Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars28
3.8 out of 5 stars
Price:£8.55+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 December 2008
...and have enjoyed all the illusions. They even got creative and made their own spinning discs. For a reasonable price, we think this is a great pack which is both educational and fun. Matthew says, "If your mum will let you, ask someone for it for Christmas".
11 comment|72 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 10 January 2011
The pack comes with a nice book with illusions and some kit to make your own 3D pictures. I sat with my kids to go through the illusions but they commented pretty quickly that they had seen them before and they showed me the same examples and more on the internet (including some nice videos on Youtube which actually demonstrate them very well).

The 3D kit was ok but the kids weren't that impressed, I guess kids today are not really used to the red/blue 3D glasses and expect more in the way of special effects.

Overall OK but after 15 minutes of use I can't see it being relooked at.
Disappointing.
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2010
The 3D glasses were good they worked really well, The spinner worked really well and everything else except the pens worked well. You really couldn't write in 3D with them if it had a page that shows you how to write in 3D It would be so much better.
0Comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2011
I bought this for my 6 year old granddaughter as I have an ongoing crusade to broaden her interests into the sciences (which has been very successful by the way..she just loves the Science Museum). This kit is OK'ish. The optical illusions are interesting for children but they are printed on very small cards and come across as a bit 'cheap'. A couple of them only work in fluorescent light, OK if you are in a factory or perhaps an office but how many homes have this type of lighting these days ? The 3D glasses and associated images are very cheap and not that cheerful, if fact not as good as those sometimes given away in newspapers and by Channel 4 TV a couple of years ago, hardly usable. For the money the kit could be much better quality, with more items and better explanations. Don't be put off from buying it if you want to introduce a child into some simple optical ideas but don't expect to much.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2011
i was a little disapointed when i saw how small this package was for the money that i paid for it, thought it would have been a little bit more. However the postage was fairly quick which was good.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2011
Brought this for my 11 year old daughter for christmas and she spent a good few hours playing with this and showing us all. she really enjoyed it.Box was a bit smaller than i thought it would be though.
Quite good value for money.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2014
Great stocking filler for 8 year old boy. Fun and easy to do, however not sure it will be used many times as once you' ve done it you know how it is done. Interesting though.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2013
This was really fun for the little recipient, though he did need help from Dad to understand the instructions and also to understand what he was seeing.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2013
This item didn't capture the imagination of the child (aged 7) in the way that I'd hoped it would. (Perhaps that's because it lacked sophistication - not shiny, noisy or battery/computer driven). However, having just asked the child what he thought of it, he asked me to up the star rating from three to four and said that he still plays with it from time to time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2011
I bought this kit whilst it was on special offer of £5 thank goodness i didn't pay full price. My daughter spent about 20 mins going through the book and twirling the dial. Although some of the stuff is new, most of the optical illusion pictures are free on the internet.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)