Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


73 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A warning to the curious...
This film isn't for everybody. When I saw it recently at the National Film Theatre, more people walked out over the course of it's 3+ hours than I'd ever seen at a cinema screening, not out of offense but out of boredom. To begin with, it feels loose and airy and virtually plotless as the two title characters encounter each other and gradually become inseperable. As they...
Published on 24 Sep 2006 by R. Yeatman

versus
4 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Celine and Julie sent me to sleep!
Most of my favourite films are from the early 70s, far more artistic license was available to directors then than has ever been allowed before or since. The result was that lots of arty, beautiful, trippy and way out films were made.

The downside is that some pretentious, overly long and dull films were also made, and I personally would put Celine and Julie...
Published on 20 May 2011 by Apostasy Now


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

73 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A warning to the curious..., 24 Sep 2006
By 
R. Yeatman (Bath) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: CÚline and Julie Go Boating [1974] [DVD] (DVD)
This film isn't for everybody. When I saw it recently at the National Film Theatre, more people walked out over the course of it's 3+ hours than I'd ever seen at a cinema screening, not out of offense but out of boredom. To begin with, it feels loose and airy and virtually plotless as the two title characters encounter each other and gradually become inseperable. As they begin their odyssey, the film tightens up and kicks in to a series of repetitions of a bizzare scene Celine and Julie are drawn back to again and again. I've read reviews which would suggest that this is a surreallist film but, far from being completely irrational, it is shot through with meaning - it's themes are friendship, childhood and memory, coming to terms with the past; and then there's always the strange mystery story unfolding directly on the screen.

It isn't the sort of film that will effortlessly entertain you - the viewer is expected to take a few steps to meet it: it requires a commitment that few other films do in terms of suspension of disbelief, emotional involvement, not to mention the sheer time it takes. If you feel ready though, I'd suggest a darkened room, phones turned off, watch it from beginning to end. There's a good chance you'll find it as delightful as I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strange and fascinating, 10 Jan 2007
By 
T. Preston "Francophile" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: CÚline and Julie Go Boating [1974] [DVD] (DVD)
I've never done reviews before but feel compelled to write something about this glorious film, which i saw at the NFT last year. As we sat down to watch and then realised it was over 3 hours long, my girlfriend and I agreed to give it an hour or so before nipping out to get something to eat as planned.

Try as we might, it just proved impossible as the narrative, although at times bordering on painfully slow, gripped us both with the question of what was going to happen to the women, their relationship, and in that house! There are a lot of surreal aspects to this film but that doesn't make it irrational, rather it draws you in and, if willing, makes you think about the various pictures, objects and characters and their relation to each other, as well as the nature of reality.

A lot of the difficulty with watching this film comes during large, slow-moving scenes in the middle, but if you persevere as we did, you are rewarded with an increasingly fascinating and amusing finale in which the narrative becomes progressively quicker and the scenes ever stranger.

In the end, the desire to work through the story provided our incentive to stay, and i'm so glad we did; the twist at the end as well as one of the most sublime pictures in a film i've seen making it, for me, a captivating experience.

Against my expectations, I loved this film, and hadn't been so enraptured by a movie since seeing Cinema Paradiso (though for very different reasons).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soft, strong and very, very long., 2 Feb 2008
By 
Mark Hilton (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: CÚline and Julie Go Boating [1974] [DVD] (DVD)
Even by the French New wave's standards, director Jacques Rivette's films come across as, shall I say..'Unique'.
Which is probably the reason he isn't as well known as the other New Wavers, such as Godard and Truffaut.

Yet surely fans of the French New Wave are actively looking for films that are a little strange and obtuse aren't they? If that person is you, then I wholeheartedly recommend that you give this film a try.

Celine and Julie meet for the first time at Montmartre. They suddenly end up sharing everything, life, flat, fiance, job, everything. On discovering a magic sweet, they find themselves participating in a film within a film. A young girl has been murdered and the duo must piece together the clues to find the culprit and save the girl. (if that plotline isn't the embodiment of genius, I don't know what is).

Apart from the baffling, magical plot, Celine and Julie works due to the natural chemistry of its leading ladies, Dominique Labourier and the late Juliet Berto. Just watching them impersonating each other during several awkward moments is a joy to behold.
But what resonates most is how Rivette's camera seamlessly enters these characters lives. The viewer almost becomes a third member of this team. As they piece together the plot, we are just as confused as they are.
Then there are the visuals. All hazy loveliness and sweet dreams, this is a place that lies somewhere past the end of the rainbow.

They sure don't make them like this anymore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You will probably either love this or hate it - but it's a masterpiece, 23 July 2007
This review is from: CÚline and Julie Go Boating [1974] [DVD] (DVD)
I am so grateful for Film-Four for showing this rarely seen masterpiece, which has hopefully brought this film to a wider audience.

It takes some patience and a great deal of dedication to watch for the first time, but if you can make the effort, each viewing after just gets better.

As reviews often point out, it's rather like an adult version of Alice in Wonderland/Through the Looking glass, of which there are echoes throughout, and you never quite know what is real and what is hallucination. To be honest, it doesn't really matter, because the film is a triumph of ideas and imagination over rigid structure and stifling plot devices.

The early 70s setting seems to add to that feeling of hallucinogenic fantasy and illusion, and of a less cynical era when anything seemed possible. It's definitely not for everyone, but if you stick with it, Celine and Julie will take you on a far more satisying ride than any US blockbuster.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tripping the light fantastic, 22 Jun 2009
By 
technoguy "jack" (Rugby) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: CÚline and Julie Go Boating [1974] [DVD] (DVD)
Loved this film.It's a sort of glorious,silly romp full of spirit and joie de vivre,with a feel of the 60s, but filmed in the 70s Montmartre.The leading actresses improvise a lot without a plot,creating dialogue.There is another house with a parallel universe feel to it where the actresses have to play a role and they seem to feel there is a kind of plot going on.They dress as nurses and suck a magic sweet.They have to kidnap a young girl who is in danger. They end up boating on a lake.A treat!Rivette's little bonbom came after he did an experimental film,Out1,which lasted for 13 hours.This was a wonderful doodle but it gives his own impression of a play-within-a film,the nature of the imagination and memory,the creativity of play.Combining Henry James and Alice-in-Wonderland.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, entertaining, fun, 16 Jan 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CÚline and Julie Go Boating [1974] [DVD] (DVD)
This is a brilliant, wonderful film. I have never seen a film more hilarious, enjoyable, charming and magical. Quite possibly the best film ever made. This is a million times better than anything from Hollywood. The two women gradually piece together a Henry-James-style story in which they play the nurse. They eventually subvert this story. There are themes of friendship, earth magic, feminism, and even socialism... But it still retains a magical, Alice in Wonderland quality. All on a golden afternoon...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Masterpiece, 20 Oct 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CÚline and Julie Go Boating [1974] [DVD] (DVD)
On first viewing I wasn't sure just how much I actually liked this film, but the characters are so memorable (if slightly annoying at first, particularly Julie's repetoire of squeaks, squawks and yelps!) that I just had to watch it again.

There is actually a lot more going on here than is first apparent, but you have to be receptive to it, and patient - as with all of Jacques Rivette's films. You won't get a 'quick fix' from a film like this, but you will get something much deeper if you give it a chance.

Like Tarkovsky, Bergman and Bela Tarr, this is the kind of film that repays patience, and can have a profound effect...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars C'est fantastique, 6 Oct 2007
By 
C. Buckley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: CÚline and Julie Go Boating [1974] [DVD] (DVD)
At first I found it hard to get into and had to watch it in two sections as I got lost after the first 90mins (it is a whopping 192 mins - I say whopping as I have a short attention span!). The second part I watched was easier as the plot sort of clicked. I would highly recommend this film - it is visually beautiful and well worth sticking with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OMG such a strange and weird film. See it!, 17 July 2013
By 
lewiscarrollnut (london, - United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CÚline and Julie Go Boating [1974] [DVD] (DVD)
This was quite celebrated in the 1960s. It's awfully strange, quite long and at first mystifying, centering on a strange fascination between two women who begin to take on parts of each others' identities in a magical way. And eventually, in a creepy old mansion, the story comes together in a shocking climax as they break a spell. Odd and dreamlike, in French with subtitles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great to be reacquainted with this classic, 1 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CÚline and Julie Go Boating [1974] [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent quality transfer; the extras are probably of more interest to someone doing film or media studies as I found them very academic. But this is a wonderful film, the two central women are enchanting throughout. Nostalia for a world lost. The 4 and a half hours running time flies by. No guns, no violence, no crashing helicopters, so if you like Lara Croft or Die Hard, it may not be for you. Spoiler alert - they really do go boating. There is also a lot of depth to the film - you can warch it again and again and see and remember more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

CÚline and Julie Go Boating [1974] [DVD]
Céline and Julie Go Boating [1974] [DVD] by Jacques Rivette (DVD - 2006)
ú11.44
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews