Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why you should buy this album
I have always loved this band and I can tell you my first opinion was literally "WOW!!" the first song "defeatist" is a very good opener for this album and I was very impressed with the power behind this song and its lyrical content, a surprising intro which gives it a bit more of an impact and a hook which I personally love and will definitely get people moving. The hold...
Published on 31 Aug 2006 by james hambly

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not As Good As 2003's Rise Of Brutality....
After 2003's stunning Rise Of Brutality, the excellent Perseverance (2002) & the full length debut Satisfaction Is.. from 1997, I find this a little dissapointing. Whilst by no means a terrible album, the bite of the previous releases just isn't there, with songwriting that's rather in the doldrums. I also find there is a lack of really strong riffs, with the guitars not...
Published on 19 Feb 2009 by Adam Jackson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not As Good As 2003's Rise Of Brutality...., 19 Feb 2009
By 
Adam Jackson "Symphonic Metal Fan" (Stoke On Trent , England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Supremacy (Audio CD)
After 2003's stunning Rise Of Brutality, the excellent Perseverance (2002) & the full length debut Satisfaction Is.. from 1997, I find this a little dissapointing. Whilst by no means a terrible album, the bite of the previous releases just isn't there, with songwriting that's rather in the doldrums. I also find there is a lack of really strong riffs, with the guitars not sounding as sharp as you might expect. The drum sound (snare especially) could be better as well - some good bass drums though. On the plus side, the bass is well up in the mix with some really good fills & lines - great tone! Jamey Jasta's vocals are as harsh as ever but are let down by the indifferent songwriting. The passion of say, Rise Of Brutality isn't quite there in Jamey's voice - maybe trying too hard to sound brutal? ROB for me, is out & out the better album vocally (and pretty much in all other departments). Lyrics are still face/fight the world, keep it real, life on the street, pump yourself up etc.
I might be wrong but the album does sound slightly manufactured, with very clear shades of Pantera & Slipknot. Hatebreed are often compared to Biohazard but the resemblance isn't as striking here.
Not a total train wreck though as tracks like Supremacy Of Self, Mind Over All & Horrors Of Self all do testify. I just think Hardcore purists may find this album overly metallic & less Hardcore - it's certainly a million miles away from the 1997 album!
Hopefully, it could grow on me a bit more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why you should buy this album, 31 Aug 2006
This review is from: Supremacy (Audio CD)
I have always loved this band and I can tell you my first opinion was literally "WOW!!" the first song "defeatist" is a very good opener for this album and I was very impressed with the power behind this song and its lyrical content, a surprising intro which gives it a bit more of an impact and a hook which I personally love and will definitely get people moving. The hold that this album has on you stays from the first song to the very last leaving you in its wake, the agression, the energy never dies down especially with songs like "To the Threshold", "Give wings to my triumph" and "Destroy everything" and they do this while still keeping to that traditional Hatebreed sound instead of changing with the times which i was pleased about and im sure the rest of they're fans are or going to be when they hear this album. One thing that i love the most out of this album and the band is the dominant presence it/they have and i find this album interesting because of this along side the ferocious force.

I enjoyed this album a lot and found the majority of it very energetic and powerful with great structures and rhythms, a few downfalls but an overall great album. If your a true metal fan and/or Hatebreed you must get this album, it is an essential. Stunning riff's, great beats and powerful vocals and lyrics which will stick with you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brutal!, 30 Aug 2006
By 
Lilal (Shrewsbury) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Supremacy (Audio CD)
Hatebreed have rightfully earnt themselves a status to be envied they are true legends due to their hardhitting brutal and honest hardcore that cannot and and will not be matched.

perhaps they are not the most musically complex or impressive but thats not what hatebreed is about. Hatebreed is about anger, aggression and peserverance; it's simple, straight forward, to the point like a cannon ball to the gut. 'Supremacy' does not fail on any of these terms and is possibly one of their best albums yet, any mistakes in the past have been stamped out with a steamroller. It is intense ,commanding and full of hate, great tracks include 'To The Threshold', 'Give Wings to My Triumph' its not just an album it's a minefield and every bit explodes in your face!

nothing can stop hatebreed's relentless force, and with this album, who would want to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hatebreed are going to the top!, 30 Aug 2006
This review is from: Supremacy (Audio CD)
I have been a fan of Hate Breed for 3 years now and I must say this is their best record in my opinion!I recommend any new fans of Hate Breed to pick up this record first !

The band have taken a new step forward in this record it is heavier and has more break downs than ever!

Their influences from Napalm Death ,Sick Of It All and Slayer can be heard in this record greatly!!!!

The albums single "To the Threshold"really shows what this band are about heavy riffs and ear blistering drums!

With a Uk tour planned later this year I would strongly recommend new fans to pick this up and go tear it up in the pit with the Hate Breed lads!

I have really enjoyed listening to this album!And it is a strong contender for album of the year
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing!, 30 Aug 2006
By 
lauram340 (Hertford, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Supremacy (Audio CD)
A MUST FOR AN METAL FAN! this album is amazing! When i heard it i flipped out about how amazing it is! I have been waiting for this album for, what seems years, and i can tell you it is worth the wait! There are some fantastic tracks such as

Spitting Venom

Give Wings To My Triumph

and the new and long waited for single Supremacy Of Self! I couldnt belivie it when it landed on my doormat the other morning and at 8am i played it as loud as i could so not only me BUT my neighbours could here how amazingly brilliant this album is!

I hope you take my not and BUY THIS ALBUM NOW!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hatebreed rule supreme!!, 30 Aug 2006
By 
This review is from: Supremacy (Audio CD)
Dudes not gunna write a really long review and bore you to death so here it goes: Supremacy is a amazing album full of non-stop rage and talent, every song on the album deserves 5*'s and i really don't care who doesn't agree with me because Hatebreed do (and probably always will) rule supreme!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Their best record yet, 1 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Supremacy (Audio CD)
Not words here,just listen to understand.
Hardcore meets metal in a perfect blend of power and aggressiveness.
Supremacy in every way.
5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hatebreed, 12 Jan 2011
By 
Gentlegiantprog "Kingcrimsonprog" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Supremacy (Audio CD)
As a fan, you come to expect a certain level of quality from Hatebreed and Supremacy does not disappoint in the slightest. From start to finish Supremacy is a vital and energetic album capturing the sharper and harder aspects of the bands sound.
The album as a whole is very strong and never suffers from any dip in quality, there are no weak tracks and the album overall is just the right length to feel complete without dragging on.
Compared to the previous two albums Supremacy seems to be exploring the band's heavier influences more, with a stronger focus on that part of the band's sound than other aspects, for example their are fewer sections that could be described as punk influenced and the songs are less straightforward in composition and use notes and patterns in places more traditionally associated with much more extreme bands. The album is by no means a departure, the lion's share pf the music sounds the way you would expect but it does concentrate more one side of their sound than others in places.
Songs like the furious opener 'Defeatist,' and the crowd favourite 'Destroy Everything,' a bursting with power and swagger and luckily contain the usual Jasta lyrical content about overcoming of odds, self realization and self actualization, overall very positive and empowering messages to deliver.
After the deeper and harsher production of Th Rise of Brutality the band decided to hand the production over to metal production expert Zeuss who was able to create a perfectly cutting and forceful style that perfectly suited the bands faster moments.
Standout moments include 'Spitting Venom,' which contains some unusually catchy guitar parts and 'As Diehard As They Come,' which is almost impossible not to sing along to.
Overall Supremacy is a great Hatebreed album, definitely worth checking out if you are think you might like the band and utterly essential if you already do like the band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars YUP! METALCORE HC ATTACK!, 11 Aug 2007
This review is from: Supremacy (Audio CD)
Thats it man! If youre into brutal and heavy HC you really should check out this album !
Jamey is definitely one of the "new masters" of HC and the songs written here are just the best whcih ever came from this US outfit!
Catchy hooks, brutal riffing and a killer production!
This album features all a HC fan is dreaming of!
GREAT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Supreme, 12 Sep 2006
By 
D. Slack (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Supremacy (Audio CD)
Hatebreed have dominated the Hardcore scene for the past few years with their explosive music, and they are not willing to give up just yet. Supremacy is arguably their best offering yet with powerful riffs and crushing vocals that will leave you gasping for breath.

The first track ‘Defeatist’ sets the pace for the album with a very catchy chorus and a bone-crunching riff!! The energy built up in this track does not die throughout the whole album, so grab your lucozade and be prepared to move! The song ‘Destroy Everything’ is definitely my favourite Hatebreed song at the moment and has the power to rival ‘I Will Be Heard’ as their trademark song.

My words cannot do this album justice, so I seriously suggest you check it out and hear for yourself. If you are a long-serving fan of Hatebreed or if you into the Hardcore or Metal scenes then you will definitely love this album.

5/5 and fully deserving of that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Supremacy
Supremacy by Hatebreed (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews