Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars timeless entertainment
A superb collection of nostalga from a timeless period. The quality of the recordings is excellent. Highly recommended
Published on 16 Sep 2009 by theberbster

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars So-so
Very old-fashioned sound and not well-grouped. (see Joe Loss above ) It makes it difficult to practise dancing when you have to stop and re-select a style each time/
Published 16 months ago by Susan Harrison


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars timeless entertainment, 16 Sep 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential Collection - British Dance Bands (Audio CD)
A superb collection of nostalga from a timeless period. The quality of the recordings is excellent. Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Recordings from the Golden Age of British Dance Bands, 28 Jun 2007
By 
Barry McCanna (Normandy, France) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Essential Collection - British Dance Bands (Audio CD)
This 2-CD set comprises 50 tracks and delivers over two-and-a-half hours of music for half the price of one normal CD. It sounds too good to be true, and has been achieved by combining two earlier separate CDs, AVC 539 and AVC 632. The track listing omits personnel and recording dates, and the liner note is minimal, but sound quality is excellent and some of these tracks have not been reissued since their original release. It could be argued that others are too familiar, and that a few do not merit "essential" status, but that would be to look a gift horse in the mouth, because overall this is an excellent compilation. Whether or not to buy it must depend partly on how many of these tracks you own already, but with that small proviso it is heartily recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great value, 15 Mar 2008
By 
C. N. Windsor "chas windsor" (stamford lincs) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential Collection - British Dance Bands (Audio CD)
when i ordered this double c.d for such a low price i was;nt quite sure what i would be getting but i was pleasently surprised. to get 50 briliant recordings played & sung by an array of top class artists lasting 2 and a half hours is real value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good old days, 13 Jun 2010
By 
Mrs. Barbara A. Mcewen "Oldie" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Essential Collection - British Dance Bands (Audio CD)
My Father, who is 93 years old, was reminiscing about the 'Good Old Days' of band music. Being a musician himself he had a hankering to hear these bands play again, not the modern day music that he can't understand. It is difficult for him to understand that the way for him to hear this music is on a cd, he didn't know what that was, but was thrilled when he heard the lovely sounds coming from the 'boogie box', another first for him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Essential Collection - British Dance Bands, 9 Mar 2012
By 
J. Y. Brown (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential Collection - British Dance Bands (Audio CD)
What a fabulous CD - the mix of Orchestras and Bands is superb and the quality just excellent. What a find and what a terrific buy. So glad I happened upon it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 4 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential Collection - British Dance Bands (Audio CD)
Typical dance music of the 1930s. The music has a light touch and is full of humour - delightful. Such is sadly missed today. A bargain for two CDs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Essential Collection - British Dance Bands", 12 Nov 2010
This review is from: The Essential Collection - British Dance Bands (Audio CD)
This marvellous collection of dance band music selections is absolutely brilliant from start to finish and the price is great. I have some of these on LP and the compiler seems to have chosen songs which I already rate highly in my LP collection and I look forward to more of the same.
The only slight niggle I have is the lack of a date for each individual item - as the producers seem to have given Al Bowlly's 'Essential'Collecton by the same company. Otherwise it is perfect!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars of a certain age, 20 Nov 2013
By 
G. A. Matthews (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential Collection - British Dance Bands (Audio CD)
the dance bands were the music of my youth , a nostalgia fest , damned if i can understand the pop of today , heck i'm an old fogy and proud of it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars British Dance Bands, 14 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential Collection - British Dance Bands (Audio CD)
Good selection of 1920-1940 dance and jazz music from old 78s well remastered' Worth the price paid. delivered quickly fine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful nostalgia!, 14 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential Collection - British Dance Bands (Audio CD)
This brings me back to the good old days when people danced elegantly together and you actually had civilizped conversations on the dance floor without your ears being deafened by great blases of noise! O Happy Days!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa5e6eec4)

This product

The Essential Collection - British Dance Bands
The Essential Collection - British Dance Bands by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews