Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My personal favourite
"The Perils of Penelope Pitstop" is one of two spin-off shows from "Wacky Races", but is often overshadowed by "Dastardly and Muttley in Their Flying Machines", which had more episodes, a larger fanbase, and had more screen-time when it was repeated on Cartoon Network and Boomerang. Aside from a rerun in the 1990's on Cartoon Network, I don't think this show has been...
Published on 9 April 2011 by Andrew Norris

versus
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Camp capers
Heiress Penelope Pitstop is in perpetual peril from her fortune hunting guardian Sylvester Sneakly, who, disguised as the Hooded Claw, attempts to bump her off in order to get his hands on her rather vast fortune. His plans are thwarted by Penelope's heroes, the Ant Hill mob and their car Chug-A-Boom, who always come to the rescue in the nick of time.

Penelope...
Published on 23 Sep 2009 by Mr. T. Harvey


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My personal favourite, 9 April 2011
By 
Andrew Norris (West Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Perils Of Penelope Pitstop: The Complete Series [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
"The Perils of Penelope Pitstop" is one of two spin-off shows from "Wacky Races", but is often overshadowed by "Dastardly and Muttley in Their Flying Machines", which had more episodes, a larger fanbase, and had more screen-time when it was repeated on Cartoon Network and Boomerang. Aside from a rerun in the 1990's on Cartoon Network, I don't think this show has been re-aired at all, which is a pity, because it is a very fine series indeed.

The show, which draws inspiration from "The Perils of Pauline" and the movies of the Keystone Kops, features Penelope Pitstop as the heiress to a vast fortune, and is in constant peril from her guardian, Sylvester Sneakly, who adopts the mantle of the Hooded Claw to try and kill Penelope so that he can claim the fortune as his own. The only things that stand in his way are the Ant Hill Mob (now Penelope's bodyguards and no longer crooked gangsters as they were in "Wacky Races"), as well as Penelope's own resourcefulness. Each episode is 30 minutes of madcap hilarity that is both a gentle homage to the silent films of the 1920's, and a zany slapstick extravaganza that makes each episode so enjoyable.

The Ant Hill Mob are ultimately the stars of the show, goofing up their own plans to rescue Penelope, but still somehow manage to rescue her anyway. It brings to mind "Scooby Doo Where Are You!", where the traps laid in every single episode malfunction thanks to the bungling of Shaggy and Scooby, but the crook is always caught in the end. That was what made the show for me - no matter how big a clutz you are, you can still do it if you just put your mind to it. Plus, it's more fun that way!

I strongly urge everybody to watch this show - it may not be "Dastardly and Muttley", but it still manages to entertain in its own special way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'll get you Pitstop...., 14 July 2011
This review is from: The Perils Of Penelope Pitstop: The Complete Series [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
....if it's the last thing I do!! Obviously would have been much simpler to shoot her but devious shenanigans make for a better cartoon, i think you'll agree... Marvellous nonsense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Camp capers, 23 Sep 2009
By 
This review is from: The Perils Of Penelope Pitstop: The Complete Series [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Heiress Penelope Pitstop is in perpetual peril from her fortune hunting guardian Sylvester Sneakly, who, disguised as the Hooded Claw, attempts to bump her off in order to get his hands on her rather vast fortune. His plans are thwarted by Penelope's heroes, the Ant Hill mob and their car Chug-A-Boom, who always come to the rescue in the nick of time.

Penelope is a resourceful gal; how fortunate she always seems to have a nail file or hair grip to help free herself - despite her hands being tied. And look, she doesn't run, but leaps balletically. How charmin! But it is strange that she cannot work out that the Hooded Claw is really her guardian in disguise.

And the gallant Ant Hill mob; what they lack in stature, they sure make up in bravery employing ingenious methods to get Penelope out of some sticky situations.

The star of the show is the Hooded Claw, who whatever disguise he assumes, always makes sure his pince-nez is securely in place and who dreams up ever more elaborate Heath Robinson contraptions designed to eliminate our heroine -"this one's a doozy, Pitstop". But, what's this, why is Paul Lynde, who voices the Hooded Claw, not credited in the end sequences? What dastardly fiend has had a hand in this appalling omission?

I do declare this is the campest cartoon I have ever seen!

Great fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brillant show remebered it from my childhood, 19 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Perils Of Penelope Pitstop: The Complete Series [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
the perils of penelope pitstop this a vfery memable tv series it touch my heart so many time since i bought this Dvd it brings back my childood when i was on tv
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great cartoon, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great cartoon series i loved it it was really good watching the episodes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars memories of childhood, 14 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Perils Of Penelope Pitstop: The Complete Series [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
it was just as good as I remember it, if not even better. Loved it. Definately not just for kids
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for 7 year old, 11 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Perils Of Penelope Pitstop: The Complete Series [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
My seven year old granddaughter loves Penelope. Not sure whether she's a good role model! On the other hand my four year old grandson says he's scared of the Hooded Claw, but that might be because he wants to watch something else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hanna Barbera Fantastic, 28 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Like all the Hanna Barbera cartoons the Perils Of Penelope Pitstop was a blinder. All the various characters adding up to make a great tv experience such as the hooded claw, the anthill mob, the gruesome twosome, the cavmen etc etc brilliant.
DVD arrived on time and in perfect condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars perils of penelope pitstop dvd, 11 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Perils Of Penelope Pitstop: The Complete Series [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Really funny cartoon serial based on the old Perils of Pauline serial from the old cinema days. What a brilliant villain the hooded claw is and what a very unusual and funny voice he has. Also he dosent wear a hood and he hasnt go a claw!!!!
His henchmen, the bully brothers are also quite funny too. Great value for money as there are 17 episodes in this collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved by all, 20 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Perils Of Penelope Pitstop: The Complete Series [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
This DVD was bought for our 10 year old Grand son who loves it.
However I think that the entire family including grandma and granddad have enjoyed it just as much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Perils Of Penelope Pitstop: The Complete Series [DVD] [2006]
10.61
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews