Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A good collection of songs from his short career
Never have understood why Tim Buckley was not a big star. The first time I heard him was on the Old Grey Whistle Test back in the 70's. A good collection of songs from his short career.
Published 6 months ago by D. HAWKINS

versus
8 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Career-spanning collection from golden-age troubadour - but his best work is under-represented
With the success of everyone from James Yorkston to James Blunt, it's plain that the acoustic troubadour is back in style. That alone may be the reason for this new collection of remastered tracks. However, Buckley was a complex artist who was little understood in his own era, so perhaps the time is simply ripe for the kind of reappraisal which 2001's double-disc set...
Published on 9 Aug. 2007 by C. O'Brien


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A good collection of songs from his short career, 14 Jan. 2015
By 
D. HAWKINS (Cornwall, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Tim Buckley (Audio CD)
Never have understood why Tim Buckley was not a big star. The first time I heard him was on the Old Grey Whistle Test back in the 70's. A good collection of songs from his short career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Career-spanning collection from golden-age troubadour - but his best work is under-represented, 9 Aug. 2007
By 
C. O'Brien (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Best Of Tim Buckley (Audio CD)
With the success of everyone from James Yorkston to James Blunt, it's plain that the acoustic troubadour is back in style. That alone may be the reason for this new collection of remastered tracks. However, Buckley was a complex artist who was little understood in his own era, so perhaps the time is simply ripe for the kind of reappraisal which 2001's double-disc set Morning Glory failed to spark.

Unlike his celebrated but doomed son Jeff, Buckley Snr was a prolific artist who put out no less than nine albums in an eight-year career. The first two - 1966's Tim Buckley and 1967's Goodbye and Hello - presented him as a folk-rock artist. They showcased his rich, flexible Irish tenor in songs of love and disappointment, although as with much of Scott Walker's early solo work, the arrangements have dated badly. Seven out of the eighteen tracks collected here are from these two albums, with only one (Strange Feelin') from the third, jazz-inflected outing Happy Sad. That album's famous track Sing A Song For You is also here - but in an alternative take previously included on rarities album Works In Progress.
The somewhat lacklustre Blue Afternoon from 1969 is better represented, but arguably Buckley's masterpieces - the soaring avant-garde outings Lorca and Starsailor on which much of his restored reputation now rests - are represented by just one track apiece, I Had A Talk With My Woman and the sublime Song To The Siren. This is inexplicable, especially as the compilation peters out depressingly with four tracks from his last three R&B albums - deliberately commercial work which many of his fans prefer to forget.

Although the cover of Tom Waits' Martha is interesting, the title track from final album Look At The Fool which ends this collection sounds like an artist in agony. Here, Buckley seems to be snatching desperately at straws, such as the ill-digested influence of early Bowie. Buckley died the following year aged 28: a sad end to what might have been.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 July 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Tim Buckley (Audio CD)
Nostalgia on a stick
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not exactly a best of!, 6 Oct. 2006
This review is from: The Best Of Tim Buckley (Audio CD)
I was hoping this would do what it says on the tin, but it's not my idea of a Best of TB. No Buzzin'Fly, no Blue Melody, no Hong Kong Bar, no Sweet Surrender for a start, and it seems odd to prefer tracks off his pretty average final albums Sefronia and Look at the Fool over Starsailor. A weedy portrait of a major talent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tim Buckley 1983, 19 Mar. 2013
By 
J. E. Holmes (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best Of Tim Buckley (Audio CD)
It is getting quite hard to find a decent vinyl copy of this . £35 is about the cheapest I could find
CD Track List

Best Of Tim Buckley (1983)
1. Aren't You The Girl
2. Song For Janie
3. I Can't See You
4. Carnival Song
5. Morning Glory
6. Goodbye And Hello
7. Sing A Song For You (take 11)
8. Once I Was
9. Strange Feelin'
10. I Had A Talk With My Woman
11. Happy Time
12. I Must Have Been Blind
13. The River
14. Song To The Siren
15. Dolphins
16. Martha
17. Move With Me
18. Look At The Fool
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Typical Buckley, 16 Aug. 2011
By 
Mr. D. Pearce (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best Of Tim Buckley (Audio CD)
If you like this style of music then you will not be disappointed. If you want to use it as an introduction to the Buckley music then you may find it a little difficult to get into.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not the best, 30 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Tim Buckley (Audio CD)
good album but not many new/current tracks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good service, 21 May 2011
This review is from: The Best Of Tim Buckley (Audio CD)
prompt deliverance of the ordered CD. In good shape.
Content of the CD is another matter, not to be discussed here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Best Of Tim Buckley
The Best Of Tim Buckley by Tim Buckley (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews