Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Accomplished but conservative
After the dazzling "Radiance" double set, one might have expected this pair of CDs to be equally adventurous but - perhaps awed by the legendary venue and anxious to put on a show there - Jarrett reins in experimental flights of fancy and returns to musical ground that was long ago for him conquered territory. The rolling left-hand ostinati here are well established...
Published on 11 Nov 2006 by Sordel

versus
17 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Emperor's new clothes
If anyone says to you "if you like Jarrett you'll like this", I'm sorry but for me it doesn't work like that.

Koln or Sun Bear Concerts this ain't, nor yet is it 'The Melody at Night'. Time was you could reliably gamble the price of a Jarrett live CD and be rewarded with an exhilarating attention-grabbing white-knuckle ride though uncharted waters of melodic...
Published on 12 Oct 2006 by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Accomplished but conservative, 11 Nov 2006
By 
Sordel (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Carnegie Hall Concert (Audio CD)
After the dazzling "Radiance" double set, one might have expected this pair of CDs to be equally adventurous but - perhaps awed by the legendary venue and anxious to put on a show there - Jarrett reins in experimental flights of fancy and returns to musical ground that was long ago for him conquered territory. The rolling left-hand ostinati here are well established elements of his style, and while they at times attain the brilliance of his earlier work (noticeably on the exhilarating and inventive Part IX) they are unlikely to win a fresh audience. Similarly, the oriental flourishes in the right hand on Part X are so familiar now to Jarrett fans as to have become a cliche of his style. On other tracks, lyrical intensity, meditative solemnity and frozen "religiosity" are as effective as ever, but the brevity and familiarity of much that is on offer means that new listeners are more likely to be wowed than Jarrett's long-standing fans.

Despite my reservations, I would be tempted to give this the automatic, mandatory five stars were it not for the audience. It's lucky that no one pressed the record button as Jarrett adjusted his piano stool, because this odious and insensitive New York audience probably erupted into whoops and hollering for that as well. I suspect that the tedious jubilation of the Carnegie Hall faithful is one reason why Jarrett plays it safe on this recording: why take risks when the standing ovation is guaranteed from the first minute? You'll want the remote close at hand to mute the applause that provides an irritating close to every track.

This album is not the musical equal of such classic Jarrett solo-concerts as Paris, Vienna or La Scala, and personally I prefer the ambition of "Radiance" (although it will not be to the taste of all Jarrett fans). Despite this, I would recommend this set warmly to anyone who simply wants to hear what the fuss is all about, since it features just about every trick in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful concert, but excessive live applause spoils CD., 6 Nov 2011
By 
adama (london, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Carnegie Hall Concert (Audio CD)
One of KJ's recent live best. From propulsive and infectious rhythms to the most intimate dialogues, you sense it's Jarrett enjoying himself, as well as delivering one of his most intense recent recordings. It's great to hear him like this again.

Sadly, for me the CD is flawed by the artist and/or producers insistence on including the entire applause between tracks, especially the 'encores'. This is sometimes as loud and almost as long as the actual musical performances. We'd all love to 'be there', but to insist that listeners at home sit through this is just pretentious.

Keith Jarrett @ Carnegie: 9/10, ECM production: 6/10 irritating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars How to make the Carnegie Hall Concert listenable, 21 Jun 2011
This review is from: The Carnegie Hall Concert (Audio CD)
I agree with previous reviewers' comments on the dreadful audience noise on this set and to be honest it made it unlistenable to me, despite being an utterly devoted Jarrettian - so what you do is download some free editing software and cut the buggers out - it's easy as they always leave a few tenths of a second before their cacophony starts up. Then you can burn Parts I to X onto a single disc and it's a very nice listen indeed (although not in the same league as Vienna or Lausanne of course). Next I'm going to put the five 'standards' on Disc 2 onto another CDR, perhaps with things like 'Over the Rainbow' from Paris. I've already done the audience removal job with Dark Intervals and now I can listen to that too.

I can't understand how ECM made such a cock up of this - the applause on Part X makes up one third of the track time! Obviously we can't expect Keith to produce the epics he did 20 years ago - the toll that must have taken on him can't be imagined. That said, he's still the best piano player and improvisor there has ever been or ever will be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Emperor's new clothes, 12 Oct 2006
This review is from: The Carnegie Hall Concert (Audio CD)
If anyone says to you "if you like Jarrett you'll like this", I'm sorry but for me it doesn't work like that.

Koln or Sun Bear Concerts this ain't, nor yet is it 'The Melody at Night'. Time was you could reliably gamble the price of a Jarrett live CD and be rewarded with an exhilarating attention-grabbing white-knuckle ride though uncharted waters of melodic and rhythmic complexity, or select a KJ jazz standards album and rely on it to do what it says on the tin so to speak. As the previous reviewer commented this performance does have its moments - I think I counted three.

I'm afraid Keith is losing the plot. With two exceptions the improvs could be by one of thousands of old beboppers who discovered their avant style a little too late in life - all well and good but not at ECM prices! And the standards at the end are far too b-movie 'moms apple pie' for my liking.

After Radiance disappointed I thought 'one more chance' but I'm afraid KJ has blown it. My advice to anyone exploring the Jarrett catalogue after enjoying a mid-period record would be to travel backwards in time rather than come up-to-date.

I feel for Keith too, I worry that as I approach 60 I shall become mediocre. Still, never having flown so high, I don't have as far to fall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 26 Sep 2006
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Carnegie Hall Concert (Audio CD)
This is a solo Piano concert from last year (2005).

As you would expect with Jarrett there are great moments throughout the two CD's and the multiple encores that follow are fabulous.

The only downside to this set is that the audience applause seems to be unedited so its neccessary sometimes to skip to the next track rather than sit through (sometimes) minutes of applause - unless of course you want to join in!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great CD., 7 Jun 2010
By 
This review is from: The Carnegie Hall Concert (Audio CD)
You'll love the music! Great CD, buy it, enjoy it! That's what music is all about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Carnegie Hall Concert
The Carnegie Hall Concert by Keith Jarrett (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews