Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fire and Ice (Ice Baby)
Until stumbling across this 1983 animated movie, the only time I'd heard of Ralph Bakshi was as the maker of the late 70s animated version of Lord of the Rings - at the time this was all we LOTR fans had in terms of a visual adaptation of the classic fantasy trilogy and consequently Bakshi became something of a hero to a generation of adolescent boys.
Fire and Ice is...
Published on 26 Dec. 2010 by Scaroth, Last of the Jagaroth

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not really for Children
This came up as a recommendation when I was buying Dragons:Fire & Ice for my daughter.

It is a PG certificate but you ought to be aware that it isn't suitable for some children.

More for fans of the artist or the genre this film.
I enjoyed it but I'm still in touch with my inner Teenager.
Published on 1 Jan. 2008 by Mr H


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fire and Ice (Ice Baby), 26 Dec. 2010
This review is from: Fire And Ice [DVD] (DVD)
Until stumbling across this 1983 animated movie, the only time I'd heard of Ralph Bakshi was as the maker of the late 70s animated version of Lord of the Rings - at the time this was all we LOTR fans had in terms of a visual adaptation of the classic fantasy trilogy and consequently Bakshi became something of a hero to a generation of adolescent boys.
Fire and Ice is obviously very limited in terms of what can be produced with 2010 technology, however it's arguably still pretty impressive for something produced almost thirty years ago. The background reminded me of those old He-Man and Battle of the Planets cartoons; one-dimensional drawings and stock images, however Bakshi somehow manages to create quite an atmospheric backdrop for his admittedly cliched characters to pirouette across.

Borrowing heavily from the likes of Star Wars, LOTR, Flash Gordon et al, the story itself is pretty risible, however there is a certain something about this movie that makes it a fun watch as a one-off. A previous reviewer mentioned the Freudian undertones and there is certainly quite a range of suggestive images throughout, although one could feasibly watch the film unaware of these. My 6 year old daughter saw the case and wanted to watch it, however I would personally baulk at letting a kid see the movie as there are a couple of gory moments and a fascinating but potentially disturbing scene that could have been lifted directly from Macbeth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An overlooked classic...., 24 April 2006
By 
T. Zeidan (Beirut, Leb.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This movie is probably one of the few fantasy animations that appeals more to adults than to children. the story follows the adventures of a village survivor who is on his way to escape the impending destruction an evil sorceror is causing by pushing icebergs south into human lands. Commanding a legion of sub-humans and tutored by his witch mother, Lord Necron makes his final assault on Fire Keep, a fortress of lava governed by a just king. the story picks up pace right there where King Jerod's beautiful daughter gets kidnapped and ends up with the survivor, trying to escape.

The film sports some truly unique charachters, including an interesting exploration of mother-son relationships with Necron and Julianna. The animation is fantastic... wonderfully gloomy and pensive. do not expect to see anything fluffy, happy, funny, or sing along... expect however, adult oriented dialogue, violent battles, blatant sexual undertones, and some mildly scary moments. the movie is wonderfully recollective of classics such as "Clash of the Titans", "Journey to Hell", and other seventies fantasy flicks.

this movie is definetly not for young children, i saw it when i was around nine and i was really surprised that it involved no flying carpets or singing crabs. luckily i'm into non traditinal animation and i absoloutly fell in love with it. BUY IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Animated Conan-Style Fantasy ...A Visual Treat!, 18 May 2008
By 
Adam Jackson (Stoke On Trent , England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fire And Ice [DVD] (DVD)
Decent 1983 animated feature from Ralph Bakshi who brought us 1978's animated The Lord Of The Rings.
This time, master fantasy artist Frank Frazetta was on board to create characters & assist with the production design.
The storyline, as in 99% of fantasy movies, is hardly original but its sub-Conan The Barbarian plot is enjoyable.
There's plenty of action with all the requisite demons, dragons & monsters. The prehistoric backgrounds are often stunning & all the characters are well animated especially the Princess Teegra whio is voluptuous beyond belief! Larn, the blonde haired hero is also blessed with a suitably warrioresque physique. The anatomical detail, being one of Frazetta's trademarks.
I personally think the animation is superior to 1978's The Lord Of The Rings.
It looks more cutting edge & adult and I certainly prefer good quality, more traditional animation to the CG often used in todays animated movies!

Another film similiar to this, animation wise, is 1985's Starchaser: The Legend Of Orin ( A really good piece of pulp style sci-fi).

Fire And Ice isn't a childrens film by any means! When swords strike & arrows pierce, men and monsters bleed. Lots!!

An underrated, cult classic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "I offer peace between our people. Will you not take my hand?" "Woman, I spit on peace. I spit on you!", 28 July 2007
By 
Darth Maciek "Darth Maciek" (Darth Maciek is out there...) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fire And Ice [DVD] (DVD)
I always liked this film. Ralph Bakshi style is unique and it is simply fascinating and "Fire and Ice" is its perfect illustration. Some of the scenes are stunning, and the rest is good. There is some Conan atmosphere in it, but also some Tarzan, some War of Fire and even (I believe) some decadent Elric from Mnelnibone elements. Dialogues could be better - this is the reason for four stars only - but it doesn't change the fact that this is a good, artistically very interesting film. ENJOY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Little known but i liked it., 31 Aug. 2012
This review is from: Fire And Ice [DVD] (DVD)
On watching excerpts of the movie i did note the style was like that of the original Lord of the Rings movie. Upon further research was delighted to find both were made by Ralph Bakshi.

I would agree that some aspects of the story were left open like the amazonian woman who was near Larn at the beginning of the story but we never saw her after that. However, it was well drawn with Teegra being given a figure some women would die for.

Thoroughly enjoyed it despite some of the undeveloped storylines. Shame he never got the funds to do more. Think he was ahead of his time and Hollywood never seems to appreciate this until it's too late and then they become dated (except to those of us who remember.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Someone make this into a live action film !, 22 Jan. 2015
By 
Ms. K. J. Hourd "Kendra Hourd" (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fire And Ice [DVD] (DVD)
I have adored this film ever since I was a kid and I still watch it roughly once a year even though I'm now 43. Overlook the daft bits where you ask how the heroine is coping with running around the arctic in a bikini, because the rest of the story flies along at such a pace, with great characters, properly nasty, bloody spattering combat scenes and genuinely scary 'Why do the living disturb the sleep of the dead ?' moments. Also, the classical score is FANTASTIC all the way through and perfectly accentuates the action. Not sure why one of the heroes looks uncannily like Batman. Bit odd that, but easily forgiven. Just remembered the dragonhawks ! Oh, oh, and the kraken type thing and the lava and the chase through the jungle on the cliff top ! Look, just buy this !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Why don't they make them like this anymore?, 21 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fire And Ice [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this as I saw this first when I was 12, and got reminded of it on a museum trip.

This was a lot darker and a lot more mature than I remembered, but that didn't take away from its enjoyment. It's completely enrapturing, such a basic but intense story, and imminently enjoyable. Don't show it to kids younger than 10 though as the imagery is, as I mentioned, mature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not really for Children, 1 Jan. 2008
This review is from: Fire And Ice [DVD] (DVD)
This came up as a recommendation when I was buying Dragons:Fire & Ice for my daughter.

It is a PG certificate but you ought to be aware that it isn't suitable for some children.

More for fans of the artist or the genre this film.
I enjoyed it but I'm still in touch with my inner Teenager.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fire and Ice, 13 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fire And Ice [DVD] (DVD)
This is one of those classic movies you can't forget. This is the movie of my childhood and its amazing, made by the same people who made the animated lord of the rings so you know its going to be pretty cool. I would recommend this film to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another unique Bakshi film, 26 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fire And Ice [DVD] (DVD)
This film is not as popular as Lord of the Rings, but is beautifully animated, and is as close to an anime Conan film as you are ever likely to get. No special features on discs but a must for Bakshi fans or anime fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fire And Ice [DVD]
Fire And Ice [DVD] by Ralph Bakshi (DVD - 2006)
Used & New from: £7.69
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews