Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Shop now Listen in Prime

Customer Reviews

1.3 out of 5 stars8
1.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
0
4 star
0
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
7

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 May 2007
My girlfriend bought this unit from Argos, and apart from the cheap and tacky feel to it, and the lack of technical features it proved impossible to configure on either of My Pentium 4 Computers running Windows XP (Service pack Level 2).

I have tried Creative Labs, Philips, iRiver, Apple, Disgo, Tevion, and Acoustic Solutions MP3 players and never had a problem installing them.

Working as an IT contractor for the last 10 Years I know a fair amount about installing hardware, and this device proved impossible to install.

Windows XP detected it as an unknown device that is not on the Microsoft Hardware Compatibility list. Removing and reinstalling the device proved ineffective, Windows reported code 9, cannot start device. Although the unit itself displays a reassuring 'ready' in it's display! In all probability this Aigo is probably faulty, but as MP3 players are pretty solid state this shouldn't happen and makes you wonder how many more faulty ones are out there.

Going onto the Aigo site I was confronted by a large banner 'Are you experiencing any problem with your A215 player?, click here to upgrade your player'. Strangely I havent seen that on the Home Page of other MP3 Manufacturers sites. Why you should need to upgrade the firmware on something you have just bought is an interesting question in itself!

Anyway after installing the application to download firmware it prompts searching, then please connect device. As it still could not detect the

U.S. piece of kit.

I tried it on another XP desktop computers with the same result, so definitely not an Operating System or Hardware Problem.

Judging by the other reviews reliability seems to be a serious issue with these devices.

It is also worth noting that according to some reviews the device is only USB 1.0, all of the MP3 players I have ever used including the iRiver I bought 2 Years ago are USB 2.0. In simple terms that means it will be much slower downloading Music from your PC to the Aigo (taking around twice as long as USB 2.0).

As a replacement I advised my Girlfriend to buy a Creative Labs Zen Nano Plus which is currently at a similar price at Argos, although this is only 1GB storage and not 2GB this has many more features and seems to me to be a much higher quality device. This is borne out by other on-line reviews I have read of from consumers and PC Magazines. Unsurprisingly after following the simple installation procedure, it was instantly recognised by XP and as well as being nice and compact having a quality look to it with good sound quality, decent volume and plenty of features, it is technically fare superior to the Aigo (Direct Encoding from your Stereo, FM Radio etc). It also comes with some very useful software to manage it. Lots of Bang for your Buck.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2007
Had a terrible time with this MP3 player. The alphabet problem is a major nuisance. On random play, it keeps playing the same tracks over and over. And now after using it for 2 months it wont work at all. Do not buy this product. Infact because it was a present I had no idea of the price, I thought it probably cost a tenner. What a rip off.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2007
I was tempted by the price, features and long battery life but this player is very awkward to use. After power up it spends minutes creating it's internal list - can you believe it always starts by sorting every track into alphabetic order - by track title. Once ready the player can be persuaded to sort by album title, artist etc but by then you've wished you had bought a proper MP3 player. Could have been a nice product but let down by crazy software.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This just has to be the poorest MP3 player around. It would take a age to list all of it's faults!

But here is a few:-

a. Looks really poor!

b. Cannot read the screen!

c. Menu's that do not work!

d. Cannot get my computer to see it!

e. When I finally copied across a few tracks - does not keep the music in any sort of order!

A total waste of money - had a go out a buy a proper working MP3 Player!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2007
also unfortunate enough to have bought this apalling mp3player, problems i experienced were endless:
1.computer could not recognise it at all
2.cheap and tacky, buttons broke
3.turns itself of after the end of every song
4.rubbish earphones supplied with it
5.big and heavy (not very portable at all)
only good point is the battery life if you can finally get the thing to work.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2007
This device seems to have no local folder structure so it sees every track simply as a file. Load 20 albums and it lists and plays all the tracks alphabetically. Choose album mode and it plays all the tracks from that album alphabetically same goes for artist mode. In fact whatever mode you choose you get playback alphabetically.If that wasn't frustrating and annoying enough, every time you turn it on your back to track one, change the battery and your back to track one,its so frustrating to use. Avoid this product, the 35 hours playback for WMA files doesnt come near to compensating for its short commings, I couldn't recommend this product to anybody.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2013
There were a few marks on this item that were not put in item description weather or not this is due to the postman or seller. Other than that the item works well. Think seller could just double check Items next time before sending items off, or making sure there is not a chance they can get damaged in post
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2008
Poor Design.
Poor Firmware.
Poor Build Quality.
Poor Support.
An Expensive Mistake.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)