Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but could be more educational
I bought this for my 6 year old granddaughter as part of an ongoing gentle encouragement of all things scientific. She had seen real life Praxinoscopes in both Disney Land and at the Science Museum.

The kit is fairly easy to put together, needs adult guidance here and there, as some of the parts would break if forced.

Once assembled it works well,...
Published on 9 May 2011 by Sailorjohn

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Make your own film
On behalf of my 9 year old grandson, he found this toy interesting & educational. He has enjoyed making up his own stories. It is a sort of basic camera.
Published on 13 Feb 2009


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but could be more educational, 9 May 2011
By 
Sailorjohn (Milton Keynes UK) - See all my reviews
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kidz Labs - Animation Praxinoscope (Toy)
I bought this for my 6 year old granddaughter as part of an ongoing gentle encouragement of all things scientific. She had seen real life Praxinoscopes in both Disney Land and at the Science Museum.

The kit is fairly easy to put together, needs adult guidance here and there, as some of the parts would break if forced.

Once assembled it works well, she loved the galloping horse. Although there is a small battery powered light in the kit we found it wasn't needed, it works fine in just normal room lighting.

There was no explanation of either the history of the device, nor about why it works (persistence of vision etc.) which was disappointing as the kit can lead to discussion about how we see things, the famous Edward Muybridge bet that was the precursor to this device, leading to the history of cinematography etc.

All in all a good kit, but could be just that bit better with more background and perhaps some more slides.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kidz Praxinoscope, 18 Jan 2010
By 
Fiona L. Meikle "FiMe" (Lancaster, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Kidz Labs - Animation Praxinoscope (Toy)
Great, fun toy - got this for my 8 yr old and she loved it! Really easy to assemble - though not very robust, and them kept her entertained for ages with all the preprinted "film" slips. Shes even had a go at making her own images on the blank sheets that come with it. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My 8Yr old loved this stocking stuffer, 15 Jan 2011
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Kidz Labs - Animation Praxinoscope (Toy)
I bought this along with quite a few other presents along similar lines for my 8yr old Boy and He has loved them all, this one demonstrates a simple visual effect that simulates a moving picture. There are quite a few Pictures supplied and He can make his own as well. It needs assembling but that was not a problem, infact I wasnt even needed for this process as it is fairly simple. The other comments on quality and potential durability are reasonable but if honest I cant see that it could be made much more substantially without increasing the cost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very pleased, 30 Dec 2010
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Kidz Labs - Animation Praxinoscope (Toy)
This was an excellent choice for my Grandson. Easy to put together and use, providing lots of fun for him and the rest of the family. I especially like the blanks for him to design his own drawings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good purchase, 28 April 2012
By 
Mark Byrne (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kidz Labs - Animation Praxinoscope (Toy)
Maybe a little flimsy for a child to handle, but when put together it is very good seeing how the animation works whilst moving. If it had an 'older' look, it would be a more appealing product. Worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kidz Labs Animaation Praxinoscope, 17 April 2012
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kidz Labs - Animation Praxinoscope (Toy)
Though given to a 7 year old his 9 year old sister was most fascinated with it and together they got a lot of fun and experience from it. It has taught them so much about cartoon making and one can approach it either as an artist or a mechanic. It does need an adult to oversee it - with sensitivity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great educational value, 9 Jun 2011
By 
F. H. M. Commissaris (Europe) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Kidz Labs - Animation Praxinoscope (Toy)
This is a toy I would recommend. It's a great way to get to know the principles of animation. Good value for money. Not really robust, but good enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Make your own film, 13 Feb 2009
A Kid's Review
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
On behalf of my 9 year old grandson, he found this toy interesting & educational. He has enjoyed making up his own stories. It is a sort of basic camera.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Birthday gift, 28 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kidz Labs - Animation Praxinoscope (Toy)
This item was also a Birthday gift for our Granddaughter along with the Flip Book
Excellent value for money, easy to assemble with clear instructions
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good fun, 7 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kidz Labs - Animation Praxinoscope (Toy)
Good basic toy, only a few parts, handy to put together.
Kids liked it, there are a few blank discs to make their own cartoons with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kidz Labs - Animation Praxinoscope
10.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews