Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The birth of punk?
It is difficult for me to be objective about this album as it has become so ingrained in my subconscious over the years. Many years! It is one of those albums that personally means so much and conjures up so many vivid memories of youth. It was the perfect soundtrack to all that angst adolescence which we indulged in as we became teenagers. Surely Peter wrote "Shingle...
Published on 28 Sep 2006 by Dr. D. B. Sillars

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A change of pace
"Nadir" is an unashamed pop album, or at least Hammill's idea of one, and it stands in contast to the intensity of most of his work There are no long, tortured epics here, just standard three chord outings of relative simplicity. Some songs, like "People You Were Going To", were written long before this 1975 recording and are part of Hammill/Van Der Graaf history. Some,...
Published on 25 Nov 2011 by N. Dutton


Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The birth of punk?, 28 Sep 2006
By 
Dr. D. B. Sillars - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nadir's Big Chance: Remastered (Audio CD)
It is difficult for me to be objective about this album as it has become so ingrained in my subconscious over the years. Many years! It is one of those albums that personally means so much and conjures up so many vivid memories of youth. It was the perfect soundtrack to all that angst adolescence which we indulged in as we became teenagers. Surely Peter wrote "Shingle Song" just for me! How did he know the loneliness and pain which I was going through! All seems a bit silly now!! But there is no denying the power and raw naked emotion which Hammill could write about.

Listening to this remastered version now, this album still touches raw nerves! Maybe those angst filled days are gone, but I can still appreciate Hammill's songwriting craft. Much has been made about how this was so influential on a fledgling Johnny Rotten and how it shaped English punk. To be honest there are only about two or three tracks which could be considered proto-punk; the title track and possibly "Nobodies Business" and "Birthday Special". In saying that, lyrically "Nadir's Big Chance" must have been what the punks were waiting to here! The rest fall into Hammill as literate troubadour. Tales of Pompeii and lost love on the reflective "Been Alone So Long" and "Shingle Song". Has there ever been a song as desperate as "Shingle Song"? When he sings "can't get you out of my mind" you know he has experienced this and anyone who has been there can feel it too.

This is probably Hammill's (as in the guise of Rikki Nadir) most rawest, stripped down album. Eschewing the experiment with synths which adorned the previous "In Camera", this is back to basics stuff. Only the live VdG album "Vital" would match this for grittiness. It is a classic for sure, but listening to it now although the meaning of it is not as important as it felt way back when, it still strikes a deep, personal chord within me. It should you too!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The bridge between his 'old and new', 1 Dec 2006
This review is from: Nadir's Big Chance: Remastered (Audio CD)
In the guise of his alter ego, Rikki Nadir,Peter Hammill crafted back in 1974 what he defines now as his second album of 'pop songs', the other being solo debut, 'Fools Mate', both including material dating back to the 1960s and both featuring members of his former band, Van Der Graaf Generator,poised to reform with tighter, tauter material befitting the times, but - as always - ahead of them. A raw vitality pervades this as it does the band's incoming 'Godbuff' and the gentler progressive elements found in songs like 'People You Were going To' (a re-working of a very early VdGG song) are counterpointed by three-chord banshee blasts such as the eponmyous opener. Hammill is name-checked today as an influence by the incoming punk movement. The bridge not only between his 'old and new' but analogous with the quantum shift that rock music of the late 1970s was to face, this album asserts the need to 'move on', to keep swimming, or die. Life-affirming stuff, it's matured beautifully.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nadir still great., 4 April 2010
By 
This review is from: Nadir's Big Chance: Remastered (Audio CD)
I have recently listened to Nadir's big chance again. Years and years ago we listened to the vinyl version. Allways followed Peter and his band Vandergraaff.
Very special music. Sometimes in dutch we call it "piep-piep- knor " music.
In English something like " squeek-squeek-rumble ". Listen to a song like The institute of Mental health and you know what I mean. Great class and actually a bit under-estimated music. Glad that Peter is still going strong.
Music lovers that are younger that me ( 55 years ) should be educated to listen to this music. Great stuff and now as a remaster,it sounds fanatastic.
Peter de Langen, Amstelveen Netherlands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Smash the system with a song!", 19 Jun 2005
By 
Monti Alessandro "Alessandro Monti" (Venice, Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nadir's Big Chance (Audio CD)
Gigidunnit's review is a competent introduction to the disc and a pleasure to read; the quotes of the original Lp liner-notes are really precious. What still amazes now about this epic recording is the purity of its lyrics and the honesty of its music, so far from the pressures of stardom or fashion: a rare example of true human expression and intelligent energy in music. In my opinion this concept album was the first and last of the "indie" rock albums. Just Incredible. Hammill's fantastic gift of expression will soon move to different sound worlds and masterpieces like "The Future Now", "PH7" and "A Black Box", all very recommended. One last note: the Track "Nadir's Big Chance" was also the encore on the glorious Van Der Graaf "Vital", one of the most extraordinary live recordings in rock history. Thank you Rikki Nadir, the genius behind the mask, the mirror image, the chameleon, the undercover man!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST OF THE BEST, 20 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Nadir's Big Chance (Audio CD)
If you have never listened to Peter's music start with this . It encapsulates all that is good about Peter , thoughtfull and inteligent . Peter guides us through rock and into punk ! Listen and then listen again !!! Give it time and like good music always does this will grow and grow on you .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great to have in addition to my vinyl!, 17 Mar 2014
By 
Ian Braby (Woking, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nadir's Big Chance: Remastered (Audio CD)
And what fantastic value to have the AutoRip tracks, too, making it easy to add to my new iPod Classic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not a "punky" Hammill, it's more post-punk ahead of its time, 13 Aug 2004
By 
Kees Smit (Amsterdam, NH Netherlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Nadir's Big Chance (Audio CD)
This one is often referred to as Hammill's "punk" album and
although I am very familiar with punk history, somehow I can't
see the point of this. Maybe it is better to say that this
album pre-dated the post-punk movement for about 4 or 5 years.
Of course there is Nadir's Big Chance, which must be the most
agressive song Hammill's ever written, but there are also
beautiful ballads like Shingle and Airport. And "The Institute
of Mental Health, Burning" can hardly be described as a punk
song by any standard. Although not as brilliant as In Camera
and The Future Now (from about the same phase of his career)
this is a challenging and interesting album. Maybe not the one
to start with if you don't know Hammill's work but still very
worthwhile
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A change of pace, 25 Nov 2011
By 
N. Dutton (Newcastle, Staffs, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nadir's Big Chance: Remastered (Audio CD)
"Nadir" is an unashamed pop album, or at least Hammill's idea of one, and it stands in contast to the intensity of most of his work There are no long, tortured epics here, just standard three chord outings of relative simplicity. Some songs, like "People You Were Going To", were written long before this 1975 recording and are part of Hammill/Van Der Graaf history. Some, such as "The Institute of Mental Health (Burning)" are whimsical. The two best pieces, the title track and "Birthday Special" prefigure and out-do the punk era. One disappointment is that no extra material could be found to add to this remaster. In summary: not his best but none of it is like what came before or since, and as it's relatively accessible it may even be a good start point for the Hammill beginner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nadir's Big Chance: Remastered
Nadir's Big Chance: Remastered by Peter Hammill (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews