Customer Reviews


10 Reviews

4 star
0

3 star
0

2 star
0


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ultimate Fred and Ginger collection - Fantastic Value
The Ultimate Fred and Ginger Collection. Every film they ever starred in together all in one box set. All the movies are re-mastered so the picture and sound quality for each movie is excellent. There are lots of special features including documentaries and a cd soundtrack, even press releases and high quality prints are included in the set.
Published on 8 July 2008 by N. Mcclellan

versus
1 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars returned goods
Had to return as discs could not be read by our TV (wrong zip code) zip codes are not very evident on buying would be helpful for a higher explanation of necessary zip codes required for UK TV's as very disappointed at having to return goods.
Published on 20 Jan. 2013 by Mrs Sheila Pearson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ultimate Fred and Ginger collection - Fantastic Value, 8 July 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Astaire & Rogers Ultimate Collector's Edition [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
The Ultimate Fred and Ginger Collection. Every film they ever starred in together all in one box set. All the movies are re-mastered so the picture and sound quality for each movie is excellent. There are lots of special features including documentaries and a cd soundtrack, even press releases and high quality prints are included in the set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A box set that simply reeks of class!, 13 Jan. 2009
By 
Scott Dean (Lincolnshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Astaire & Rogers Ultimate Collector's Edition [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
What can I write that will do this DVD collection justice?

It's simply perfect.

If you're a fan of Fred and Ginger and you have either a Region Free DVD player, or you can access a Region 0 hack code from the Net (and let's be honest, just about every DVD player has one), then you MUST buy this NTSC-coded box set now! Don't bother with any other currently available. It's well presented, with numerous free booklets, actual photographs and pamphlets, but what makes this my purchase of 2009 (and we're still in January as I write this), is the remastered quality of these glorious films.

Of course they've done the best they can with 80 year old films, and it all adds to the sheer class of these movies (I'm watching them time and again on a 50" Samsung, HD Plasma; using a Marantz DV7001 dvd upscaler, being boosted by a Onkyo TX-SR805 HD 7.1 AV Amplifier).

I can't rate this collection highly enough! The extras are superb, the commentary supplied on the most popular of the collection (Swing Time particularly), was an unexpected bonus; there are multiple short documentaries included with many of the main features, and all the seperate film shorts and the original trailers for the main event are a must for any fan of 1930's cinema.

I don't want to get too carried away in regard to the quality of the print of the films themselves. You can't expect absolute perfection from anything but the dancing. As I said, they're nearly 80 year old copies that are being enhanced here, but if like me you've been holding out for a complete collection of the Fred Astaire and Ginger Rogers musicals, you found the only one to buy.

I can't see anyone improving on this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Astaire and Rogers, 16 Dec. 2011
By 
An excellent presentation of the films of Astaire and Rogers during their partnership in the thirties. Nostalgic for the older film viewer and of interest to the younger viewers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Collection!, 1 Feb. 2012
By 
Musical Fan (Hertfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A fantastic collection of all the Fred Astaire and Ginger Rogers musicals. Quality is as good as you could reasonably expect, although the oldest movie 'Flying Down to Rio'is the best quality black and white print and the later MGM 'Barkleys of Broadway' disappoints given how well Warner Brother's have restored Easter Parade which is of a similar vintage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must for all Fred and Ginger fans, 7 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the definitive boxed set with all their films and many extras, although they are a little on the strange side, being a mixture of period cartoons and short films. The documentary disc is informative and the remastered films are timeless. The main issue is that they are region one and come from the US, attracting an import levy. So if you have a region free DVD and don't mind paying to import them, then there is no better set that this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Retro, 29 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A classic movie set by a master of the art of dance. A must have for all lovers of the super past times of dance and chivalry and romance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just the job. Bought this as present for my wife - she loved it. If you have a multiregion DVD player this will work for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quality and Service, 22 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am extremely pleased with the new condition and the very reasonable price. We shall have many hours of pleasureable veiwing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars super, 29 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What have seen so far its very good. Would recommend it to friends and family who are interested in musicals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars returned goods, 20 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Had to return as discs could not be read by our TV (wrong zip code) zip codes are not very evident on buying would be helpful for a higher explanation of necessary zip codes required for UK TV's as very disappointed at having to return goods.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews