Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


69 of 69 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Matthew and Lucy think this is a good toy...
...and have enjoyed all the illusions. They even got creative and made their own spinning discs. For a reasonable price, we think this is a great pack which is both educational and fun. Matthew says, "If your mum will let you, ask someone for it for Christmas".
Published on 2 Dec. 2008 by Nicci D

versus
21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bit disappointing - much better for free on the internet
The pack comes with a nice book with illusions and some kit to make your own 3D pictures. I sat with my kids to go through the illusions but they commented pretty quickly that they had seen them before and they showed me the same examples and more on the internet (including some nice videos on Youtube which actually demonstrate them very well).

The 3D kit was...
Published on 10 Jan. 2011 by MartinRG


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

69 of 69 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Matthew and Lucy think this is a good toy..., 2 Dec. 2008
By 
Nicci D (Menston, UK) - See all my reviews
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Science Museum - Illusion Science (Toy)
...and have enjoyed all the illusions. They even got creative and made their own spinning discs. For a reasonable price, we think this is a great pack which is both educational and fun. Matthew says, "If your mum will let you, ask someone for it for Christmas".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bit disappointing - much better for free on the internet, 10 Jan. 2011
By 
MartinRG "martinrg" (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Science Museum - Illusion Science (Toy)
The pack comes with a nice book with illusions and some kit to make your own 3D pictures. I sat with my kids to go through the illusions but they commented pretty quickly that they had seen them before and they showed me the same examples and more on the internet (including some nice videos on Youtube which actually demonstrate them very well).

The 3D kit was ok but the kids weren't that impressed, I guess kids today are not really used to the red/blue 3D glasses and expect more in the way of special effects.

Overall OK but after 15 minutes of use I can't see it being relooked at.
Disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars illusion, 2 Jan. 2011
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Science Museum - Illusion Science (Toy)
Brought this for my 11 year old daughter for christmas and she spent a good few hours playing with this and showing us all. she really enjoyed it.Box was a bit smaller than i thought it would be though.
Quite good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It was fun but not fun enough., 14 Aug. 2010
A Kid's Review
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Science Museum - Illusion Science (Toy)
The 3D glasses were good they worked really well, The spinner worked really well and everything else except the pens worked well. You really couldn't write in 3D with them if it had a page that shows you how to write in 3D It would be so much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars its ok but over priced, 26 Dec. 2011
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Science Museum - Illusion Science (Toy)
I bought this kit whilst it was on special offer of £5 thank goodness i didn't pay full price. My daughter spent about 20 mins going through the book and twirling the dial. Although some of the stuff is new, most of the optical illusion pictures are free on the internet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK'ish but could be much better, 9 May 2011
By 
Sailorjohn (Milton Keynes UK) - See all my reviews
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Science Museum - Illusion Science (Toy)
I bought this for my 6 year old granddaughter as I have an ongoing crusade to broaden her interests into the sciences (which has been very successful by the way..she just loves the Science Museum). This kit is OK'ish. The optical illusions are interesting for children but they are printed on very small cards and come across as a bit 'cheap'. A couple of them only work in fluorescent light, OK if you are in a factory or perhaps an office but how many homes have this type of lighting these days ? The 3D glasses and associated images are very cheap and not that cheerful, if fact not as good as those sometimes given away in newspapers and by Channel 4 TV a couple of years ago, hardly usable. For the money the kit could be much better quality, with more items and better explanations. Don't be put off from buying it if you want to introduce a child into some simple optical ideas but don't expect to much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unfortunately Dissapointed, 31 Aug. 2011
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Science Museum - Illusion Science (Toy)
i was a little disapointed when i saw how small this package was for the money that i paid for it, thought it would have been a little bit more. However the postage was fairly quick which was good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good fn, 2 Feb. 2014
By 
Mrs. S. M. Codd (Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Science Museum - Illusion Science (Toy)
Great stocking filler for 8 year old boy. Fun and easy to do, however not sure it will be used many times as once you' ve done it you know how it is done. Interesting though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Illusion Science, 1 Mar. 2013
By 
Jeanlyn "Jeanlyn" (Shropshire England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Science Museum - Illusion Science (Toy)
This was really fun for the little recipient, though he did need help from Dad to understand the instructions and also to understand what he was seeing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Science Museam - illusion science, 14 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Science Museum - Illusion Science (Toy)
This item didn't capture the imagination of the child (aged 7) in the way that I'd hoped it would. (Perhaps that's because it lacked sophistication - not shiny, noisy or battery/computer driven). However, having just asked the child what he thought of it, he asked me to up the star rating from three to four and said that he still plays with it from time to time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Science Museum - Illusion Science
£10.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews