Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop Now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars22
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:£19.95+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on 16 September 2005
I first found out about The Knife after listening to Karin Dreijer (The Knife's singer) on 'What Else Is There?' from Royksopp's new album and went and bought this. It's got to be one of the best buys i've made in a long while. The first track (Heartbeats) is excellent and i didn't think they'd be able to match it through the rest of the album, but somehow they did and even topped it! Karin Dreijer has an awesome voice, and the variety of music here is incredible. Some of the tunes are hypnotic and this is certainly a refreshing change from all of the predictable and dreary music polluting the industry. A must buy!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
on 8 October 2004
Living in Japan I've been rather out of touch with European music, but by a chance I heard Jose Gonzalez recording of Heartbeats. So when I came home to Sweden I borrowed a friends copy of this CD. I'm new to electronica, but this is really good! Heartfelt, cool, swinging beats. Buy it!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 7 June 2009
this is one of the best albums ever created, anyone will like it, it mixes all genres. top, beyond belief genius, a must have for your cd collection. festuring the original version of 'heartbests' that was famously covered by jose gonsalez, it was actually written by these guys and their version is better than jose's cos they wrote it!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon 9 March 2006
Must admit I didn´t understand what all the hype was about until I slapped this on a decent stereo. Played loud this immediately came to life.
This is a fascinating record from the stomping house of,"Handy-man," to the beatiful lonesome lyric of the opener,"Heartbeat." What strikes me is the inventiveness of the beats and the lyrical depth of the songs. I´m a huge fan of,"pass this on," for example. Great steel drum and the aching lyric,"I´m in love with your brother, what´s his name."
Then you´ve got,"The cop," this sounds more like an industrial metal track than the kind of thing you´d expect to find on a dance orientated album. "Hangin out," and,"this is now," are other notable tracks although,"You take my breath away," is a little bit too melodramatic for my own tastes.
This is a quality record and I´m very interested in hearing what comes next.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
on 21 January 2006
Many people are dribbling all over their laptops and mp3s to that acoustic tune from that Sony advert, by that Swedish guy who sounds like he should really be Spanish. But what many people AREN'T listening to is the original, which can be found on this album 'Deep Cuts'. If only they knew, for the Knife's 'Heartbeats' is a triumph for electronic music, as a single it's up there in terms of beauty and underratedness as 'Destroy Everything You Touch' by Ladytron. Although the rest of the album doesn't quite reach the melodic heights of 'Heartbeats', it is a unique and exciting listen, with dark, sexually charged lyrics. To be honest, it's criminal Mr Gonzalez is gaining all the plaudits because The Knife are an excellent act in their own right. Standouts include 'Pass This On' and 'Take My Breath Away'. If you like electronic music with a bit of a twisted nature (and oil drums) you'd do worse than to take a gamble on this.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on 3 December 2007
Having loved the album Silent Shout i thought i would give this a try. The difference between Deep Cuts and Silent Shout is night and day. Silent Shout was much more darker and yet Deep Cuts is lighter and much more upbeat.Some of the songs are hit and miss. For me Heartbeats,Take my Breath away and Is it Medicine are best, with The Cop and Hanging out being complete turnoffs.In my opinion Deep Cuts isn't as good as Silent Shout but still worth buying.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on 27 March 2006
You'll either love this or really hate it. At first the cheap casio beats sound like you've bought a fifth formers demo tape; but continue to listen, and you'll find a nutty off-beat album, (the Knife must have had great fun making it). It's an album than takes unoriginal sounds and makes a joyously original album, like no other you'll own. Jose gonzalez has covered their Heartbeats track, the original is so much better and so different. Unfortunately instead of capitalising on the Gonzalez success, they produced the monochromatic "Silent Shout", that I can't imagine finding new fans (you can neither hate nor love it). Revel in Deep Cuts, ignore Silent Shout, search out their first album. There is a soundtrack album too, but some tracks are included on Deep Cuts and their eponymous first album,
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on 29 July 2009
Let's start with INCREDIBLE...

I've just been reading through some of this albums reviews on here, and as far as I can gather, the majority of people seem hung up on comparing to the acoustic cover of 'Heartbeats' Jose Gonzalez released in 2005. Impossible. Both are great versions of the same song, but I feel it is wholly wrong to consider approaching The Knife with anything but an open mind. Essentially, they may as well be different songs because they take such completely different approaches to the melody.

As a big fan of all three Knife albums, and this years 'Fever Ray' (the solo release by Karin Dreijer Andersson), I must stress that The Knife are EXPERIMENTAL-electronic at it's most original! Listen to it with a mind free of all expectations, and you will pick up on the subtle quirks that give this band it's unique personality. I also highly recommend their eponymous debut album, and Silent Shout. There's a gradual shift in tone as the band ages, where the sound becomes darker and more dreamlike, and again this is notable in the 'Fever Ray' album.

If you have an open mind, you may very well fall in love with this band as I have. If you are expecting plain straight-forward mainstream pop, you are listening to the wrong band.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2013
...if La Roux have this album (from 2004, according to my copy) in their record collections? As a fan of La Roux, I loved this: it's a bit less polished, a bit more varied and a bit rougher round the edges but it mines a similar vein, and got there first. The Knife take a bit more knowing pleasure in their electronic soundscape, and sometimes indulge themselves in experiments that turn out to be misjudgements, but the rest is such glorious listening they're easily forgiven. I can't wait to hear more.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
on 23 January 2006
I stumbled on this relatively old album by pure chance. A bit like Bjork, bit like an electro Cyndi Lauper, certainly lots of fun. Love it. Buy it!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Silent Shout
Silent Shout by The Knife (Audio CD - 2006)

Fever Ray [VINYL]
Fever Ray [VINYL] by Fever Ray (Vinyl - 2012)

The Knife
The Knife by The Knife (Audio CD - 2013)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.