Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars75
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.77+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 January 2016
To be honest this was one Kasabian album I could never really get in to. There are some good offerings here, apnoea as a good but short example, but the album never flows and grabs the listener like West Ryder Pauper...and their eponymous first album as examples.

However, the album could be full of Kylie Minogue covers and I would still give a decent rating solely for the inclusion of Stuntman.

Stuntman is one of those songs you could listen to 100 times but still get goosebumps hearing the intro.

So if you are a traditionalist and still buy CDs I would recommend getting this just on the strength of Stuntman alone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2014
'Empire' (2006) is Kasabian's follow-up to their well-received debut album of 2004 and is a fairly solid collection of 11 tracks; the running time of 39:24 minutes feels too short for a a 21st Century release, but, the overall quality is high and the Leicester lads released 3 decent singles from this collection - 'Empire', 'Shoot The Runner' and 'Me Plus One'. Fans of interesting rock music should find this LP very much to their taste although I can see why lovers of their superb debut album were less impressed second time around. Worth picking up though at a competitive price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2006
After hearing the title track 'Empire' on MTV2, I decided I was definitely going to buy this album. I enjoyed the debut album immensely, depsite the fact there were a few weak tracks.

I definitely think the band have regressed with this album. I thought some of the music from the self-titled album was quite inspiring and unique but with 'Empire', too many of the tracks sound similar and, if you take out the title track, it's just typical rock music, which I find rather dull. There was a more frequent use of electronica on the 'Kasabian' album, blended with baggy rock music, clearly influenced by 'The Stone Roses' and 'The Happy Mondays', which made it a very stong debbut album and made the band so huge in this country, and globally.

I'm not saying the music on the album is rubbish. 'Stuntman' is a good track and there are a few other decent tracks but apart from 'Empire', nothing on the album is that memorable or outstanding.

Buy it for 'Empire' but I strongly suggest you purchase the debut album if you want hear the band's real talent.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2014
Came late in career to enjoyinng their distinct style of music. Bought cd's seperately rather than cases with 2 or 3 cd's as only a few pence more. This album is a bit different as seems less singing and more instruments. Reminds me more of a classical album or prog album from 70's or early 80's. Very Good. Nice and relaxing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2013
Decent album from one of the best bands around. I think it's their weakest effort out of the 4 albums they've done but that just goes to show how good their other albums are.

With tracks like Shoot the Runner, Empire and The Doberman you can't go wrong.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2016
Great follow up to their debut, I've been a fan of Kasabian for a lot of years and this is a peak period in their career. Empire and Shoot The Runner are my personal favourites from this album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2006
You'll remember it of course- when you were young and you used to think that on Christmas morning the best present was the BIG one, the one wrapped with massive ribbons and bows. But the fact is, no matter how much anticipation or "wrapping", you still can't change the disappointment when you actually get down to the present itself.

The point of all this is quite simple. Kasabian have got a great marketing team who by now have much of the UK music scene believing they are the biggest band in the world. But their downfall is where as on the debut album (Kasabian), the album was better than you imagined, with "Empire", I'm afraid you imagine it to be better than it is.

The boy's debut album was full of neat invention, clever studio trickery and outright anthems- any album with "Clubfoot", "LSF", "Processed Beats" and "Reason Is Treason" on would do any band proud. It was an organic album, one with a very cool relaxed ethos and one with although sketchy, worked as a whole brilliantly.

On "Empire" we find a very messy, noisy production with no real distinction between tracks, save for "British Legion" which, although serves as a welcome change of sound, is still only worthy of B-side material. Many of the tracks here are over-produced with distorted, reverbed vocals- and most of the time this is a distraction more than anything else.

Even album opener and first single "Empire" is still not in the same class as anything from the debut album- it's kind of a second cousin of LSF, and not the sort of cousin you want to see very often. What comes next is better. "Shoot The Runner" is one of the album highlights, an insanely catchy hookline and great chorus, if somewhat let down again by some poor production.

"Last Trip (In Flight)" is very very average and should again by confined a B-side, "Me Plus One" is a solid song but there's nothing magical about it.

"Sun Rise Light Flies" would be fantastic were it not a repeat of "Setting Sun" by the Chemical Brothers. "Apnoea" is an embarrassing mess, and "Seek And Destroy" is like Kasabian covers a Strokes B-side.

It's not all doom and gloom- album standouts are "Stuntman" which begs the question, if they can write this kind of superb song, why is the rest of the album so poor? Also, "By My Side" and "The Doberman" which is one of the best things they've ever recorded and offers some hope of better thing to come for the future.

For now though, it's back to the drawing board, and maybe less time focusing on egos?
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2006
Listened to the album several times now and I have to say that it is an excellent album that would grace anyones collection. BUT it is not as good as their first overall. That was inevitable though, their first was unique, a sound that no-one could match and if they had tried to do the same again then this album would be poorer for it. Personally I think Empire is the best song Kasabian have done (personal taste not critique taste.) So, buy this labum you won't regret it but please don't compare it to their first because you will ruin it.
11 comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2014
Bought as a gift for a teen who took to it very well. Currently to be heard coming from a bright yellow fiat 600 bombing it up and down the motorways of England!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2012
Love this album and love Kasabian every time I listen to this album I Love it even more would recommend any Kasabian album there all amazing in there own way :D
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.