Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazzzing
this album is so bloody good, it is something of a contradiction in itself, it's heavy as f*ck, but still retains a certain melodic, catchiness that will have you with the tunes stuck in your head for hours if not days long. personal highlights on this album for me are the opening track, amnesty please and the buil-up into to a small spark vs a great forest. words can't...
Published on 15 May 2007 by C. J. Wilson

versus
0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The lowest point of Norma Jean
I've liked Norma Jean for a long time, I loved their first album, with unique guitaring and intense vocals and lyrics, and I didn't think their second album was any worse than the first one, even with a new vocalist and band members, they still managed to keep the originality Norma Jean gave to Metalcore/Mathcore, and I thought at this rate Norma Jean will be the only...
Published on 11 Sep 2006 by A. R. Philpott


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazzzing, 15 May 2007
By 
C. J. Wilson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Redeemer (Audio CD)
this album is so bloody good, it is something of a contradiction in itself, it's heavy as f*ck, but still retains a certain melodic, catchiness that will have you with the tunes stuck in your head for hours if not days long. personal highlights on this album for me are the opening track, amnesty please and the buil-up into to a small spark vs a great forest. words can't describe how amazing this album is, although o ' god the aftermath, an the awe-inspiring BTMKTC albums were very good, thed progression and growth on this album for Norma Jean is startling. You Need This ALBUM!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I LOVE IT!!!, 28 Dec 2010
This review is from: Redeemer (Audio CD)
This album is so interesting,it's addictive. I love it!!

It is extremely heavy yet melodic. It's one hell of a journey. It has become one of my favourite albums because it is so unique. I highly recomend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Sound of an Average Band Becoming a Great Band., 26 Feb 2010
By 
This review is from: Redeemer (Audio CD)
Norma Jean used to make uninspiring, 'throw a dischord here, a breakdown there', sort of music. Oh, how they stepped it up on this, their third and best offering.

On this album Norma Jean sound like a band who've just gained the confidence to step outside the confines of their previous genre. Sure, there's more singing and more melody than their previous efforts but that doesn't mean they've in any way 'sold out'.

This album proves that the band can still hold onto their heaviness whilst throwing a bit of intelligent thinking into the mix. The same basic sound is still here, but it's a lot more mature and focused. Vocalist Cory Brandan shows that he's settled perfectly into his role, after replacing previous vocalists Josh Scogin and Brad Norris. Cory's vocals are one of the standout elements of this album; the way he manages to create such a raw, intense sound whilst being able to hold a melody at the same time.

The songs themselves have a raw, deliberately messy sound with underlying melodies which, to pull off without sounding like amateurs, requires some intelligent musicianship. The standout tracks would have to be 'Blueprints for Future Homes' and 'A Grand Scene for Color Film'. I'd recommend this album to fans of Alexisonfire looking for something a little rawer and heavier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars They've redeemed themselves when they didn't even need to, 30 Sep 2006
This review is from: Redeemer (Audio CD)
This album is truely amazing, the sound has altered slightly, there seems to be a somewhat noticable melody to some songs, but this in no way hinderes the incredible technicle guitar breakdowns, ear shattering drum beats and somewhat more welcoming vocals. Yet again the lyrics are the most powerful thing in this album, as Norma Jean have become renowned for, every word of every line shows meaning beyond what was originally intended. The album has astoundingly high production values, being recorded at the now synonomous Radio Star studio, (famous for the spectacualr failure that was Heroine). No track stands above any other but everyone will have their favourite, as most songs will be remembered for their striking choruses, although a few particulat high points would be, the intro to a small spark, the entire blueprints and the lyrics from songs sound much sadder. Only one noticable low point might be No Passenger: No Parasite, but only becuase the main body of this song is distincly un-Norma Jean, it's not a particluarly bad song, very well assembled, although the lyrics are less poignant, but it's just not really what you want after the adrenline shot of the album, so as to not end this review on a low point, go buy the best album ever submitted to recording, you won't regret it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still great, 3 Nov 2006
By 
Mr. Liam Wharnsby (Romford, Essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Redeemer (Audio CD)
I've read some reviews of this album which would suggest Norma Jean have gone soft and lost their way. DON'T BELEIVE THOSE REVIEWS!

This album is intense, ok they don't have their origional singer (josh) cos he's off with the chariot now. But he wasn't on the last record and that was a masterpiece.

Standout song for me is 'Blueprints For Future Homes', which is both catchy and heavy. I think some hardcore fans seem to hate bands that write a catchy song. Norma Jean are one of my favorite bands and this album hasn't changed that.

Would also recomend buying the The Chariot 'Unsung' ep to hear what the old singer is up to these days. Also look up a band called Luti-Kriss (what nora jean were called before they got big). They had an album called 'Throwing Myself' which was pretty cool.

IF YOU LIKED THE LAST ALBUM, BUY THIS ALBUM YOU WON'T REGRET IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The lowest point of Norma Jean, 11 Sep 2006
By 
A. R. Philpott "alpott87" (Bridport, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Redeemer (Audio CD)
I've liked Norma Jean for a long time, I loved their first album, with unique guitaring and intense vocals and lyrics, and I didn't think their second album was any worse than the first one, even with a new vocalist and band members, they still managed to keep the originality Norma Jean gave to Metalcore/Mathcore, and I thought at this rate Norma Jean will be the only band I know thats changed everything about themselves and still manage to be a brilliant band.

But then I heard the third album, the first thing i noticed was that the vocals had lost any intensity, the lyrics didnt seem that original anymore, like they were just repeating random sentences from their previous album, and the vocalist croaked, he sounded exactly like the guy from The Cure, which really did not fit anywhere into the Norma Jean style, and the biggest let down I felt from this third album was that the guitaring, drumming, and bass, had lost every bit of orginality that the first two albums gave, the riffs were repetative at times, and lacked any sort of talent that the previous albums presented.

All of this put together has made this album a big dissapointment for me, that's why I have given this album 2 stars, it may have norma jean written on the front, but it sounds like a completly different band that has no relation to what Norma Jean is supposed to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Redeemer
Redeemer by Norma Jean (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews