Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ideal for sensible users
My grandmother used a cast iron food mincer for years without any problems, mostly for making mince using up the meat, leftover from the Sunday roast. Shop-bought mince was always considered a poor relation. My grandmother was in service to a large house for several years from about 1898 as a maid/cook until her marriage.

How did she use it? Firstly, an onion...
Published on 17 Oct. 2011 by Englander

versus
51 of 53 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Fine while it works...
This mincer had moderate use (about a dozen times), and worked very well. The suction grip held perfectly on a kitchen work surface. Then, after nine months, during mincing some beef the plastic barrel, inside which the meat is pushed up to the cutters, split with a loud crack. The end.
Published on 8 Jan. 2008 by R. A. Somogyi


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ideal for sensible users, 17 Oct. 2011
By 
This review is from: Eddingtons Mincer Pro, White (Kitchen & Home)
My grandmother used a cast iron food mincer for years without any problems, mostly for making mince using up the meat, leftover from the Sunday roast. Shop-bought mince was always considered a poor relation. My grandmother was in service to a large house for several years from about 1898 as a maid/cook until her marriage.

How did she use it? Firstly, an onion cut into thin wedges was put through the mincer to 'lubricate' it. The meat was cut into small pieces and fed into the mincer a little at a time. (Don't fill up the mincer receptacle with meat and then push it down, as this only compresses fresh uncooked meat back into a mass and makes cutting it into pieces pointless). Lastly, a small amount of bread, cut into small pieces was minced. The dry bread acts as a cleanser, taking through most remaining traces of meat. Minced bread also makes for a lighter mixture. Washing and oiling the mincer was then easier. (All cast iron mincers should be well dried and oiled after each use as rust deposits can form).

The Eddington Mincer is made of heavy-duty acrylic and so cannot rust. Whilst acrylic is obviously not as strong as cast iron, it should not cause problems if properly used - the same technique as my grandmother used all those years ago. How is it that some reviewers find this mincer to be excellent whilst others condemn it as useless. It is all in technique. Meat should never be forcibly pushed into the mincer. Just a little encouragement with the supplied 'meat-pusher' is all that is required. If the meat is first cut into small pieces and fed a little at a time then the driving screw will not compact and seize up.

The mincer is fixed to the worktop surface by vacuum action. This obviously requires a smooth surface so that a perfect seal is obtained. It is therefore unlikely to fix properly to a textured surface, as the texture will prevent a proper vacuum. My mincer fixes to the smooth worktop and stays rigid throughout use. The handle should turn quite easily. If you have to apply a lot of pressure to the handle during mincing then either the large retaining ring is screwed on too tight, causing too much friction between the cutting blades and the mincing disc, or too much and too large pieces of meat are being fed into the mincer. The cutting blades should be installed so the cutting edge is facing the mincing disc. I find the course-mincing disc (with the larger holes) is best for meat. Used this way there is no undue stress applied to the mincer gears and driving screw (the large spiral feeder in the mincer) and it should work perfectly satisfactorily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 53 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Fine while it works..., 8 Jan. 2008
By 
R. A. Somogyi - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eddingtons Mincer Pro, White (Kitchen & Home)
This mincer had moderate use (about a dozen times), and worked very well. The suction grip held perfectly on a kitchen work surface. Then, after nine months, during mincing some beef the plastic barrel, inside which the meat is pushed up to the cutters, split with a loud crack. The end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Useless almost to the point of comedy, 17 May 2009
This review is from: Eddingtons Mincer Pro, White (Kitchen & Home)
When this product arrived, we found two broken-off pieces of clear plastic rattling around in the box. We considered sending it back, but since they weren't structural and wouldn't affect the operation of the mincer, we decided to chance it.

We needn't have worried.

The sucker pad would not stick to the worktop. On the second grind, turning the handle sent more meat back up the hopper than out of the end. Getting anything out of it at all required so much pressure on the "rammer" thing that the plastic started to make ominous cracking noises.

After 15 minutes we threw it straight in the bin (still with most of a steak inside) and ordered a takeaway which, I'm pleased to report, was delicious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A handy machine for cooked type food mincing, 4 July 2009
This review is from: Eddingtons Mincer Pro, White (Kitchen & Home)
This machine was delevired promptly and is a very compact unit. I was rather dissappointed when I tried to mince fresh meat, The cutter did not seem to cut cleanly and th meat wound round the blade stopping it passing through the holes of the outerplate. For other mincing it was ok.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Waste of Money, 23 July 2010
This review is from: Eddingtons Mincer Pro, White (Kitchen & Home)
This Mincer needs to go in the Mincer.The effort to get meat through is I am sure beyone most women. I had to get my husband who managed it with difficulty, The suction fixing is not strong enough for the effort required. Cleaning after use is quite a chore.Amazon should withdraw this product. It looks pretty, but does not work. It will be going in the bin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Meat Mincer, 22 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eddingtons Mincer Pro, White (Kitchen & Home)
My first one of these mincers split the casing wide open on the fifth time I used it,but decided to try another. At the moment I feel this is going the same way, even when putting smaller amounts of meat in. The main perspex top unit still gives a cracking sound when being used for the first time and Iam waiting for that big cracking sound again. It works OK at the moment but would not recommend this product. Go for a metal one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Help to eat healthily!!, 2 Mar. 2009
By 
Alan (Middlesex, UK.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Eddingtons Mincer Pro, White (Kitchen & Home)
This machine makes it possible to control exactly what you eat, cut away unhealthy fat & make 1st class mince for all your cooking. We got this one as a gift for my Grandson & his wife, we have had ours for over a year & it has been my best kitchen "gadget".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Product, 13 Mar. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eddingtons Mincer Pro, White (Kitchen & Home)
Having read all the negative reports on this mincer it was with some trepidation that I decided to go ahead. I must say that my doubts were unfounded. It is solidly made annd easy to assemble, it couldn't be easier. It sticks like a Limpet to our shiny worktop and is very solid in use. It may not stick so well to a textured worktop or tiles of course since it relies on a vacuum seal to hold it. We have only tried it on cooked meat (for Shepherds Pie!) but it worked without any problem. Cleaning is easy for the removable pieces, just put them in the dishwasher. The main part we wash by hand as the dishwasher is hard on clear plastics, a brush is needed to clean out the barrel of the mincer and it can be a bit fiddly, but everything has to be cleaned doesn't it?
Good product fair price, no worries!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars brian, 22 Feb. 2009
By 
Mr. B. Hunt (bolton lancashire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Eddingtons Mincer Pro, White (Kitchen & Home)
excellent product, cutter blade needed a slight sharpen with a whetstone
but minced very well afterwards
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars eddingtons mincer, 17 Feb. 2009
By 
This review is from: Eddingtons Mincer Pro, White (Kitchen & Home)
nice looking but if you have a tough piece of meat it will come unstuck but overall it is a good piece of kit
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Eddingtons Mincer Pro, White
£20.08
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews