Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Making my entrance again with my usual flair, sure of my lines ...", 11 Oct 2009
By 
Nicholas Casley (Plymouth, Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Voice [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
This concert was first released back in the 1980s and was re-released in 2006 on its twentieth anniversary with an additional two-minute introduction. Though spoken by Streisand, the introduction is merely a voice-over as we see preparations being made in the intimate surroundings of Streisand's garden in the California sunshine for the evening's performance.

It's a shame we only get to see three-minutes of Robin Williams's excellent pre-concert warm-up, during which he claims to be the $50 of the $5,000 per ticket that the Hollywood audience has paid to hear Streisand sing. So many famous faces in the crowd!

She opens the show coming out of nowhere singing `Somewhere'. Her hairstyle may date the concert squarely in the 1980s, but the music - excuse the cliché - IS timeless and evergreen: "Spirits rise and their dance is unrehearsed".

The sound is good: there is no gain-run. Lyrics are provided by way of subtitles. The camerawork is very good too, as is the editing. Indeed, knowing Streisand's reputation for perfection, one would expect nothing less. And we get not one but two duets with Barry Gibb.

Despite the good political intentions expressed in her talk to the audience - the concert was a money-raising exercise for the Democrats - alas many of the concerns that she expresses are still with us.

It's highly unlikely that I will ever witness Streisand sing live, so this is a my chance to see her, perhaps, at her very best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THAT'S A SHOW!!!, 22 Aug 2008
By 
Jose Carvalho (Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Voice [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Though full of political meaning, and trapped in a cold war time warp, Barbra has never, EVER, sung and sounded so well like she does on this DVD, specially if compared with the ones she did in Vegas recently. Pitch perfect on every single note (more than 3,000, as she herelf says in the concert), the audience is in itself a show! Everyboby who was anybody in Hollywood then, is there (no wonder, for a mere $5,000 a seat)! A historical concert, and her first in about 20 years, this one is the true TIMELESS (not the more recent one).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DVD barbra Streisand, 14 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Voice [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Already had this in video but wanted to replace with a DVD as felt would be better quality and easier to store. Still great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Voice [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
most enjoyable Barbara Streisand is a faverite
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great concert, 6 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Voice [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Brill concert, I know it was for a charity BUT, Barbra breaks away from her beautiful singing voice, several times to speak her mind about the state of the world, spoilt it a tad!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An All Time Great, 12 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Voice [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
A replacement for an old audio cassette. The DVD version brings to life the concert and contains a small amount of additional material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars There is only One Voice: Barbra's, 8 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Voice [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
If you only own one music DVD, make it this one. Barbra will always be in her prime, but on this night, she sings as if she is on a ride to heaven, and taking us all with her. Watch this at home alone, turn off the lights, perhaps in a room overlooking your own fairy lit garden, and listen and dream as Barbra takes us on a journey to another world (and a different decade, don't you just miss the '80s, when it was all the hair, and let's face it, no one has hair like our Barb!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One Voice, 30 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Voice [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Once again another masterpiece from Barbra Streisand. Her voice is wonderful to listen to and just sends you into a trance
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars how can you not like it?, 27 July 2013
By 
Mrs. Ann Baker (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Voice [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I bought this to replace a damaged (bootleg!) one I bought many years ago. If your a fan like me, you'll love every glorious second.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One Voice-Barbra Streisand., 12 Jun 2013
By 
E. A. Kilvington (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Voice [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
This is an excellent DVD with beautiful songs and takes place in her garden. I love it and to have Barry Gibb joining her in two songs makes it really special.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

One Voice [DVD] [2006]
One Voice [DVD] [2006] by Barbra Streisand (DVD - 2006)
12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews