Customer Reviews


84 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars they keep the good times alive
series 5 or in america part two of series 4,family guy returns with a no nonsense style again,actually strike that from the record for most of this is nonsense,daft,cynical,cruel,completely removed from political correctness and border line insane but isnt that why we love family guy,i will take that as a yes.

Here we are feasted with another 14 episodes and...
Published on 9 May 2007 by sean paul mccann

versus
4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best Family Guy despite some great individual episodes
Despite being a massive Family Guy fan, I was a little disappointed in this box set. Season 5 is probably the weakest, although it's not without its moments. The first episode, PTV, is a Family Guy classic and the episodes featuring more of Mayor West (Deep Throats and You May Now Kiss The Guy Who Receives) are the highlights.

It pains me to give any Family Guy...
Published on 31 July 2007 by D. MacQueen


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars they keep the good times alive, 9 May 2007
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Family Guy - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
series 5 or in america part two of series 4,family guy returns with a no nonsense style again,actually strike that from the record for most of this is nonsense,daft,cynical,cruel,completely removed from political correctness and border line insane but isnt that why we love family guy,i will take that as a yes.

Here we are feasted with another 14 episodes and they are all great,some are more funny than others in truth,but all are entertaining,all are warped and all are sharper than a suitcase of blades.Family guy challenges everything,and takes no prisoners,celebrities are beaten down in family guy,few are left with their pride intact.

The characters of the griffin family again are portrayed as a unit of fools and we have to admire that,the recurring back up characters again shine such as quagmire who gets engaged and loses his traits,much to peter griffins horror,we view much more beside,in fact too much to mention,but this is comedyy that wont suit everyone and im sick of comedies that cater for the needs of the majority anyway so there you have it,a brief summary but one you shouldnt avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars freakin brilliance, 9 Nov. 2006
This review is from: Family Guy - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
this is the first time ive ever felt the need to review something ive purchased. having been a fan of family guy since it first hit british tv, i have been gobsmacked at the consistency and constant new and fresh material used. every new season just gets better and better. i really did think that because of the short amount of time since season 4 that this time id feel a little let down. how wrong could i be.....this is the best season by far, it is such comic genius mixed with un-pc hilarity, insanity and stupidity that it really does have no competition. it combines so many references to my youth as a 35 year old that it is easy to relate to unlike alot of american productions which tend to refer to american institutions and celebrities that leave us english wondering what is so funny. family guy works for me and i think this is the best so far, absolutely spot on, the word funny just doesnt do it justice...........genius!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius. Pure Genius., 13 Dec. 2006
This review is from: Family Guy - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
The Family Guy guys have done it again. Pure brilliance. Admittedly, the continuous references to Shows, Celebrities, and events in America do confuse, but this is still the greatest cartoon ever made. EVER. Don't even hesitate te buy. As an avid watcher, I would reccomend all seasons, but particularly four and five. The show has matured, but not in a comic sense. The gags are still of the most immature and lewd nature, but I challenge anyone to sit through The Fat Guy Strangler and not fall about laughing. The simple reality is that Family Guy is the best show ever to have graced DVD, and can be enjoyed by all. In Season 4 Peter is actually confirmed to be mentally retarded. Magic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It just keeps getting better!, 31 May 2007
By 
A. I. G. Crawford (Worcestershire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Family Guy - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Although many have said that Family Guy has started to run out of steam, I would disagree completely - I bought it recently to finish the collection so far and, in my opinion, it is the funniest of the lot. The development of Stewie's character from completely evil in series 1 (although funny, was beginning to get old) to the wry, camp character we see here is the best thing the writers could have done. The take-offs of Star Wars and Indiana Jones are just priceless (the Sandman Choir for example), among others, and the general level of writing is top notch. I would list my favourite episodes but, to be completely honest, every one in this series is fantastic! Bring on series 6!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like most things, just gets better with age., 10 Nov. 2006
This review is from: Family Guy - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Having brought the previous 4 seasons of family guy, i was looking foward to the latest installment,and i wasnt dissapointed.

The show remains as consistant as ever and the gags are bang on. Yes I will admit that on occasions the setups for the trademark "Like the time I..." cut-to gags aren't always that smooth, but you easily forgive them for it because the end joke will always have you in stiches. The storylines remain fresh and excellently written. ("PTV", "The Griffin Family History" and "Peterotica" are my own personal favourites)And there's the fantastic one-liners and un-P.C humour that we've come to expect from FG, and they dont let us down. The animation too is also worth mentioning, with some really impressive looking scenes and effects in many of the episodes.

And also you get added bonus of commentaries on EVERY episode this time around from Seth MacFarlane and Co, and a whole load of deleted scenes which is the iceing on a very delicious Family Guy cake. (CAUTION - Just a metaphor, do not attempt to eat the DVD as it will probably, amongst other things, affect your Statutory Rights)

So buy it. Most probably the best purchase you'll make this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Funniest TV Series to Exist, 19 Dec. 2006
By 
D. Reynolds (Hertfordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Family Guy - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
As I've said before, Family Guy is the funniest, most clever comedy around to date. There is a joke moreless every 10 seconds which are all so obviously or discretely funny. Some jokes you don't get at all but laugh because they're funny in another way. It's not about the jokes though, the episodes do have a storyline!

Season 4 was a slight disappointment I have to say as I thought there were too many jokes. BUT! Season 5 is honestly the best. The episode storylines are in general much better and interesting whilst being funny e.g. Peter getting his own explicit TV Channel. In these episodes the jokes flood in.

Below are episodes and synopsis of them :).

1. PTV - The FCC censor explicit content resulting in Peter creating his own explicit TV channel - PTV. This leads to the FCC censoring real life. Highlight - Ozzy Osbourne at a gig with a sandwich

2. Brian Goes Back To College - After Brian gets a job at the New Yorker but gets fired for not graduating, he goes back to college to finish off his education. Highlight - Stephen Hawking

3. BEST EPISODE The Courtship Of Stewie's Father - Stewie is forced to spend more time with Peter by Lois. Because of this, Peter realises that Stewie will only laugh and have fun with 'fat man' when he harms Lois. Highlight - Quagmire in the bar with sound muted because of Stewie and him doing sex positions.

4. Fat Guy Strangler - Lois discovers she has a brother who has been in an Asylum for many years and she gets him out. Several 'fat guys' go missing which is because of a certain trauma that happened to Lois's brother. Highlight - Bobby Mcferrin falling down the stairs

5. The Father, The Sun And The Holy Fonz - Peter starts his own religion after being told by Lois he shouldn't listen to his father. Highlight - Lois eating at Stewie's little table

6. Brian Sings and Swings - Brian has a near-death experience and gives up in life but then joins Frank Sinatra Jr in singing. Highlight - Brian drunk at the bar with the woman with 'huge boobs'

7. Patriot Games - After a bathroom issue resulting in Peter charging through a crowd, the manager of the New England Patriots asks Peter to play for the team. Highlight - Stewie getting the money off Brian

8. I Take Thee Quagmire - Quagmire falls in love and marries a woman which results in him losing his craving for sex. Highlight - The scene where the wife threatens to kill herself

9. Sibling Rivalry - Stewie's half brother Bertram returns after Peter donates all his sperm to a sperm bank. Stewie and Bertram battle for the playground. Highlight - Peter playing with the ducks

10. Deep Throats - Meg works for Mayor Adam West and Brian seeks to have him fired when he receives an unfair parking ticket. Highlight - Tom Cruise mock

11. Peterotica - Peter is ashamed of the erotic books about so he decides to write his own. When he gets sued for offensive material it backfires on Lois's father as he is the owner. This results in Lois's father trying to get rich again. Highlight - Everyone laughs at Brian. Peter: Shut up Meg.

12. You May Now Kiss The ...Uh... Guy Who Receives - Brian's gay cousin comes to stay with the family who is now in love. They intend to get married but Mayor Adam West puts a gay marriage ban on. Brian fights against this. Highlight - Stewie and the gay dance beat

13. Petergeist - Stewie is sucked into nowhere and becomes a poltergeist. The family fight to get him back. Highlight - Peter's head out of Meg's ass

14. Griffin Family History - The Griffin family have their house robbed as run into the 'Panic Room' where they stay. Peter tells the family about the Griffin history. Highlight - The robbers can be seen on camera in the 'panic room' and they have Meg. They say they have their son. Lois say's it's their daughter. The robbers write back saying 'Really?'.

There you have it! Family Guy season 5. Buy it and believe me, you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Family Guy at its best, 25 July 2007
This review is from: Family Guy - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
I was delghted when I watched this with how good it was. I was especially delighted because season four wasn't great and I thought Family Guy might hve been going downhill but I was proved wrong. This is my absolute favourite season yet. Even though a lot of the jokes feel quite familiar I still think they are really funny. I reccomend this series more than I reccomend any other Family Guy series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Please note-, 25 Oct. 2006
By 
Martand (London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Family Guy - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
To clarify the Family Guy Seasons on DVD;

Some reviews here state that Season 4 "Part 2" is unreleased, or Season 4 DVD set has 14 episodes missing, or Season 5 will be better etc. The fact is that this DVD set, entitled "Family Guy Season 5" is actually the second half of Season 4, with those aforementioned 14 episodes!

Confused??! Don't be! Season 4 had too many episodes to squeeze into a DVD set, as they would have overwhelmed the viewer. So, the episodes were split and the first half were released as "Family Guy Season 4" and the second half are released here on this set as "Family Guy Season 5".

I do think it can be a little confusing, especially as there actually IS a Season 5, currently being broadcast in the US. It will be released on DVD in 2007 as "Family Guy Season 6".

Basically, just buy Season 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5 and you will have all four seasons in all their glory.

Hope this helps clear it up for you :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A well balanced comedy, 27 Jun. 2010
This review is from: Family Guy - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Family Guy is turning into one of the finest shows on T.V, with every season passing it gets closer and closer to usurping The Simpsons and South Park as the king of T.V comedy. It's worth noting that Season 5 isn't as good as previous highpoints Series one and series four but it remains a well balanced comedy treat with so many brillinat pop references.
The best episodes in this three disc set are PTV in which peter sets up his own television station, I take thee Quagmire in which local Sex hound Quagmire gets married and Petergeist a wonderful riff on Tobe Hoopers classic movie Poltergeist.
The set also comes with commentary's on every episode most of which are quite amusing and a series of mixed deleted scenes, some great some rightfully deleted.
All in all a must have for fans and at its current price theres no excuse for even Family Guy novices to avoid this...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 3 Nov. 2007
This review is from: Family Guy - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
I have not seen series 6 yet, so I am not including that, but this is my favourite series of Family Guy so far. It has everything you'd expect from the show, unbelievably offensive jokes, brilliant hilarious storylines, and scenes that will make you laugh out loud. This is Family Guy at its best.

The episodes on this dvd are great, if decreasing slightly in greatness towards the end. I love the episode where Peter starts his own religion to workship Fonzy from Happy Days, but there are so many other great episodes that I couldn't possibly pick a favourite.

If you are looking for good old offensive entertainment, and don't mind being a little offended yourself, then this is the dvd for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Family Guy - Season 5 [DVD]
Family Guy - Season 5 [DVD] by Seth MacFarlane (DVD - 2006)
£9.93
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews