours 20 minutes in length the makers were able to take their time developing the plot and showing the nuances of the characters. For example we see a lot of the domestic life of the prime suspect, leading us to have sympathy for him and wonder if the police have the wrong man. John Bowe is superb as the charming, but possibly murderous Marlow.

We also get to study the slow but inevitable breakdown of the relationship of DCI Tennison(played by Helen Mirren) with her partner, as she becomes obsessed with her first murder case. It clear that she willingly chooses to prioritise her career over everything in her life.

Sexism in the Metropolitan Police is also a major theme in the show. There is huge resistance from the detectives when Tennisson takes over the case though are gradually won over by her by her ability.

Definitley a classic of British crime drama on TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than ever, 27 Jun 2009
This review is from: Prime Suspect: 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I loved this program when I first saw it 18 years ago, and I couldn't resist seeing it again. I was, however, a bit apprehensive -- perhaps it wouldn't stand the test of time.
Happily, my apprehension was unfounded. Even knowing the plot and the outcome I was gripped -- even floored by it.
I've always been enthusiastic about so-called police procedurals, and this one really came to life through the masterful dialogue, the powerful editing, and most of all the astounding acting and depth of characterization. Helen Mirren creates a character who is sympathetic but by no means wholly admirable. Her characterization is tough, and indeed, the whole drama is tough. Her performance is a tour de force.
Can't praise it enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely recommend, 7 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prime Suspect: 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I think this was the best in the series and was glad to see it was still available. Good story and leaves you wondering who really did it for a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Is this the best ever Police/crime drama epidode?, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prime Suspect: 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Story line, acting, settings - all stunning. The disc itself was totally acceptable. We watched the episode without break and sat, quite shaken, at the end
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars prime Suspect 1, 12 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prime Suspect: 1 [DVD] (DVD)
The first and in my opinion the best Prime Suspect. Excellent acting by all the cast and the only true insight into how a squad really works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent! but..., 4 Jan 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prime Suspect: 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Great crime drama, but here is my question? Does George Arthur Marlow fit the profile of a serial killer? Where are the clues or the insight into the psychosis that would cause him to brutally kill six women?
His mother may have been the catalyst but it was never properly explained...

It's interesting to see a crime drama before DNA profiling and before mobile phones.
Much of the story involves Tennison missing calls to the station or dodging calls from her boss, but DCI Tennison manages to hide from her bosses for 24 hours - is this credible? Can a police commander not even find his own SIO?

Despite the holes, it's fabulous gritty police procedure crime drama complete with chauvinism, bigotry and bent coppers!

A classic! JP :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Prime Suspect 1, 20 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prime Suspect: 1 [DVD] (DVD)
A great fan of crime thrillers, like Waking the Dead, Bones act Prime Suspect1 is still one of the very best I've watched, Honest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best from seven, 6 May 2011
This review is from: Prime Suspect: 1 [DVD] (DVD)
The fantastic mirren is perfectly cast here in her first outing as the tenacious DCI Tennison,battling her male colleagues at a time when a woman in the force were discriminated alot more.The great late Tom bell,and Zoe Wannamaker are very good but for me the Prime Suspect 1 is all about the brilliant John Bowe,what a performance
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Movie made for TV, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prime Suspect: 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I only purchased the above because I have a small part in it. Most of the actors were very good and accommodationg whilst working with them except for one. Initials (ZW)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Prime Suspect: 1 [DVD]
Prime Suspect: 1 [DVD] by Christopher Menaul (DVD - 2006)
£4.37
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews