Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!
This album is a superb tour through Deacon Blue's musical history, taking the listener on an audible journey through the years. From the early classic live Dignity and When Will You Make My Telephone Ring? to the latest tracks, their talent, enthusiasm and shee ability shine through!
Published on 24 Nov. 2006 by R. Chagouri-Brindle

versus
4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars buy the dvd instead
a good album, however if you like deacon blue already you will have these songs on other albums (rip off rehash) if you haven`t get the original albums. the DVD of this called THE BIGGER PICTURE is better value. love everything deacon blue but hate seeing people ripped off.
Published on 29 Mar. 2007 by FAT KEV


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 24 Nov. 2006
By 
R. Chagouri-Brindle "RickCB" (Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Singles (Audio CD)
This album is a superb tour through Deacon Blue's musical history, taking the listener on an audible journey through the years. From the early classic live Dignity and When Will You Make My Telephone Ring? to the latest tracks, their talent, enthusiasm and shee ability shine through!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Class Act, 23 Nov. 2006
By 
Martin Taylor "sadcafe" (Aberdeen) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Singles (Audio CD)
A collection of songs spanning a 20 year career (so far) that sit perfectly together. If I was asked to give a talk on what I love about music, I would be able to find all the examples I need on an album like this. Other bands come and go, but Deacon Blue are still here. A class act.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gem of a collection, 30 Aug. 2011
By 
This review is from: Singles (Audio CD)
The other day I got The Beatles' 'Twist and Shout' stuck in my head and couldn't remember if it was a Lennon-McCartney song so I searched it at Wiki (no it wasn't), saw the link 'Twist and Shout (Deacon Blue song)', jammed over to YouTube to check out the video, loved it, watched the 'suggestions' 'Dignity' and 'Bigger than Dynamite' and bam, an addiction was born! I couldn't believe I'd never heard of this band before but this compilation contains some of the best music of our time, from Ricky's and Lorraine's passionate vocals to the band's perfect blending of dreamy technopop and straight-up rock and roll, a consistently fresh sound spanning some twenty years (!), and of course to Ricky's incredible songwriting. The songs are energetic and heartfelt and make you feel both nostalgic and happy all at once. With 19 tracks at 77+ minutes, 'Singles' is a CD to cherish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Scottish pop songwriting, 21 Nov. 2006
This review is from: Singles (Audio CD)
I find it difficult to believe that the above reviewer would take the time to listen to the whole album right through, finding most of it so objectionable. Deacon Blue have been around for a long time and the songs cannot be new to him, if he's a music fan that is. This compilation is for people who know the band and like the work. Like many other bands of their time, there have been previous Best Of compilations but this one comes with three genuinely worthy new tracks. Ricky Ross in undoubtedly one of Britain's most gifted songwriters, having some exquisite solo material under his belt and hit songs for other successful artists. The strength and variety of his work is shown here, with rock, pop, country and soul influences. Genuinely thoughtful lyrics and stirring melodies and arrangements run through the whole track listing. And, it has to be said, unlike other 80s bands, this band has had the good grace to grow older with a measure of Dignity...not the biggest hit but the song with which they're most closely identified.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brill, 16 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Singles (Audio CD)
About to go to Deacon Blue concert so got this too just remind us how good they are. Delivery was very quick and it was in excellent condition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars what a fantastic collection!!!!, 6 April 2014
By 
anonimo (Valley Stream, NY United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Singles (Audio CD)
anybody who's a fan of deacon blue, please, buy this album!!! it's a must have!!! I love it and I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Smiffy, 9 Dec. 2013
This review is from: Singles (Audio CD)
Brilliant piece of music collected on one album. More than glad I got it. Hope to get many more in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good group, 19 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Singles (Audio CD)
I,m not from this country and don,t remember this group.Heard them on tv and bought right away.Really good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Singles (Audio CD)
great band
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars buy the dvd instead, 29 Mar. 2007
By 
This review is from: Singles (Audio CD)
a good album, however if you like deacon blue already you will have these songs on other albums (rip off rehash) if you haven`t get the original albums. the DVD of this called THE BIGGER PICTURE is better value. love everything deacon blue but hate seeing people ripped off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Singles
Singles by Deacon Blue (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews