Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Haunting, Evocative, and Up lifting., 22 Mar 2007
By 
M. Hamer (Tamworth, Staffs) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ghost Is Not Real (Audio CD)
I've only just come across Husky Rescue; having read the revue for "Ghost is not Real" in Uncut, and I'm so glad I did. The Finnish five-piece; to me; sound like a mix of Sigur Ros and Air, (with female vocals).

As soon as I played the opening track "My Home Ghost" I knew I was in for something special. This beautiful sound with mesmerising, "ghostly "vocals from Reeta-Leena Korhola draws you in straight away. Then onto track two, "Diamonds in the Sky", one of the best tracks on the album, haunting and evocative. But for me, the most excellent track by far is the awesome, three-part epic "Blueberry Tree", which begins as a gentle, sweet song, then builds into a massively powerful instrumental, which makes the hairs on the back of my neck stand up.

Also; its not often I comment on this; but the artwork is brilliant.

"Ghost is not Real" takes you on a journey of chilled-out spellbinding sound that leaves you up-lifted, and inspired. It heals the wounds of a bad day at work.

As I said before, if you like Sigur Ros, and Air, you'll like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exquisite, 11 Mar 2007
By 
Matt Pucci "mattpucci.com" (Here, there and everywhere) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghost Is Not Real (Audio CD)
Like most listeners out there who are lucky enough to be acquainted with this band, I discovered Husky Rescue with their debut album, Country Falls, and instantly fell in love with their shimmering beats, haunting melodies, and the achingly beautiful vocals of Reeta-Leena Korhola. On Ghost is Not Real, the Finnish five-piece offer more of the same, but if anything this is even better; a note-perfect distillation of the band's desire to be "a warm breeze to counter the daily chill of life".

Melancholy and sweet, it's a great album to wind down to, or - even better - cosy up to a loved one with, but thankfully it's far removed from all the run-of-the-mill, bargain bin `chill out' music out there. Ghost... is quirky, atmospheric, and ethereal, and if you're a fan of Goldfrapp, Air, or you like the sound of the term `electro country', I recommend buying this. You'll love it - and probably still be listening to it in years to come.

Truly sublime.

Matt Pucci
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing! Even better than the last album., 5 Feb 2007
This review is from: Ghost Is Not Real (Audio CD)
I fell in love with this band when I first heard their first album ¨Country Falls¨ a couple of years ago and have been eagerly awaiting their new album ever since. I'm pleased to say that it's been worth the wait :). They've managed to get a more cohesive band sound by concentrating on only having one vocalist with the gorgeous Reeta-Leena singing on almost all the songs. Personal faves are the Blueberry Tree part 3, Caravan and the epic full length album version of Nightless Night. I hate comparing bands but Husky Rescue remind me of a nice mix of the Cardigans, Goldfrapp and Air. Perfect for any occasion but especially Sunday mornings :)

The first album is a classic and I can't recommend this latest album enough! Everything about this album is beautiful with some more stunning artwork. Hope I get to catch them live this year! *****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ghost is here, 30 Mar 2007
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
The intention of Husky Rescue might have been to make warm music for a cold life, but there's a chilly prettiness to their astonishing second album "Ghost is Not Real." The pretty Finnish pop is upped a notch, to windy tinkly experimental pop that sweeps out into the epic at times, before shrinking back to a delicate folk sound.

"This is my home/the place where I'm lonely/ghost... is.... not... real," Reeta-Leena Korhola intones over a rippling, windy pop tune, with her words punctuated by a xylophone chime. The song expands out into a sweeping, cinematic tune that blows across speakers like a chilly wind.

The band pulls back a bit for the folky "Diamonds in the Sky," bouncy synthpop, eerie ambient pop, tinkling rippling melodies full of handclaps, and gentle folk laced with chilly synth. There's even the three-part experimental song "Blueberry Tree": shimmering, sparkling wintry melodies filled with sunshiny songwriting.

"Country Falls" was an amazing pop album, but "Ghost is Not Real" takes the entire snow-folk sound to new heights. Maybe it's because the band expanded from only one regular member -- frontman Marko Nyberg -- to a four-five-person band.

But whatever the cause, it's about as appealing and colourful as the Northern Lights, but quirkier. The music is a smooth collection of solid guitar, flute and drums, forming a sort of folk base. A lot of these songs are catchy mainly because of them, but sometimes they fade out almost completely, except for a soft guitar strum or flute.

But the music is wrapped in a layer of chilly keyboard that tinkles, sweeps and whistles like winter wind. And Husky Rescue know how to make the music go wherever they want -- songs like "Blueberry Tree III" spiral up into the sky, growing more intense and painfully exquisite with each rising riff.

With music that intense, it's kind of a surprise that many of the songs are as sunny as they are, with stuff about sunbeams and "your smile in the stars." But they also dabble in more fearful topics: "I'm afraid to fall asleep for dreams/I belong to you/in this world, you're for me." And it's all sung in Korhola's pretty, childlike voice.

The ghost may not be real, but "Ghost Is Not Real" is a magnificent return for Husky Rescue, taking electronic pop up to new levels. Absolutely stunning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome music!, 5 Feb 2007
By 
This review is from: Ghost Is Not Real (Audio CD)
This is simply an amazing album! I first heard of Husky Rescue when a Finnish friend played their first album Country Falls to me last year. It was a breath of fresh air and hasn't left my CD player since last summer! The new album is even better because it works as a full album from start to finish and really takes you on a journey from darkness to an optimistic light at the end of the tunnel. Always beautiful, gentle and exciting. My favourtite tracks are 'Diamonds In The sky,' 'Hurricane' and teh epic 12 minute 'Blueberry Tree' three-parter. Truly inspiring music that will stay on my CD player even longer than the last album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 20 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghost Is Not Real (Audio CD)
I love this album, it's been in my car for about 4 months straight and I haven't gotten sick of it yet!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Well worth checking out, 25 Feb 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghost Is Not Real (Audio CD)
Don't know a hell of a lot about the Huskies, and don't listen to a lot of indie style rock, but found this album very appealing, especially when ironing or cooking. It's cute and whimsical, with the kind of interestingly skewed angle on English that's often found in non-English bands' lyrics - but there is a dark side to their music too, and they can whip up quite a storm on some tracks. Good stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blueberry Treat, 26 May 2007
By 
A. McMahon (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghost Is Not Real (Audio CD)
First impressions were that this was a nice enough album but nothing that special, it wasn't till I got to Blueberry Tree that it really hooked me. You don't realise just how good this album is until then, and you go back and listen again and again. Quality dips after the excellent Hurricanes and ends with the very poppy but rather uninspired caravan otherwise this would have an extra star.

Also I have to agree with a previous reviewer and mention the album art, a great change to have some care and attention paid to the artwork, the group portrait inside is guaranteed to make you smile if nothing else does.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The butterflies are frightened by your words, 26 Mar 2007
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Ghost Is Not Real (Audio CD)
The intention of Husky Rescue might have been to make warm music for a cold life, but there's a chilly prettiness to their astonishing second album "Ghost is Not Real." The pretty Finnish pop is upped a notch, to windy tinkly experimental pop that sweeps out into the epic at times, before shrinking back to a delicate folk sound.

"This is my home/the place where I'm lonely/ghost... is.... not... real," Reeta-Leena Korhola intones over a rippling, windy pop tune, with her words punctuated by a xylophone chime. The song expands out into a sweeping, cinematic tune that blows across speakers like a chilly wind.

The band pulls back a bit for the folky "Diamonds in the Sky," bouncy synthpop, eerie ambient pop, tinkling rippling melodies full of handclaps, and gentle folk laced with chilly synth. There's even the three-part experimental song "Blueberry Tree": shimmering, sparkling wintry melodies filled with sunshiny songwriting.

"Country Falls" was an amazing pop album, but "Ghost is Not Real" takes the entire snow-folk sound to new heights. Maybe it's because the band expanded from only one regular member -- frontman Marko Nyberg -- to a four-five-person band.

But whatever the cause, it's about as appealing and colourful as the Northern Lights, but quirkier. The music is a smooth collection of solid guitar, flute and drums, forming a sort of folk base. A lot of these songs are catchy mainly because of them, but sometimes they fade out almost completely, except for a soft guitar strum or flute.

But the music is wrapped in a layer of chilly keyboard that tinkles, sweeps and whistles like winter wind. And Husky Rescue know how to make the music go wherever they want -- songs like "Blueberry Tree III" spiral up into the sky, growing more intense and painfully exquisite with each rising riff.

With music that intense, it's kind of a surprise that many of the songs are as sunny as they are, with stuff about sunbeams and "your smile in the stars." But they also dabble in more fearful topics: "I'm afraid to fall asleep for dreams/I belong to you/in this world, you're for me." And it's all sung in Korhola's pretty, childlike voice.

The ghost may not be real, but "Ghost Is Not Real" is a magnificent return for Husky Rescue, taking electronic pop up to new levels. Absolutely stunning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ghost Is Not Real
Ghost Is Not Real by Husky Rescue (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews