Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny and enjoyable film
My son asked me to buy this as he said it was really funny...i have to say this film is brilliant and very funny. Superb cast including Sam Rockwell and William H Macy to name two. With top notch screwball type comedy, this film is never boring and George Clooney is a class comedy actor who carries the film along at a good pace along with the excellent cast. The DVD seems...
Published on 14 Sep 2010 by Mike

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slightly wasted opportunity
I can't help but think this is a slightly wasted film, everything was going so well until the last 20 minutes. The first hour is excellent, very funny, not so much laugh out loud, more subtle humour. The acting is excellent through out, Sam Rockwell shines as usual and Clooney's cameo is strong. But in my opinion overall, it's hugely let down by the last 20 minutes (the...
Published on 27 May 2004 by - alikat -


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny and enjoyable film, 14 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My son asked me to buy this as he said it was really funny...i have to say this film is brilliant and very funny. Superb cast including Sam Rockwell and William H Macy to name two. With top notch screwball type comedy, this film is never boring and George Clooney is a class comedy actor who carries the film along at a good pace along with the excellent cast. The DVD seems to have gone up in price but could this be because the word has got aroung about how good it is?
Writing this review has reminded me that it's about time i watched it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Film, 7 Jan 2006
By 
D. Howden (Suffolk U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I really enjoyed this movie and the stars shine in this 'robbery goes wrong' film.
The ending was very good and I don't think it fades ..I loved the scene where William H. Macy is showing off his painted glassware.
What I did enjoy was the great music that went with the film as It all fitted in so well and I loved the end theme of 'Maybe it's you' performed by Johnny Crawford who is now on a jazz kick these days.
Great film to watch and listen to!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slightly wasted opportunity, 27 May 2004
By 
- alikat - (Brighton, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
I can't help but think this is a slightly wasted film, everything was going so well until the last 20 minutes. The first hour is excellent, very funny, not so much laugh out loud, more subtle humour. The acting is excellent through out, Sam Rockwell shines as usual and Clooney's cameo is strong. But in my opinion overall, it's hugely let down by the last 20 minutes (the film only runs 78 minutes), where the story turns from a light hearted funny robbery story to a deadly serious what is the meaning of life script, this basically turns the tide on the previous good fun and then the film ends! This left me feeling is that it, where's the rest? It's almost like they ran out of ideas to make the ending, cut it short and just gave up, very sad as it would have been excellent. Anyway, it gets 3 stars on the strengh of the first hour alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A underrated gem., 18 July 2010
By 
Ernie (Kent) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Welcome To Collinwood [DVD] (DVD)
Welcome to Collinwood is one of those little gems of a movie that bombed at the box office and is slowly gaining status as a cult classic. The story is based around a group of bumbling petty crooks trying to pull off the biggest heist of their lives with disastrous results.
The movie very much has a feel of a Coen brothers comedy with smart witty dialogue and slapstick scenes that had me laughing out loud. The cast is superb, with the late Michael Jeter giving a stand-out performance as Tito. Likeable, funny, engaging, and downright hilarious towards the end, for fans of quirky comedies Welcome to Collinwood is a must see movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chump Change, 29 Oct 2009
Welcome to Collinwood is alot of things, but it is none of the following:

A George Clooney star vehicle
Unfunny
Un-Original

And yes i know, the basis for the movie is another movie. But as far as hollywood goes, this may rank with their most authentic outputs this decade - and for me, it does.

The movie is from start to finish, an absolute gas. Here's why.

There isn't a bad performace in the film.
The funny parts are funny.
The edgy parts are edgy.
The script contains, not a dull moment of dialogue
The cinematography is fresh and yes beautiful.
And it doesn't conform to the hollywood norm (you'll see what i mean, when you see the film)

When i was a kid, i remember seeing advertisements for the film. This film went under the radar after not grossing much at the box office, and isn't even a cult classic. The reason why Transformers 2, is seen as acceptable by average movie goers, is because they are used to seeing Transformers 2. If film's as original and funny as this were pumped out as often as multi-million pieces of s**t, the world would be a better place -

When 'they' say they don't make em like they used to, 'they' didn't see Welcome to Collinwood.

A fun, mini-masterpiece of caper comedy, that refuses to compromise. One of my favourites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Engaging and Funny Film, 28 Aug 2005
By A Customer
This is a well crafted and brilliantly acted film. It has many funny funny moments but there is one sequence in particular that made me laugh, not just smile ha - ha, but really laugh, from the very core of my being, until the tears were steaming down my face. Those moments don't come along too often and this film, for that reason alone, is highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get the hell out of here you couple of street bums!, 19 July 2004
I've never actually laughed at a moment in a film the same way as I did with Welcome to Collinwood. You know when something funny happens when you're with a friend and you just cannot stop laughing. I'm glad I didn't watch it in the cinema, because I probably would have been thrown out.
Five hapless criminals get word of a Bellini (a once in a lifetime job) in a kind of inversion of the Ocean's Eleven style lets-get-the-best-of-the-best-for-this-heist-way. Meaning: one guy keeps leaking the secret and eventually everybody wants a piece of the action.
Every performance in this film is superb, every character is very well thought out. It reminded me of a film called Palookaville starring Vincent Gallo. Palookaville is a good film, but this is much better. The script writer writes a bit like Elmore Leonard (author of Get Shorty, Rum Punch (filmed by Tarantino as Jackie Brown) and Out of Sight). That's the kind of film this is, only funnier.
As for the last twenty minutes? I completely disagree that the film drops-off at the end. Certainly things start going wrong, but the final scenes are just very, very sweet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great fun!, 26 Nov 2003
By 
Andrew Moore "Mac User" (Cowes, Isle of Wight, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
A group of hapless lowlifes from the same neighbourhood hear about the ‘heist of all heists’. The ‘big one’. Their Bellini! The only problem? It really is someone else's Bellini, but that person is rather occupied with doing time in the State jail. Oh well, our heroes might as well pull off the job in his absence.
This is an excellent film and had me glued from the beginning. The merry band of burglars are very well crafted and portrayed and likeable. This film had me grinning like a Cheshire cat at times and laughing aloud at one great scene.
Don’t watch this for George Clooney as he is only in it fleetingly really. The star of ‘Welcome To Collinwood’ is Sam Rockwell who is marvellous as the wannabe boxer turned robber. He’s one to watch.
An excellent, excellent film. Loved it! Great fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the years funniest films, 4 Sep 2003
By A Customer
Well what can i say.......this film is simply just great fun!!
From the poster it appears that George Clooney is a major character, but his role is minimal and is only on screen for a few minutes, this is the first and only disappointment of the film. But this film is carried of superbly by the relatively unknown cast. Sam Rockwell is fantastic as the leading man in this bunch of no-hoper jewel thiefs with fantastic support especially from the veteran Michael Jeter whose character brings constant laughs. Also for the guys there is Jennifer Esposito, who looks absolutely drop dead gorgeous (minus any bad girl attitude that she used to have with her Spin City character).
So for anyone expecting to sit and watch George Clooney for 90 minutes expect to be disappointed, but for others who would like to chill out and laugh THIS IS DEFINATELY ONE TO WATCH!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, 7 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Welcome To Collinwood (DVD)
I bought this for my dad who saw part of it television. Although not the greatest comedy it does have some very enjoyable moments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Welcome To Collinwood [DVD]
Welcome To Collinwood [DVD] by Anthony Russo (DVD - 2007)
6.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews