Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic
This is an excellent Jet li film, a must for all fans. It has a nice sense of humour within the movie and aslo contains excellent fight coreography. It certainly shows a wide range of Jets abilities. I personally love the film, Its story is very well set up and also very interresting, fight scenes are very well intergrated within the story and film. THe final fight...
Published on 8 Nov 2001

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointing apart from 1 good fight scene at the close.
This film is a lot of hype and no real substance. For what promised to be a very exciting move with ground breaking fight scenes, the finished result is very poor indeed. There are only three fight scenes, two of which are well below par, compared to Jet li's earlier features. Overall the film, for me did not live up to previous expectations, and was very over rated...
Published on 15 Dec 2000


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 8 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Hitman [DVD] (DVD)
This is an excellent Jet li film, a must for all fans. It has a nice sense of humour within the movie and aslo contains excellent fight coreography. It certainly shows a wide range of Jets abilities. I personally love the film, Its story is very well set up and also very interresting, fight scenes are very well intergrated within the story and film. THe final fight sequence is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must see for all jet li fans,this is one cool film., 1 Oct 2001
This review is from: Hitman [VHS] (VHS Tape)
After reading some of the reviews for hitman i was amazed that some of the jet li fans did not rate this film.Get real this movie ooze's style,it's got a good plot,great action and some cool fight scenes,funny moments and the last fight scene is well played out by all concerned. All in all hitman is one hell of a film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hitman, 13 Sep 2009
By 
A. J. Harrison (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hitman [DVD] (DVD)
I really didnt think I was going to enjoy this movie but after a great opening sequence i was hooked. The film has its comedic moments and of course the poor dubbing helps with the laughs. This is a very good Jet Li movie filled with great action as allways.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious and action packed, 11 Sep 2009
By 
D. Gallacher "Goat" (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitman [DVD] (DVD)
Hitman is a highly entertaining martial arts/action adventure film starring Jet Li and Eric Tsang. The film throws you right into the action, and keeps up the pace throughout, with an intriguing storyline of vigilante justice and contract killing. Whilst with most martial arts films, the acting is never really the focus, the action and choreography are excellent, and some of the comedy courtesy of Eric Tsang is literally side splitting. This film has the lot, martial arts, gunplay, comedy and a good story. I highly recommend this title to add to you collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointing apart from 1 good fight scene at the close., 15 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Hitman [DVD] (DVD)
This film is a lot of hype and no real substance. For what promised to be a very exciting move with ground breaking fight scenes, the finished result is very poor indeed. There are only three fight scenes, two of which are well below par, compared to Jet li's earlier features. Overall the film, for me did not live up to previous expectations, and was very over rated. My advice is to buy 'Black Mask' or perhaps even 'Once upon a Time in China,' which showcase Jet li's formidable talent, with more style and panache.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Jet Li hitman with a heart, 3 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Hitman [DVD] (DVD)
Many people put this down as it low on action compared to his greats (Fist of Ledgend, OUATIC 1&2) but I love this film. It is Jet's only HK film that uses his voice which adds to his acting ability. There is two very good fights (+ 4 others) one as Jet and his maneger get atacked by two hitmen and the end battle against an American kick boxer and the yukuza boss. This is a good film for action fans, a worthy adition too any Kung Fu fans collection and a must for any hard core Jet Li fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A GOOD MOVIE, 21 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Hitman [VHS] (VHS Tape)
THIS IS A PRETTY DECENT MOVIE JAT LI SHOWS SOME FLASHY MOVES WATCH THE LAST FIGHT. SIMON YAM PERFORMS GOOD ASWELL ESPECIALLY IN THE LAST FIGHT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Jet Li's final Hong Kong film, 12 Oct 2003
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hitman [DVD] (DVD)
Hitman (1998) is the last Hong Kong film Jet Li made before coming to America and finding stardom in Hollywood. I have the 2002 American release of this film (re-titled Contract Killer). It's obvious from the beginning that this is a Hong Kong film because the voices are all dubbed (not all that impressively in spots), making it strange to listen to the hard-driving, rap-heavy soundtrack of English-language songs. As you may have guessed, this is not the original soundtrack. The whole movie has a weird feel to it: Jet Li's character Fu is not really the hired killer type, and it's hard to interpret the character in a good-bad dichotomy; the movie also seems to morph back and forth between action and comedy, eventually combining the two into a hybrid that entertains but doesn't feel exactly right.
The film opens quite impressively, with the assassination of a rich Japanese business man; the killer is good, having basically outsmarted and defeated a whole building full of bodyguards. Then we meet up with Fu (Li), a seemingly quite nice but cash-poor ex-soldier whom we find in the strange company of a gang of young assassins for hire. There's never really an adequate explanation for how he got in this unexpected business. Anyway, he's looked down upon because he has never really done a job. When he gets wind of a $100 million reward for the capture and murder of the man soon to be known as The King of Assassins, he tries to infiltrate the proceedings. There, he meets up with a con man named Norman (Eric Tsang), who for some unclear reason brings Fu to the meeting with him and tells him he will be his new agent. Fu is an unlikely choice for such a big job, and his first test shows clearly that he does not really have the heart of a cold-blooded killer. Still, he stays with Tsang and mixes it up with some major league assassins and criminals in an attempt to find the killer and claim the reward. There isn't a whole lot of action until the final third of the film, and only one scene stands out in terms of its impressiveness and length. The identity of the King of Killers did come as a surprise to me, although I'm sure it will be obvious to some. The end of the film, I might add, only further exacerbates my problem with the movie's concept; Fu's occupation just doesn't jive with the character's personality.
This is apparently as much of a comedy as it is an action film, thanks largely to Eric Tsang's character Norman the agent. You can't help but like the guy, especially given the fact that he doesn't seem cut out for the whole business of contract killing; he is pretty funny for the most part, but he does ham it up a bit much in several scenes. I think Jet Li did a fine job of acting here, but the character of Fu is by no means one of his better roles; Fu is just too vague and self-contradictory in nature. This is not really a martial arts film, I might add. There are several hand-to-hand contests, a couple of them involving a bad guy equipped with blinding light beams on his fingers and boots, but this is more of an action flick that just so happens to feature a few kung fu type encounters.
Hitman does offer a good view of Jet Li in the time period immediately preceding his jump to American movie stardom, and the contrast between this particular Hong Kong film and his American films is rather striking. Hitman is probably best suited for Jet Li fans because the movie itself just doesn't seem to click on all cylinders.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars one to miss, 13 Aug 2001
By 
This review is from: Hitman [DVD] (DVD)
As I own most of jets films I can say Hitman is a disappointing film. Jet plays a low key character who is hired buy a business man played by Eric Tsang, when a owner of a top company get murdered there is a huge reward money for the identity of the killer.
I don't think much of fight scenes because they either don't last long or there aren't enough of them.
If you're a fan of jet li then buy it but over wise i would look somewhere else. If you want Jet Li best film then buy fist of legend...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars ok but not more, 16 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Hitman [DVD] (DVD)
Well, I just bought this DVD because of Jet Li's Martial Art skills I've seen in 'Romeo must die'. Unfortunatly I have to say that there is not that much action in 'Hitman' and that the picture is not always as good as it should be. Ok for Jet Li fans but the others better get 'Romeo must die' or 'Crouching tiger hidden dragon' (the best fight scenes I've ever seen, and a very good story)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hitman [DVD]
Hitman [DVD] by Tung Wai (DVD - 2006)
£2.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews