Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


67 of 67 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Matthew and Lucy think this is a good toy...
...and have enjoyed all the illusions. They even got creative and made their own spinning discs. For a reasonable price, we think this is a great pack which is both educational and fun. Matthew says, "If your mum will let you, ask someone for it for Christmas".
Published on 2 Dec 2008 by Nicci D

versus
18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bit disappointing - much better for free on the internet
The pack comes with a nice book with illusions and some kit to make your own 3D pictures. I sat with my kids to go through the illusions but they commented pretty quickly that they had seen them before and they showed me the same examples and more on the internet (including some nice videos on Youtube which actually demonstrate them very well).

The 3D kit was...
Published on 10 Jan 2011 by Martin Greenhead


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

67 of 67 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Matthew and Lucy think this is a good toy..., 2 Dec 2008
By 
Nicci D (Menston, UK) - See all my reviews
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Science Museum - Illusion Science (Toy)
...and have enjoyed all the illusions. They even got creative and made their own spinning discs. For a reasonable price, we think this is a great pack which is both educational and fun. Matthew says, "If your mum will let you, ask someone for it for Christmas".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bit disappointing - much better for free on the internet, 10 Jan 2011
By 
Martin Greenhead "martinrg" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Science Museum - Illusion Science (Toy)
The pack comes with a nice book with illusions and some kit to make your own 3D pictures. I sat with my kids to go through the illusions but they commented pretty quickly that they had seen them before and they showed me the same examples and more on the internet (including some nice videos on Youtube which actually demonstrate them very well).

The 3D kit was ok but the kids weren't that impressed, I guess kids today are not really used to the red/blue 3D glasses and expect more in the way of special effects.

Overall OK but after 15 minutes of use I can't see it being relooked at.
Disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK'ish but could be much better, 9 May 2011
By 
Sailorjohn (Milton Keynes UK) - See all my reviews
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Science Museum - Illusion Science (Toy)
I bought this for my 6 year old granddaughter as I have an ongoing crusade to broaden her interests into the sciences (which has been very successful by the way..she just loves the Science Museum). This kit is OK'ish. The optical illusions are interesting for children but they are printed on very small cards and come across as a bit 'cheap'. A couple of them only work in fluorescent light, OK if you are in a factory or perhaps an office but how many homes have this type of lighting these days ? The 3D glasses and associated images are very cheap and not that cheerful, if fact not as good as those sometimes given away in newspapers and by Channel 4 TV a couple of years ago, hardly usable. For the money the kit could be much better quality, with more items and better explanations. Don't be put off from buying it if you want to introduce a child into some simple optical ideas but don't expect to much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars illusion, 2 Jan 2011
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Science Museum - Illusion Science (Toy)
Brought this for my 11 year old daughter for christmas and she spent a good few hours playing with this and showing us all. she really enjoyed it.Box was a bit smaller than i thought it would be though.
Quite good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It was fun but not fun enough., 14 Aug 2010
A Kid's Review
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Science Museum - Illusion Science (Toy)
The 3D glasses were good they worked really well, The spinner worked really well and everything else except the pens worked well. You really couldn't write in 3D with them if it had a page that shows you how to write in 3D It would be so much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars its ok but over priced, 26 Dec 2011
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Science Museum - Illusion Science (Toy)
I bought this kit whilst it was on special offer of 5 thank goodness i didn't pay full price. My daughter spent about 20 mins going through the book and twirling the dial. Although some of the stuff is new, most of the optical illusion pictures are free on the internet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unfortunately Dissapointed, 31 Aug 2011
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Science Museum - Illusion Science (Toy)
i was a little disapointed when i saw how small this package was for the money that i paid for it, thought it would have been a little bit more. However the postage was fairly quick which was good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Illusion Science, 1 Mar 2013
By 
Jeanlyn "Jeanlyn" (Shropshire England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Science Museum - Illusion Science (Toy)
This was really fun for the little recipient, though he did need help from Dad to understand the instructions and also to understand what he was seeing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great fun even for a short while, 9 May 2011
By 
Marius-Tudor Stoian (Bradford, Bradford, UK) - See all my reviews
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Science Museum - Illusion Science (Toy)
Bought this for my 7 years old cousin. He enjoyed the illusions and everything else, even if it was for a short while.
Someone commented that you can see everything on the Internet. True, but this is an activity for using the computer. It's more fun doing practical stuff and young children should enjoy that and not waste their lives in front of a computer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not much in the box for the money, 16 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Science Museum - Illusion Science (Toy)
Supplier ervice and delivery good, but was dissapointed with the contents. Perhaps my expectations were too high but the item was purchased as a gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Science Museum - Illusion Science
10.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews