Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a 70s classic, more relevant now than ever
this book looks great - it reminds me of another favourite of mine, sophie grigson's "country kitchen" in both artwork and recipes.

most of the recipes are plain, good old fashioned fare, but easy to cook and delicious to eat. i have tried kipper quiche (it was fantastic), bangers braised in cider (mouthwatering) and curried eggs with cauliflower (believe it or...
Published on 13 Nov. 2008 by Amazon Customer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More common sense than frugal
I've enjoyed reading through this cook book to get Delia's take on frugal eating as well and it being a re-print from 1976.

Most of the recipies are common sense recipies rather that frugal in the sense that I've become accustomed, the extravagance seems to have been cut but some of the basic ingredience used are far from frugal - i.e. Beef, tuna and the tonnes...
Published 14 months ago by Just_meme


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delia's Frugal Food, 21 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Delia's Frugal Food (Hardcover)
This book was delivered in excellent condition. The recipes within it are practical and tasty. Most of the ingredients are ones which are kept in store cupboard and instructions are easy to follow.
i would highly recommend it and have done so at every opportunity!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Old and New cook book, 17 Mar. 2009
By 
This review is from: Delia's Frugal Food (Hardcover)
A very interesting book I didn't know that it had been previously published several years ago. Typical Delia update comments bringing the book into modern day. Priced very reasonably and easy to read. A must have for newby cooks.Good service re delivery by Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 16 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Delia's Frugal Food (Hardcover)
Really good book as you would expect from Delia
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Depressing, 6 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Delia's Frugal Food (Hardcover)
Bought this book to try and make the most of my newly acquired financial situation...but it might as well be a book of things to do with gruel and bread...nothing looks appetising, or particularly frugal.

Try Economy Gastronomy instead
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars There are better books around for econmising, 29 Oct. 2014
By 
Mrs H.J. Dyer (LOUGHBOROUGH, Leics United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Delia's Frugal Food (Hardcover)
The title implies money-saving tips for cooks. Well, not exactly. I find Delia's assumptions about what might just be in our larders shows a wealthier background than I was excpecting. There are better books around for econmising.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good content - bad paper, 7 Feb. 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Delia's Frugal Food (Hardcover)
this is a nice addition to the library with some interesting comments to update the reader- however- frugal should not extend to the paper quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delia's Frugal Food, 5 April 2010
By 
Mrs. V. A. Leslie "turre" (west yorkshire england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Delia's Frugal Food (Hardcover)
I bought this book for my mum on Mother's Day and she loves it. She had cooked two recipes before the day was out, on recipe of this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 9 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Delia's Frugal Food (Hardcover)
Quick delivery. Amazing book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT, 3 Nov. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frugal Food (Paperback)
In the present climate of the "crisis " this book is excellent - cheap food - who could ask for more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great family cookbook, 29 May 2010
By 
A. Woods (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Delia's Frugal Food (Hardcover)
The recipes all work well and are economical. Lots of ideas for simple, tasty and inexpensive food. Also good if you haven't had time to shop as there are good egg recipes. I would recommened this book, especially when you are watching how much you spend on your food.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Frugal Food
Frugal Food by Delia Smith (Paperback - 1976)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews