Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Keep Going
Now hold on... Caesar 4 is not a Civ City type disappointment and I would suggest that hostile reviewers have not given themselves enough time to really find out how good the game is. Sure there are some bugs and the game crashes, but there is already a fix on the website for the trade route problem and most other crashes can be fixed by moving to "Best Performance" on...
Published on 3 Dec. 2006 by Geoff Cox

versus
15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Rather disappointing
I too thought Caesar IV would be as good as it's prequels, but unfortunatly the game can't help but crash, I have to restart my computer every half an hour due to crashes while i'm playing, which isn't exactly normal. The graphics are good although to play the game, you need a very high grade computer, mine is brand new with a crossfire graphics card and can only just...
Published on 2 Feb. 2007 by S. W. Dowdeswell


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Rather disappointing, 2 Feb. 2007
By 
S. W. Dowdeswell "Dowdeswells" (Spain, Comunindad Valenciana) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Caesar IV (PC CD) (Video Game)
I too thought Caesar IV would be as good as it's prequels, but unfortunatly the game can't help but crash, I have to restart my computer every half an hour due to crashes while i'm playing, which isn't exactly normal. The graphics are good although to play the game, you need a very high grade computer, mine is brand new with a crossfire graphics card and can only just handle it at top specs. Building placement is fiddly and sometimes the economy is too hard to handle. This is a good and enjoyable city game, it's just the fact it crashes that makes me give it a 2 star overall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Extremely disappointing, 12 Dec. 2006
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Caesar IV (PC CD) (Video Game)
The biggest disappointment with the game is its poor user interface and the fact that the game crashes far far far too often. My system exceeded the system requirements, but the performance is exceptionally jerky and poor, and the game is prone to complete system crashes or lock ups. Perhaps the makers may be able to resolve these issues with a patch in the near future, but until then I would look else where for your gaming needs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very... Very limited, 15 Mar. 2007
By 
Mr. M. J. Clark "Mj" (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Caesar IV (PC CD) (Video Game)
Unlike some of the other reviews here, I haven't had any problems with the game crashing or deleting The Sims 2 stuff. I bought this game not long after it came out. As a die-hard Caesar 3 fan (and all those others i.e. Pharaoh, Emperor, etc) I expected this to be amazing, or at least like Caesar 3 but with good graphics. I was very disappointed!
The map sizes are the 1st Problem. They are miniature and you hardly have room to build anything, and when you do, it doesn't look like a bustling city but more like a few houses and buildings placed down randomly. There are lots of options and different buildings but sadly the gameplay lets it down too much. As far as the combat is concerned, it is an improvement on the awkward Caesar 3 setup but I can't really comment on it as I haven't really done enough of it yet. This game is boring and you'll lose interest in it very quickly.
Overall I wouldn't recommend Caesar 4, I personally liked CivCity Rome instead and found a lot more potential in that. Hope that helps any!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Keep Going, 3 Dec. 2006
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Caesar IV (PC CD) (Video Game)
Now hold on... Caesar 4 is not a Civ City type disappointment and I would suggest that hostile reviewers have not given themselves enough time to really find out how good the game is. Sure there are some bugs and the game crashes, but there is already a fix on the website for the trade route problem and most other crashes can be fixed by moving to "Best Performance" on the options. Otherwise, Tilted Mill has created a worthy successor to Caesar 3. The graphics, of course, are a great improvement and the requirement to build city walls make the towns attractive to look at. Buildings are nicely designed and go together well. My only grumble here is the poor choice of beatification items. The diagonal roads can work too, but unfortunately there is nothing to go in the triangular bit where they meet a regular road. The gameplay is challenging (unlike Civ City) - setting out the town requires thought and you will face financial problems early on. The Emperor is pretty annoying demanding substantial quantities of this and that and often doesn't give you any credit when you get the stuff off in time. Fulfilling all requirements and building a town of 5000 people will take you a long time. Having said all that, it is not giving me the same joy as Caesar 3... but what could?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars poor, 30 April 2007
By 
S. Bedder "Bedder" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Caesar IV (PC CD) (Video Game)
Compared to ceasar 3 this game is very dissapointing you dont get to see your city evolve as you improve it and the map is very jerky when setting downn building you apear to have set down items but thenn they move . the amount of options is annoying and the tutorial voice over often freezes.

Dont buy this get ceasar 3 severe dissapointment and a waste of money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The fart at the end of the meal, 19 Dec. 2007
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Caesar IV (PC CD) (Video Game)
Excuse the vulgarity but to sum this disappointing excuse for a sequel up that would be the phrase of choice.
Don't misunderstand me, this game is 'ok' in that it does everything you expect a city builder to do- water, security, food etc. but nothing more. In fact, other than the graphics (if you have acquired a computer from NASA, that is) theres no 'wow' factor at all. The menu can make people cry, trying to place any building, regardless of size makes, grown individuals sob in frustration and, most disparagingly, Ceasar 3 was infinitively better. It is, if you want an apt comparison, similar to any Disney sequal you can think of (except the lion king). And, most importantly, it will fatally crash or lock up your computer at least once a day, for no reason, at random, just as your getting into it.

And in conclusion- don't buy this game, buy Caesar 3 instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 28 Nov. 2006
By 
K. Smith (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Caesar IV (PC CD) (Video Game)
Like most of the reviewers for this game, I too am a little disappointed having waited for the release. I am finding my game freezes up everytime I start to trade with anyone and then sometimes it freezes up for no reason at all. As a long time player of Caesar III, Pharoh et al, Zeus and Children of the Nile, it just doesn't tick all the boxes. Don't rush to buy this, it might be worth waiting to see if they can iron out any glitches first,

Could do better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a patch on its predecessors, 6 Nov. 2006
By 
Sue Bentley (Cheshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caesar IV (PC CD) (Video Game)
Oh dear, I was so looking forward to this game! Yet here we are with a slow, buggy, patchy performing game (and I have a VERY high spec PC). Trade is boring, there is a stupid road you have to delete when you start (not a major flaw but is SHOWS the programmers are not City-build fans, they are programmers. They probably play World of Warcraft or maybe chess)

It is fiddly too, placing items fails 1 time in 5. Economic management is poor, your people are unhappy for no clear reason.

As a new game it would be adequate. As a followup for a superbe series it is disappointingly mundane and buggy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not as good as ceaser 3, 2 Nov. 2006
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Caesar IV (PC CD) (Video Game)
Firstly rhis game is visually stunning compared to ceaser 3 and pharoah, especailly whan you zoom into the factories and you can see the workers producing there goods. Its a good game but in my opinion there is one massive flaw in it, trade. In ceaser 3 when first startin a level i used to find the most expensive commodity and export it. In this game theres no prices shown of the goods. This you may think is just a little thing, nothing to get annoyed about but believe me it aint! The first thing you want to do in this game is build a successfull economy but when you dont know which goods are more profitable to export and which are cheaper to import you can easily find yourself in alot of debt. It just seems that the developers have left alot out of this game. Insted of building on the brilliant ceaser 3 they seem to have gone back to the drawing board and designed a whole new game. All i can say to this is IF IT AINT BROKE DONT FIX IT. All they needed to do was take all the aspects of ceaser 3 add some of the improvements that were made to the series which you see in pharoah and zeus and make the graphics more up to date. Of these they have done the last two but completly forgotton that caeser 3 was a brilliant game. This game will be dissapionting to caeser 3 fans that are looking for an improvment on 3. But all the problems aside it is a good game with alot of improvments, but it could of been alot better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars BUY CIV ROME THIS GAME IS A JOKE, 7 Jan. 2007
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Caesar IV (PC CD) (Video Game)
Having read the reviews I thought ah it will be fine and those technical problems will have been sorted by now or (and no offence ment) they have prob got an out of date video card or something. And as I installed the games sitting smugley at my brand new top of the range PC thinking its going to breeze this game delight! Its worked it got onto the game I completed the first tutorial got onto the second, and it crashes - it didnt just crash it froze up and sent my computer in the safe mode. I presurvered downloaded a patch read all of the tech help on the forum's and it improved but then went through a crashing frenzy and me still being stubborn presurvered until it crashed so badly I nearly lost my entire hard drive - yes its true.

A word of warning to sims 2 players with slightly older video cards etc this games messes with the settings when you install it - do so at your perille - as a die hard sims 2 fan I too have spent hours on my game and custom content and many friends have had the settings changed so much they have lost the game and had to reinstall and still couldnt play this game!

Civ rome is by far the best of the bunch. From what I have played of this game although building wise its 'freer' than the others its just not worth the risk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Caesar IV (PC CD)
Caesar IV (PC CD) by Sierra (Windows XP)
Used & New from: £29.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews