Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars James Taylor "At Home"
You don't get more laid back than JT,and here he is on home ground.

The relaxed atmosphere rolls out through every song,and reaches out to you like a full on James Taylor concert.You also get great sound,and production values of the highest order.

This ain't no home movie.

I bought this video(now DVD)years ago.Still play it.still love...
Published on 15 Sep 2006 by Tony

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars JJames TTaylor oout oof ssync
Any one who likes James Taylor will enjoy the relaxed yet beautifully crafted performance by him and his backing musicians on this DVD. The interviews and balanced mix of songs are hugely enjoyable. Unfortunately the audio track is noticeably out of synchronisation and this can detract from the final product. This is noted on the JT website but remains uncorrected by Sony...
Published on 10 Sep 2007 by Dr. G. R. Lawson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars James Taylor "At Home", 15 Sep 2006
By 
Tony (Northants UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: James Taylor: Squibnocket [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
You don't get more laid back than JT,and here he is on home ground.

The relaxed atmosphere rolls out through every song,and reaches out to you like a full on James Taylor concert.You also get great sound,and production values of the highest order.

This ain't no home movie.

I bought this video(now DVD)years ago.Still play it.still love it.

My abiding memory is of great musicians playing without duress.

And,you know, James has a lot to do with that.

Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars JJames TTaylor oout oof ssync, 10 Sep 2007
By 
Dr. G. R. Lawson "Geoff Lawson" (Sunderland UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: James Taylor: Squibnocket [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Any one who likes James Taylor will enjoy the relaxed yet beautifully crafted performance by him and his backing musicians on this DVD. The interviews and balanced mix of songs are hugely enjoyable. Unfortunately the audio track is noticeably out of synchronisation and this can detract from the final product. This is noted on the JT website but remains uncorrected by Sony who issue this DVD. Buy it, listen to it and try not to let this visual imperfection annoy you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting DVD, a must for JT fans., 5 Oct 2008
By 
Magnum84 (Southend-on-sea, U.K) - See all my reviews
This review is from: James Taylor: Squibnocket [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Let me start this review with the good points before my critical ones.

This DVD has a unique feel about it, in that essentially you're not really watching a concert with raptuous applause after songs, instead you're watching the rehearsals in an awesome looking barn. It reminds me of a similar video by sting in which you saw the process before a tour, except this JT DVD is more mellow and chilled out. The performances are top notch JT in his heyday (some would argue) and in usual circumstances you'd have the same reaction as being at his show...deafly silence as you watch the genius playing and then a gasp at the end as you realise how good his songs are!

However (here comes that bad point!, like one previous reviewer pointed out...i cannot stress just how bad the editing is! I read the previous customer review and wondered if it was someone being a little bit picky, but he was spot on in that the video edits run slower than the audio.
For example the songs in which there are lots of cuts to different camera angles are bearable because every shot starts in time. The problem is in certain songs which rely on one main camera shot for a considerable length of time... the video starts in time but quickly begins to slip more and more out of time with the audio.

I still liked the DVD but i thought it important to back up the original reviewer in warning people about the editing issue...if you're a fan, grab it - if you're looking to watch JT for the first time, buy "live at the Beacon", "Pull Over" or "One Man Band"!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice performance but sound problems ?, 3 Mar 2008
By 
Wim Callens (Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: James Taylor: Squibnocket [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I am a huge fan of James Taylor and want to give five stars for
this particular concert. As two other critical viewers has noticed
there is indeed a synchronistic problem.
It is difficult to overlook it and it is very irritating.
Maybe I am a perfectionist but it is a pity because as I have told
you in the beginning this concert is great !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Huge disappointment for a real fan, 30 April 2007
By 
J. Holliday "'james fan'" (Inverness) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: James Taylor: Squibnocket [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I don't usually bother to review the things I buy, but this DVD cries out to have a warning attached. I'm a long standing fan of James Taylor and have every CD he's made. I was really looking forward to watching this but it was agony. Maybe it was just my copy, but the audio dubbing was way off for most of the recording. It was like watching a foreign film dubbed into English. The sound quality was awful, too. It isn't recorded in surround sound so it took a lot of fiddling with my system to make it worth listening to, but even then I felt that a CD would have delivered more in the way of sound. Had the sound quality and dubbing been any good, the DVD would be superb, and even with the problems, I watched it anyway, but I was really disappointed by this DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars JT relaxed and great music, 4 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: James Taylor: Squibnocket [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Any true JT fan should watch the man at work, great insight into his music and thought process.

Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant dvd, 5 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: James Taylor: Squibnocket [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
My husband had this on vhs originally and played it over and over so bought it on dvd for him he was over the moon.Brilliant for any James Taylor fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime, 8 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: James Taylor: Squibnocket [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Hard to get hold of DVD. There is a special atmosphere in the rehearsal room which is communicated so well. The quality of all the musicians makes this an experience rather than just a performance. Had seen this recording on TV but never able to get DVD, but the real plus is that the interview sections can be bypassed. You will chill out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars kick back and just enjoy.., 20 Dec 2011
This review is from: James Taylor: Squibnocket [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
If you enjoy James Taylor, you should really enjoy this special one off performance filmed at his airy old barn / studio in Squibnocket on Martha's Vineyard in 1992. Taylor and his band put on a very relaxed performance here - and though it is almost twenty years old, (though DVD was produced in 2006) it is as timeless as the landscape where his old barn now stands. The spirit of the land here is tangible. Its sea of greens and blues broken by ancient rock speaks to the soul, and remind me of Ireland, though it's actually the ancestral home of the Wampanoeg (Native) peoples. (That's the `travel review' done!)

In the barn - Taylor, his band, friends, kids and dogs mill around - eating, playing, and laughing. One gets the feel of a polished but really laid-back rehearsal - completely different to the usual `stage set', which adds a charming and refreshing dimension to the performance itself.

Most of James Taylor's classic hits are here - `You've got a Friend', `Fire and Rain', `Copperline', `Sweet Baby James' (sung for his nephew), `You can Close Your Eyes', and `The Frozen Man' (which you just have to hear..). And there are many more besides..

The music is interspersed (though not in a jarring way) with ruminations from Taylor about his early musical influences, his travels, and his life. And behind him, through the huge picture windows - the greens and blues beckon once more - and you really want to just climb out and be one with that elemental landscape..

Unusual, and very relaxing DVD, from one of `folk / rock's most eloquent and highly regarded performers.

(I've read reviews criticising the quality of the production, though I'm certainly no expert - I couldn't see a problem. The clarity and production values are such that it could have been made yesterday.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best!, 11 Mar 2011
This review is from: James Taylor: Squibnocket [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Absolutely, the best James Taylor presentation ever, if you would like an example of his finest songs, this is probably it. Really great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa61361a4)

This product

James Taylor: Squibnocket [DVD] [2006]
James Taylor: Squibnocket [DVD] [2006] by James Taylor (DVD - 2006)
3.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews